We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hosts, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
20 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Saline, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I selected Aysgarth Station for our two nights in Bar Harbor in July based on reviews on this site, and I was glad I had done so. The B&B offers, as other reviewers have said, a welcome and rare combination of quiet location, convenience and proximity to downtown, and comfortable, attractive accommodations at prices that are very affordable, especially for Bar Harbor. Perhaps its most distinctive feature is the deep and broad knowledge of the area that the hosts have and readily share. The maps, books, and other materials that you'll find throughout the common areas will provide you with first-rate information, and the hosts will point you to just the right guide to answer your specific questions and address your particular interests. They are also terrific cooks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    11
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
117
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Aysgarth Station is located in a quiet street in the centre of town and walking distance to everything..cafes,waterfront,park etc. Jane is so very warm,welcoming and helpful...she cooks up a storm for a 5 star breakfast, 2 courses plus!! Our room was spacious,spotlessly clean and top quality linens and bed...could not fault anything.In a town where accomodation can be quite expensive Aysgarth Station is excellent value and I would highly recommend staying there.If you have an allergy to cats it is not the place for you, they do not come into your room at all but do wander downstairs and quickly win you over...even if you are not a cat person! Jane is full of information on the area and also provided us with a descriptive CD to play in the car, of the sites throughout Acadia National Park Brillaint warm hospitality .Missy Australia.

Room Tip: Spacious Room was on the first floor with a huge bathroom, excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We chose Aysgarth Station for our Memorial Day weekend accommodations because it had great reviews, a downtown location, and had a room available for under $120/night.  We were not disappointed.  The entire inn was cozy and comfortable.  We stayed in the Whitby room,  small but clean with a nicely tiled bathroom and shower.  The location was perfect-- on a very quiet street, but still within comfortable walking distance to Bar Harbor's shops and restaurants.  Also, the street that the inn is located on connects directly to the Park Loop Road, allowing easy access for cycling or driving. The innkeepers, Steve and Jane, were easy to talk to and full of ideas for activities and restaurants.  Breakfast was delicious and filling-- a hot entree, fruit, more baked goods than you'd ever need, and nice strong coffee.  Speaking of coffee, they even had it ready in time for our sunrise hike up Cadillac Mountain one morning!  We will definitely consider returning to Aysgarth Station on our next trip to Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumansburg, New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

The moment Jane opened the door and showed me to my room, the Chadsworth, I knew I had made the right decision. The bath was beyond excellent, the food was amazing and I felt right at home lounging about in the reading room with two cats on my lap (and I'm a dog person!). I had been camping in January for about a week, so naturally I couldn't help but enjoy life's luxuries. Aysgarth Station was warm, friendly, comfortable, luxurious, clean, organized and well worth staying at if you make your way into Bar Harbor, or even Maine for that matter.

Room Tip: Biggest bath and room - the Chadsworth. All the other rooms are wonderful as well. You really can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardiner, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

This gem of a BandB is one of the precious few open all year in Bar Harbor. A bit of the English countryside, the inn has warmth, history and truly fantastic breakfast (my fave). I travel to Mt. Desert Island once a month in the winter and I always stay at Aysgarth Station. The innkeepers are warm and friendly, they will meet your needs and are glad to see you return. The accommodations are simple, inviting and scrupulously clean. While there is no tv in the room (why I choose A. Station), there is wireless access. If you're visiting Bar Harbor during the electric days of summer, Aysgarth Station will be a quiet, restful retreat on a side street. If you're game for a winter experience Downeast, then plan to stay several nights. You'll be all cozy, cookied up and you'll be able to see the mist rise off the Atlantic just a block away.

Room Tip: I stay in Whitby, the smallest room, but it would work for a couple as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modesto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed in Tan Hill on the 3rd floor. If you don't like stairs choose a room on first or 2nd floor. We like stairs so works for us. The bathroom was large with big fluffy towels and very nice amenities. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Jane and Steve were a lot of fun and super helpful. They have 2 friendly cats. Park on the street so you can get to Cadillac mountain for sunrise. Make sure to get there 45 minutes to an hour before sunrise. J&S put out coffee and blankets for us too! They have a ton of books on the area and we really enjoyed the walking tour of Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Steep stairs to 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

Bar Harbor Maine is an adorable town and the Aysgarth Station is convienent to walking everywhere. Jane and Steve were wonderful hosts. Upon check-in Jane promptly greeted us warmly and was anxious to offer suggestions about the area. She was very helpful and provided us with a tourist map of the town, while offering us coffee, tea and fresh baked goods. I reserved the Henley room which is located right off the dining room. The room was pleasant and met my needs. No TV in the room, but with so many other things to do in this lovely town it was not missed. In Bar Harbor, THE thing to do is get up early and drive to Cadillac Mountain. If you do this, you will to be the first one in the United States to see the dawning of a new day. I was not about to let that get by me!! Steve was remarkable in that he got up early, and I do mean early as we had to leave by 5:45am, and brewed hot coffee, provided a thermos and to-go cups. As if that wasn't enough, he left blankets by the door to keep us warm on that 34 degree morning! SO THOUGHTFUL. Breakfast was divine. Jane made sure each and every person eating was happy with their breakfast. Nice place, nice people. Recommended.

Room Tip: The Henley room does sit off the dining room, so think about that. Upon departure you may be toting...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast

Address: 20 Roberts Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609 (Formerly Hatfield Inn Bed And Breakfast)
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast offers year round accommodations on Mt. Desert Island. Our Bed and Breakfast extends New England hospitality and quiet comfort in a uniquely casual atmosphere. The Inn is situated in downtown Bar Harbor....And you are only a short stroll to the harbor, many distinctive shops, an abundance of eateries and the Shore Path ocean-front walk. You are only minutes away from Acadia National Park. 125+ During Summer, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Aysgarth Station Bed And Breakfast Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aysgarth Station Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.