We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bar Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Bar Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We had a fantastic stay here in October 2012.

The house is beautifully old - and our room was very spacious and comfortable - and yes, a fantastic spa bath (jacuzzi).

The hosts were very friendly and had great tips for Bar Harbor, including a great restaurant where we could have Lobster. Nothing beats local knowledge.

The location was perfect too - walking to everything in Bar Harbor and we cycled easily to Acadia National Park.

The breakfasts were delicious - some excellent home baked treats.

Can really recommend this place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    11
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
117
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Jefferson, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We only had the pleasure of staying at the Aysgarth Station for one night. It is in a great location - 3 blocks from downtown, yet on a quite street. The room was a bit small, but the breakfast was superb. I agree with Elad234 - Jane and Steve are exactly the way B&B owners should be - friendly, informative, helpful, not intrusive. In fact, I lost a credit card on the trip to Bar Harbor and had the replacement next day aired to the Aysgarth Station. Jane hung around the house all day to take delivery and called me in Acadia Nat'l Park when it arrived. In all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had the pleasure staying at the Aysgarth Station for 4 days during our east-coast holiday.
Out of all the places we stayed at, Aysgarth Station stands out, with an exeptional experience.
The owners, Jane and Steve, were lots of fun, nice, easy-going and relaxed- just like I'd expect ideal B&B owners to be.
The breakfasts are delicious, fresh and original (far more than the traditional english breakfast), including fresh fruits for breakfast. Another great cuisine feature is your free access to a coffee machine (real good one, not the one in simple hotels), tea, and soda throughout the day- you can just walk in and make yourself a cup- we really enjoyed having a cup of coffee on the evening, without having to pay extra for that. that was really nice. Jane, the owner, also bakes all sorts of cookies and cakes, so you have an afternoon snack as well.

As for the rooms: we stayed in the 'Whitby' room, which is smaller compared to other rooms according to the owners- it was all we needed, but if you like more space, or travelling with more than 3 big suitcases, I'd suggest going for the bigger rooms. In any case, our room was sparkling clean, the private shower and toilet looked new and again- clean. The bed was comfortable, and the street itself is very quiet. I don't think anymore needs to be said- Aysgarth Station will provide you a more than a 5 stars hotel experience. It was slightly pricey for our usual holidays budget range, but Bar Harbor itself is pricey, and the B&B price doesn't differ much from others in town, as far as I recall.

Bottom line: FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: 1. Stay at the Whitby room if you're ok with smaller space (will save you a couple of $$) 2. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moores Pocket
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Unfortunately we only had two nights at Aysgarth Station...would loved to had more. Our room, The Henley, was large, super comfy with everything we needed. Our hosts, Jane and Steve were wonderful, full of great info and great ideas, and the breakfast was fabulous.
Only a few short blocks from the middle of town, you can park the car and walk everywhere.

Room Tip: The Henley Room is on the ground floor, right next to breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Aysgarth Station was highly recommended by friends who had visited Bar Harbor last year. It did not disappoint. It is quaint, with delightful and very helpful owners, and on a street just far enough from the action to be quiet, but close enough to walk to all ends of town. The food was wonderful-Jane was superb in dealing with my gluten free concerns, always had something special out just for me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Fabulous guesthouse. We spent a few days of our honeymoon here. We hiked in the acadia national park nearby. Small but cute tree fall room. Hosts friendly and informative. Breakfasts and complementary drinks really excellent. We would highly recommend

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Bar Harbor is a busy and expensive town, so we were pleased to had found this cozy/vintage B&B. Jane is a terrific cook and a very straight forward person. Rooms are really tiny (at least ours), but since you are out most of the time it didn’t matter that much, although it is difficult to get your stuff organized, my beau had to leave his suitcase in the car and bring up just the indispensable stuff. Just a warning, if you are allergic to cats (not our case) they have a couple of them (they stay only in the living room though). Location is good, walking distance from main streets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

Address: 20 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast offers year round accommodations on Mt. Desert Island. Our Bed and Breakfast extends New England hospitality and quiet comfort in a uniquely casual atmosphere. The Inn is situated in downtown Bar Harbor....And you are only a short stroll to the harbor, many distinctive shops, an abundance of eateries and the Shore Path ocean-front walk. You are only minutes away from Acadia National Park. 125+ During Summer, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aysgarth Station Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.