We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable location and hotel expereince, however room needs an upgrade” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unbelievable location and hotel expereince, however room needs an upgrade”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Everything was amazing about the hotel except for the room. The outside of the hotel and amenities at the hotel were outstanding. However, the rooms could really use an upgrade. The rooms felt outdated as compared to the rest of the hotel. Other than the rooms, you get what you pay for, A+ service, A+ experience and A+ bed, but the room décor and feel is stuck in the 70s.

Room Tip: The king balcony harbor view was okay. Room was outdated, view was obstructed but the bed was extrem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    191
    78
    68
    48
See reviews for
189
340
5
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Harborside for 4 nights for our 15th anniversary. Our first night we were in a king room with a pullout sofa. Our room was an ocean view room with a balcony. (1065) The sunrise from this view was absolutely gorgeous. If you don't want to be woken up, make sure to keep the drapes closed. Be sure to watch the sunrise for at least one morning; it is an absolute must-do. For our remaining 3 nights, we were moved to a double as there were no kings available for the rest of our stay. Our new location(1017) was just as good. We had a room overlooking the pool with a large balcony--large enough to accommodate 2 chairs, a table, 2 chaise lounges and pretty of room to spare. We checked out of one room at 10am and were able to get into our new room at 11am. It was seamless and our luggage was moved for us. When we got into our new room, a complimentary bottle of champagne along with a lovely note was there from Isabelle at the front desk. (Thanks Isabelle!!) As others have stated, the location can't be beat. You can walk to stores, restaurants, boats, and the Shore path. Acadia Nat'l. park is a short drive. We enjoyed both pools and had several tasty drinks poolside as well. This was not our first time in Bar Harbor, but was our first at the Harborside. We will definitely be back and would not consider staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at the Harborside Hotel at the end of July with my husband for our 35th anniversary. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. What a nice surprise to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room! It was our third time there and, once again, our stay was fantastic. The room was beautiful and clean, with a good size balcony. We had an island view room. We did not mind the view of the parking lot, as we were able to see sandbar and the ocean in the back.

The hotel was very busy, but all the staff was friendly and polite. Everybody, from housekeeping to front desk and bellmen was saying hi, whenever we were walking in the lobby or in the hallways. The front desk team was always smiling, and prompt to take care of our requests, even if it was late and busy.

Bar Harbor is a great town and we felt like everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable stay, especially Isabel, the manager, who went out of her way multiple times to ensure our stay was memorable. She is definitely an asset to your company.

We love it there and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Harborside for 3 nights. The location is great; it's close to restaurants, the whale boat tours and shopping, and is only a five to ten minute drive to Acadia. The rooms are clean. We originally had a suite near the pool (which was spacious but noisy and offered no view) and were then moved to the 3rd floor where we had our own little balcony which was lovely. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had a charge on our bill that was quickly rectified.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great if kids are traveling with you. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location! Beautiful hotel in Bar Harbor, close to everything! Loved being able to walk to the shopping area and restaurants. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Rooms were a nice size for family of 4. Only disappointment was wi-fi was a little spotty.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This past July marked our 9th visit to the Harborside. This year we brought friends and family for a total of 12 guests. As per usual, the Harbourside did not disappoint and has 8 new members to its fan list. Its location on the water is beautiful. Sitting on our balcony sipping my coffee, smelling the sea air, and being seranaded by sea birds was a wonderful to start my day. Our room was spacious, the beds comfy and as in the past breakfast in the Bella Vita (the hotel restaurant) was delicious. Add to that, the Harborside is within walking distance of several great restaurants. Finally no day of our visit was complete without a dip in our of the hotel's great pools.

Room Tip: We always enjoy our island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This hotel is in a terrific spot in Bar Harbor, right on the water with a lot of facilities that make for a really nice visit. The views are beautiful - even from a ground floor room. The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable. Staff is very helpful, but not overbearing. Highly recommend this hotel for a getaway or, if you're lucky enough, a business trip.

Room Tip: Water view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#20 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Travelocity so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;