We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Solid choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2014

We ended up here for 3 nights after our initial hotel choice didn't work out. Great location in the middle of it all, good amenities (pools, tennis courts, etc), lovely staff. Our room was quite large, had a deck with a gorgeous ocean view, nice marble bathroom - no complaints. As this is a large resort, the rooms and common areas will have less character than something like a B&B, but otherwise excellent.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    226
    90
    77
    56
See reviews for
233
393
6
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

This hotel is set on a phenomenal location right at the harbor. I came here with several other members of my family and we shared a 3 bedroom suite on the corner. We enjoyed being on the ground floor because we could walk out of our room and use the grass area and go right up to the fence of the harbor. Upon checking in it seemed as if one of the bedrooms hadn't been used in a long time. None of the lights worked and the sink was plugged up. Maintenance came quickly and fixed the problems but it was an annoyance to have to go through that. I'm not sure if this is true, but it seemed to me like the hotel has been recently renovated and they took an old property and tried to make it feel new and luxurious. They got about 90% right but you will notice many things that just are not quite right. This was fine for me on this trip, but if I was the one in charge of making another reservation I'm really not sure that this place would be worth the price that they charge.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from the 24 to the 27 of august and it was just perfect! We had a really nice room, with a view on the pool, huge balcony and very clean bathroom. This hotel is not cheap, but it is so family friendly and the atmosphere give you the sensation to be in vacations! We had everyday soap, shampo and enought of towels for the shower.The ladies who clean the room were really nice and all the hotel staff had a smile! We could leave the car at the parking and walk all the time around the city. We were very happy with our choice. Just one thing, the 25$ per day fees of the hotel should just be include in the price of the room, that would avoid any surprises from the costumer. I strongly suggest this hotel for family and couples who are travelling in the area.

Room Tip: Not a room on the parking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

This is our second time staying here and it did not disappoint! When we checked in, our room was not ready but they promptly called us when it was. I had asked for extra towels through a mechanism in their reservation email service a week before our stay, and the extra towels were in the room. We love it here. It is close to downtown, we could walk anywhere, free parking and right on the ocean. My only negative comments is that the hotel only has queen beds for the very expensive rooms $650+. Double beds are a thing of the past in most hotels. We stayed on the first floor which was great. It was quiet. The pool was great as was the jacuzzi (needs lights for nighttime relaxing). We ordered both poolside and ate dinner at the restaurant and I was amazed at how affordable the poolside burgers were. Dinner at La Bella Vita was delicious! We will definitely stay here again. Oh....you do have access to use the Bar Harbor Club next door which we did not but the ability to do so was there. It was included in the resort fee as was the valet parking. This is a great place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Mabela54,

I was pleased to read your review- starting with the title! I would like personally to thank you for sharing your great experience at the Harborside Hotel and Marina with other travelers. Your review highlights the great opportunities guests at the Harborside have access to, starting with its location. I am pleased to hear all the positive comments in your review- and your “only negative” is something to definitely something to consider!

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

My wife and I arrived on Sunday Aug 25,2014. We waited about an hour for our room, our arrival time was approximately 3:30 pm. We finally walked in the room, to a filthy,stained carpet. I was in schock that a hotel of this quality would rent out this room. Needles to say, we were moved.The new room. A/C did not work, the safe was not working, had dead batteries. a couple of the towels looked old & damaged. Positive note, service was quick respond to fix both items. I would have given a lower rating, however hotel was very nice overall. For the price & such nice hotel, I would have expected more. Managament needs to do a better job overall. Housekeeping director is a good start.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Beny53,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers, here at the Harborside we strive for 100% guest satisfaction, on behalf of all the staff on property I would like to apologize that we fell short in our effort. We value all of our guest’s feedback as it helps us constantly improve-I will certainly be addressing the issues that you encountered during your time as a guest at the Harborside. The issues that you encountered were not up to our standards, however, I am pleased to hear that our team on shift were responsive to all your needs to help overlook some of the oversights.

If you chose to return to the Bar Harbor area- I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back- please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I am happy to assist!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Great location!! Walking distance to everything in bar harbor, whale watching boats, restaurants, bars and shops. We were greeted by friendly, smiling staff that were eager to help us get situated for our stay. We were upgraded to an ocean view room that was immaculate. Other staff was very helpful in guiding us to points of interest during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Kimmannn,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Harborside Hotel and Marina with other travelers, your kind words are much appreciated. We are always pleased to hear that our guests not only enjoy the rooms, the views, as well as the location, minutes from many points of interest!

We are in hopes that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina will be your lodging facility of choice!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Harborside is a wonderful hotel that has pretty much everything you need for a great vacation. We originally booked only 2 days, planning on spending the other 3 at their sister property, the West Street Hotel, but felt so comfortable at Harborside that we transferred our reservation over and then even booked an extra day. So all in all, we spent 6 days and wish it could have been more. This is a very well-run, classy hotel with great amenities.

ROOM(s)

Our first room was the standard view and it basically overlooked the parking lot so definitely spend the extra money for an ocean view, which was our second room. Our ocean view room was ground level which was very convenient for walk-outs and getting coffee in the morning, and it had a great little patio overlooking the harbor. Very quiet and peaceful and would definitely book it again on future trips. It had a small fridge, flat screen TV, and the best safe ever: so large that it could even accommodate a full-size laptop. Spacious, marble bathroom with separate shower stall and a bath tub. Robes are provided, which is a nice touch. Always plenty of towels and housekeeping was efficient.

GYM and LAUNDRY

The gym is well air conditioned and has all the equipment you need to work off those delicious dinners. Towels are provided and the usual water fountain. There’s also a complimentary laundry room next door to the gym and detergent provided by the front desk. This is a very nice touch and we took full advantage so we didn’t have to lug home a bag of dirty clothes. There were 3 machines and 3 dryers so we didn’t have to wait.

POOL

The pool is wonderful with plenty of comfy loungers. Umbrellas are more limited in number but we always managed to get one. Lots of towels at all times which is not always the case at other resorts. There is also a Jacuzzi pool overlooking the harbor. Service around the pool was always good and the lunch selections are delicious. We didn’t have any drinks but their tropical drinks menu was extensive.

FOOD

We did not have dinner at the restaurant, Bella Vita, but did have breakfast 4 times and lunch every day around the pool. Breakfasts were very good and you can sit outside on the terrace overlooking the harbor or inside. We chose the former. Their pancakes are light and fluffy and they serve genuine maple syrup instead of the awful corn syrup version you get at so many other places. Another delicious option is the smoked salmon plate with an everything bagel as well as capers, tomatoes, and finely minced red onions.

We had lunch around the pool nearly every day and had the best lobster roll we’ve ever had anywhere, at that includes other places in Bar Harbor. An incredibly generous portion of perfectly cooked lobster with just the right amount of mayo and seasoning served on a toasted bun. It was so good that we had it 3 times and took 2 of them with us for the ride home. A much better choice than the crummy fast food you find at service plazas. Another time we had the four cheeses pizza.

KEURIG and WIFI

There were only two minor “issues.” One was the Keurig coffee maker in the rooms which did not work in either of our rooms. In the first room it did nothing, and in the second it would pour out cold, weak, pale brown colored liquid which did not resemble coffee in any shape of form. I dislike Keurig coffee under the best of conditions, and don’t understand why it’s preferred by so many people, so needless to we went to the restaurant every morning for coffee to take back to our patio so we could sip in peace while watch the activities in the harbor. My suggestion would be to get rid of these awful things and put back normal, old fashioned coffee makers.

The other minor issue was the wifi which was spotty at best and most of the time our phone could not pick up the signal. My Ipad worked fairly well but even that would lose the signal quite often or the server would stop responding. Since the hotel is fairly large, it’s possible that your room location affects the strength of the signal. Not a biggie, but a more reliable wifi experience would be nice for those who need to check in with work or actually do some work on vacation.

OVERALL

But aside from these small inconveniences there is nothing I would change about the Harborside. It’s warm and friendly, the staff incredible accommodating, helpful, and courteous. Housekeepers work very hard and they always greet you with a friendly smile and “hello.” Parking was generous and there’s valet service as well as self-parking. Location is perfect; close to everything and the club next door provides spa services and additional pools.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and will be definitely returning in the future. Thank you to everyone there who helped us change our reservations and ensured a comfortable, lovely stay.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean front room. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear travelerNewYork,

Your review was a pleasure to read as you summarized the property wonderfully, and you have provided great guest insight. I am very pleased to hear that you were here for six days, wishing it were more, we have a beautiful property and I am always very happy to hear that our guests enjoy the accommodations, property location and amenities. All of our staff works very hard to provide a memorable stay to all of our guests, so thank you for making sure they were acknowledged for all their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
West Street Hotel
West Street Hotel
#12 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#13 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 373 reviews
1.0 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#19 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.