We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An inviting and comfortable vacation respite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holbrook House
74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Wells, ME
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“An inviting and comfortable vacation respite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

We enjoy staying at B&Bs. The Holbrook House sits at the top or our list of those we have visited in Bar Harbor. It is important to us that the beds are comfortable and towels are thick. But the most important factor is the atmosphere. The innkeepers set the tone for this atmosphere. Michelle and Eric rise above the best of our previous experiences. From the moment we arrived to our departure we felt right at home. Their friendly and helpful attitude created a feeling among the guests that they were part of an extended family.

Check-in was a breeze. Our room, Blue Ribbon, was well appointed and very clean. As I said before, the bed was very comfortable and the thick towels were a pleasure to use. What sets this B&B apart from others we have stayed at in Bar Harbor was the inviting public spaces. The breakfast room was bright and airy. There were two additional public rooms inside. The seating arrangement in each room lent itself socialization among the guests. The full length front porch had several seating areas where we also were able to sit and swap stories with the other people staying there. The breakfasts were delicious with fruit appetizers and tasty entrees. Coffee and tea were available all day with homemade baked goods in the afternoon.

Michelle and Eric have taken an existing B&B and put their own touches on it to create an inviting and comfortable vacation respite. We plan on returning to the Holbrook House next year on our annual trip to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Check the photos on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    10
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Califon, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

This was my first trip to Bar Harbor, and only my second stay in a B&B, and I had such a great experience that I will be returning in September for a specific event, and again staying at the Holbrook House. In fact, staying at the Holbrook House gratly contributed to my decision to attend the event in the area. Do yourself a favor and make a reservation at HH if you will be in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pottsville, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

Holbrook House was a truly enjoyable place to stay. Very homey, the rooms were clean and decorated in true victorian style, the owners Michelle and Eric have really paid attention to detail, from the softest sheets to a comfy throw blanket at the bottom of the bed! The breakfasts in the am were excellent as were all the homemade baked goods available in the evening for snacks. Ample parking and a short walk to the shops it is located in a perfect spot. It also is a short drive to Acadia Park. I would highly recommend this B&B to my friends and family. Bravo to Michelle and Eric.

Room Tip: Blue Ribbon is a wonderful room with a private de.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

If you are looking for delicious homemade breakfasts and generous amounts of yummy homemade snack foods, then Holbrook House is the place for you. Hosts Eric and Michelle are great cooks, carpenters, designers, and proprietors. They have turned a great B & B into an exceptional all-around experience. We plan to return often.

Room Tip: I can recommend all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Holbrook House for our one year wedding anniversary. Most B & B's do not allow young children but Michelle and Eric welcomed us and our 6 month old. They were kind and helpful, offering directions to activities, restaurants options and even calling in reservations for us. The rooms were clean and the entire house and grounds permeate Victorian elegance. We were treated to gourmet breakfasts, served with a smile and morning greetings every morning. It was our first time visiting Bar Harbor and we plan to return. When we do, we would love to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Staying at the recently renovated Holbrook House made our first trip to Bar Harbor wonderful! The location is just a short walk to main street and there is ample parking at the B&B. My husband and I have already booked another stay at Holbrook House for later this summer.
The B&B is charming throughout with an eclectic mix of decor and furniture. The rooms are clean, charming and comfortable. The owners, Michele and Eric, are a pleasure. They are knowledgeable about tourist favorites and are just as excited to share local hot spots with their guests. They serve a gourmet breakfast each morning and have a passion for cooking vegan dishes for those who prefer this option.
We strongly recommend visiting this B&B under the new ownership - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stayed at this charming B&B for a few days in April with a couple of friends and my 10 year old daughter. The inn is a couple of blocks from the town center. Perfect location. The rooms are beautifully appointed, cozy and warm. The common rooms were comfortable with the breakfast room very light and airy. Eric and Michelle are the new owners of this inn that they have recently updated with exquisite taste. They are as delightful and charming as their inn. They were very knowledgable about the area and made wonderful recommendations for eating, shopping and recreation. Even helping us to appreciate the beauty of the area on a rather gloomy weather day. The breakfasts were wonderful, in particular something I would describe as a french toast casserole. Eric and Michelle made us feel right at home. Last but not least the rooms were immaculate and I slept like a baby. We will be back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holbrook House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House

Address: 74 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holbrook House is a ten room, three suite B&B built in 1876, located in the historic district within walking distance of downtown Bar Harbor. All guest rooms have a private bath and a/c; some feature a fireplace or private porch. Each morning we include a home cooked breakfast and afternoon tea with homemade treats. We look forward to your stay with us as you explore beautiful Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Holbrook House Hotel Bar Harbor
Holbrook House Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holbrook House to your Saves list