We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Hamburg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Great location!! Walking distance to everything in bar harbor, whale watching boats, restaurants, bars and shops. We were greeted by friendly, smiling staff that were eager to help us get situated for our stay. We were upgraded to an ocean view room that was immaculate. Other staff was very helpful in guiding us to points of interest during our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, September 29, 2014
Dear Kimmannn,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Harborside Hotel and Marina with other travelers, your kind words are much appreciated. We are always pleased to hear that our guests not only enjoy the rooms, the views, as well as the location, minutes from many points of interest!

We are in hopes that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina will be your lodging facility of choice!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    203
    80
    71
    48
See reviews for
192
357
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
new york
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Harborside is a wonderful hotel that has pretty much everything you need for a great vacation. We originally booked only 2 days, planning on spending the other 3 at their sister property, the West Street Hotel, but felt so comfortable at Harborside that we transferred our reservation over and then even booked an extra day. So all in all, we spent 6 days and wish it could have been more. This is a very well-run, classy hotel with great amenities.

ROOM(s)

Our first room was the standard view and it basically overlooked the parking lot so definitely spend the extra money for an ocean view, which was our second room. Our ocean view room was ground level which was very convenient for walk-outs and getting coffee in the morning, and it had a great little patio overlooking the harbor. Very quiet and peaceful and would definitely book it again on future trips. It had a small fridge, flat screen TV, and the best safe ever: so large that it could even accommodate a full-size laptop. Spacious, marble bathroom with separate shower stall and a bath tub. Robes are provided, which is a nice touch. Always plenty of towels and housekeeping was efficient.

GYM and LAUNDRY

The gym is well air conditioned and has all the equipment you need to work off those delicious dinners. Towels are provided and the usual water fountain. There’s also a complimentary laundry room next door to the gym and detergent provided by the front desk. This is a very nice touch and we took full advantage so we didn’t have to lug home a bag of dirty clothes. There were 3 machines and 3 dryers so we didn’t have to wait.

POOL

The pool is wonderful with plenty of comfy loungers. Umbrellas are more limited in number but we always managed to get one. Lots of towels at all times which is not always the case at other resorts. There is also a Jacuzzi pool overlooking the harbor. Service around the pool was always good and the lunch selections are delicious. We didn’t have any drinks but their tropical drinks menu was extensive.

FOOD

We did not have dinner at the restaurant, Bella Vita, but did have breakfast 4 times and lunch every day around the pool. Breakfasts were very good and you can sit outside on the terrace overlooking the harbor or inside. We chose the former. Their pancakes are light and fluffy and they serve genuine maple syrup instead of the awful corn syrup version you get at so many other places. Another delicious option is the smoked salmon plate with an everything bagel as well as capers, tomatoes, and finely minced red onions.

We had lunch around the pool nearly every day and had the best lobster roll we’ve ever had anywhere, at that includes other places in Bar Harbor. An incredibly generous portion of perfectly cooked lobster with just the right amount of mayo and seasoning served on a toasted bun. It was so good that we had it 3 times and took 2 of them with us for the ride home. A much better choice than the crummy fast food you find at service plazas. Another time we had the four cheeses pizza.

KEURIG and WIFI

There were only two minor “issues.” One was the Keurig coffee maker in the rooms which did not work in either of our rooms. In the first room it did nothing, and in the second it would pour out cold, weak, pale brown colored liquid which did not resemble coffee in any shape of form. I dislike Keurig coffee under the best of conditions, and don’t understand why it’s preferred by so many people, so needless to we went to the restaurant every morning for coffee to take back to our patio so we could sip in peace while watch the activities in the harbor. My suggestion would be to get rid of these awful things and put back normal, old fashioned coffee makers.

The other minor issue was the wifi which was spotty at best and most of the time our phone could not pick up the signal. My Ipad worked fairly well but even that would lose the signal quite often or the server would stop responding. Since the hotel is fairly large, it’s possible that your room location affects the strength of the signal. Not a biggie, but a more reliable wifi experience would be nice for those who need to check in with work or actually do some work on vacation.

OVERALL

But aside from these small inconveniences there is nothing I would change about the Harborside. It’s warm and friendly, the staff incredible accommodating, helpful, and courteous. Housekeepers work very hard and they always greet you with a friendly smile and “hello.” Parking was generous and there’s valet service as well as self-parking. Location is perfect; close to everything and the club next door provides spa services and additional pools.

Overall, I recommend this hotel and will be definitely returning in the future. Thank you to everyone there who helped us change our reservations and ensured a comfortable, lovely stay.

Room Tip: Reserve an ocean front room. The view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear travelerNewYork,

Your review was a pleasure to read as you summarized the property wonderfully, and you have provided great guest insight. I am very pleased to hear that you were here for six days, wishing it were more, we have a beautiful property and I am always very happy to hear that our guests enjoy the accommodations, property location and amenities. All of our staff works very hard to provide a memorable stay to all of our guests, so thank you for making sure they were acknowledged for all their hard work.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

This is a very nice hotel. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. The Spa is fabulous. The rooms are big and clean. The one complaint I would have (and not the Hotels fault) is that it is VERY kid friendly. Everywhere we went (including the bar late at night) we had children running around and screaming and playing and fighting and crying. They were up and down the halls all day, 6am til midnight. I wish they made the one pool over by the spa (they have 2 very nice pools) adults only. This would have at least given us someplace to relax.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear PeppermintyPatty,
Thank you for sharing your August experience at the Harborside with other travelers, we appreciate the kind words, and welcome all of our guests feedback for the property improvement for our future success. Our property is very family friendly, having 2 pool areas, with kids club, and tennis courts. Our sister property across the street has an adults only rooftop pool. I am pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the accommodations, Spa and the facility despite our family friendly areas.

I hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, and you are looking for more relaxation (for guests eighteen and older), you will consider staying at the West Street Hotel, which is also another one of our OPAL properties.

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Everything was amazing about the hotel except for the room. The outside of the hotel and amenities at the hotel were outstanding. However, the rooms could really use an upgrade. The rooms felt outdated as compared to the rest of the hotel. Other than the rooms, you get what you pay for, A+ service, A+ experience and A+ bed, but the room décor and feel is stuck in the 70s.

Room Tip: The king balcony harbor view was okay. Room was outdated, view was obstructed but the bed was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Chad D,
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay in August, we appreciate constructive thoughts from all our valued guests, as this helps for future improvement for our further success. This guest information is much appreciated as we go into the winter months, where we begin our room refreshments. I am happy that the staff, amenities, and experience were able to outshine the room décor, we have a traditional style however we have our sister property across the street offers a modern décor for the guests looking for a boutique style experience.

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina or the West Street Hotel will be your lodging facility of choice.

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We stayed at the Harborside for 4 nights for our 15th anniversary. Our first night we were in a king room with a pullout sofa. Our room was an ocean view room with a balcony. (1065) The sunrise from this view was absolutely gorgeous. If you don't want to be woken up, make sure to keep the drapes closed. Be sure to watch the sunrise for at least one morning; it is an absolute must-do. For our remaining 3 nights, we were moved to a double as there were no kings available for the rest of our stay. Our new location(1017) was just as good. We had a room overlooking the pool with a large balcony--large enough to accommodate 2 chairs, a table, 2 chaise lounges and pretty of room to spare. We checked out of one room at 10am and were able to get into our new room at 11am. It was seamless and our luggage was moved for us. When we got into our new room, a complimentary bottle of champagne along with a lovely note was there from Isabelle at the front desk. (Thanks Isabelle!!) As others have stated, the location can't be beat. You can walk to stores, restaurants, boats, and the Shore path. Acadia Nat'l. park is a short drive. We enjoyed both pools and had several tasty drinks poolside as well. This was not our first time in Bar Harbor, but was our first at the Harborside. We will definitely be back and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear JenTurieo,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience at the Harborside Hotel and Marina with other travelers. I am always pleased to hear guests experience who stay in our different room types and still enjoy the rooms just the same, no matter the bedding or view type. We have a very hard working Housekeeping, Front Desk, and Bell staff who are all happy to assist making room moves seamless for our guests. I am honored that you chose to spend your 15th Anniversary at the Harborside, and Isabelle, one of our managers, was able to personally make it a memorable experience.

We appreciate all the positive and constructive feedback provided by all of our valued guest, such as yourself, thank you again for the great review!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at the Harborside Hotel at the end of July with my husband for our 35th anniversary. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. What a nice surprise to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room! It was our third time there and, once again, our stay was fantastic. The room was beautiful and clean, with a good size balcony. We had an island view room. We did not mind the view of the parking lot, as we were able to see sandbar and the ocean in the back.

The hotel was very busy, but all the staff was friendly and polite. Everybody, from housekeeping to front desk and bellmen was saying hi, whenever we were walking in the lobby or in the hallways. The front desk team was always smiling, and prompt to take care of our requests, even if it was late and busy.

Bar Harbor is a great town and we felt like everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable stay, especially Isabel, the manager, who went out of her way multiple times to ensure our stay was memorable. She is definitely an asset to your company.

We love it there and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Francine C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review you repeat experience at the Harborside, it is our pleasure to welcome back our returning guests! I am pleased that you were able to spend a very exciting 35th Anniversary with us at the Harborside and that our staff were able to make it a memorable experience! We have a wonderful staff, I am pleased to read your acknowledgement to one of our managers, Isabelle, all of our staff works very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to property!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at the Harborside for 3 nights. The location is great; it's close to restaurants, the whale boat tours and shopping, and is only a five to ten minute drive to Acadia. The rooms are clean. We originally had a suite near the pool (which was spacious but noisy and offered no view) and were then moved to the 3rd floor where we had our own little balcony which was lovely. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had a charge on our bill that was quickly rectified.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great if kids are traveling with you. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Mjrrnc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your summer stay! I am always happy to read wonderful comments regarding our hard working staff, and how they were able to assist our valued guests, such as yourself! We appreciate the great review, as we are pleased to hear and read about our guests enjoying the location, accommodations and our amenities of our property while visiting Acadia National Park and our beautiful town.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Harborside Hotel and Marina!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.