We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Stay in Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
Save
You added Holbrook House to your Saves list
74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
San Luis Obispo, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“NIce Stay in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

I'm not a huge b&b fan but it seemed that was the way to go in Bar Harbor. I tend to prefer a more modern, minimal look but we were happy at the Holbrook House. The owners Eric and MIchelle were very nice and welcoming. They gladly answered any questions we had and helped us plan our short time in the area.
Our room was toward the back so we had no problem with street noise. The room was comfortable and the free wi-fi was a plus.
The location was good also. It was just a short, pleasant walk to the main part of town and a very short drive to Acadia National Park.
We enjoyed our stay and would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hiawassee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

The Holbrook B&B was our first experience at a B&B, and we were very pleased. The husband & wife team Erice & Michelle went out of their way to make us feel welcome & also helped us with town recommendations. The inn was very quaint & very comfortable. The breakfast served was original, filling, and tasty. The inn was not on the main street, but easily in walking distance to everything in Bar Harbor. Would definintely recommend & stay again! Thanks Michelle & Eric for a wonderful visit!

Room Tip: Our room (Very Berry) was in the front of the house so we had some street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed for two nights in mid-August. Our host and hostess were most gracious, firendly and eager to please. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed. The breakfast.....how about 2" thick french toast with a cinnamon sticky bun topping...need I say more? Great place, we will be back.

Room Tip: Bed was just a little soft....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

We were so pleased with our stay at Holbrook House! The Lupine two bedroom suite was perfect for us. Eric and Michelle were great! Breakfast was always enjoyable and every afternoon, Michelle put out a homemade treat that was always delicious. All in all, Holbrook
House Is a great B&B!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We had the opportunity to stay at the Holbrook House on an overnight trip to Bar Harbor. It was a disappointing experience. The hosts were cordial, but unenthusastic in their efforts to be helpful or welcoming. Our room was overcrowded with furniture, hot and stuffy. The breakfast was good, but not comparable to other B&Bs we have stayed at in the past. All in all, not somewhere we could recommend or choose for a repeat stay.

Room Tip: Mount Desert Street is a very busy and noisy road (lots of traffic, day and night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

The Holbrook House is a lovely, homey B&B. Eric and Michelle are superb hosts and make you feel comfortable and welcome to Bar Harbor. The rooms are nicely decorated and very clean. The common areas (big porch, parlor, dining room) are comfortable gathering areas for guests. Michele makes a 5 star breakfast every morning so don't miss it!

We loved our stay and all the activities that Bar Harbor offers especially the biking and hiking in Bar Harbor. We highly recommend Holbrook house and we'll be back.

Lynne Muth

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Spent a long weekend at Holbrook, it was perfect home base for Acadia hiking. Michelle and Eric are fabulous hosts, very friendly and generous with their knowledge of the area. They're also great cooks and fueled us up with sit-down, gourmet breakfasts every morning. They stock a delicious plate of homemade cookies or brownies (plus the muffin of the day) and fresh juices for afternoon snacks (by the end of a long hike, we would male a beeline for the snacks!). The home is very clean and comfortable, and we enjoyed small talk with the other guests. It's a short walk to "downtown" Bar Harbor, very convenient. Already making plans for next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.