We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

I stayed at the Harborside Hotel at the end of July with my husband for our 35th anniversary. We arrived in the early afternoon and our room was ready. What a nice surprise to find a chilled bottle of champagne in the room! It was our third time there and, once again, our stay was fantastic. The room was beautiful and clean, with a good size balcony. We had an island view room. We did not mind the view of the parking lot, as we were able to see sandbar and the ocean in the back.

The hotel was very busy, but all the staff was friendly and polite. Everybody, from housekeeping to front desk and bellmen was saying hi, whenever we were walking in the lobby or in the hallways. The front desk team was always smiling, and prompt to take care of our requests, even if it was late and busy.

Bar Harbor is a great town and we felt like everyone wanted us to have an enjoyable stay, especially Isabel, the manager, who went out of her way multiple times to ensure our stay was memorable. She is definitely an asset to your company.

We love it there and can’t wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Francine C,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review you repeat experience at the Harborside, it is our pleasure to welcome back our returning guests! I am pleased that you were able to spend a very exciting 35th Anniversary with us at the Harborside and that our staff were able to make it a memorable experience! We have a wonderful staff, I am pleased to read your acknowledgement to one of our managers, Isabelle, all of our staff works very hard to ensure all of our guests enjoy their stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to property!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    203
    80
    71
    48
See reviews for
192
358
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We stayed at the Harborside for 3 nights. The location is great; it's close to restaurants, the whale boat tours and shopping, and is only a five to ten minute drive to Acadia. The rooms are clean. We originally had a suite near the pool (which was spacious but noisy and offered no view) and were then moved to the 3rd floor where we had our own little balcony which was lovely. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. We had a charge on our bill that was quickly rectified.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms by the pool are great if kids are traveling with you. The rooms on the 2nd and 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 1, 2014
Dear Mjrrnc,

Thank you for taking the time to review your summer stay! I am always happy to read wonderful comments regarding our hard working staff, and how they were able to assist our valued guests, such as yourself! We appreciate the great review, as we are pleased to hear and read about our guests enjoying the location, accommodations and our amenities of our property while visiting Acadia National Park and our beautiful town.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Harborside Hotel and Marina!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Great location! Beautiful hotel in Bar Harbor, close to everything! Loved being able to walk to the shopping area and restaurants. Staff extremely nice and helpful. Rooms were a nice size for family of 4. Only disappointment was wi-fi was a little spotty.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear 13Connie13,

Thank you for taking the time to review your August stay at the Harborside, we value all of our guests feedback and appreciate all the positive comments you have provided regarding your stay. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, walking distance to the heart of downtown Bar Harbor, and a very short drive from Acadia National Park. We have a wonderful hard working staff, on behalf of all the staff I would like to thank you for taking the time to mention them.

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina will be your lodging facility of choice.

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This past July marked our 9th visit to the Harborside. This year we brought friends and family for a total of 12 guests. As per usual, the Harbourside did not disappoint and has 8 new members to its fan list. Its location on the water is beautiful. Sitting on our balcony sipping my coffee, smelling the sea air, and being seranaded by sea birds was a wonderful to start my day. Our room was spacious, the beds comfy and as in the past breakfast in the Bella Vita (the hotel restaurant) was delicious. Add to that, the Harborside is within walking distance of several great restaurants. Finally no day of our visit was complete without a dip in our of the hotel's great pools.

Room Tip: We always enjoy our island view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear 06Suze,

I would like to thank you for being one of our valued OPAL guests and for your return trips to the Harborside. I was pleased to read that we were able to accommodate yet another great stay, for our new and returning guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with other travelers, such experiences are best told by our guests.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

This hotel is in a terrific spot in Bar Harbor, right on the water with a lot of facilities that make for a really nice visit. The views are beautiful - even from a ground floor room. The rooms are very nicely appointed and comfortable. Staff is very helpful, but not overbearing. Highly recommend this hotel for a getaway or, if you're lucky enough, a business trip.

Room Tip: Water view if you can get it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear CharlieandCrew,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your August stay with other travelers; we appreciate all of your kind words, starting with the title of your review. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the view from you ground floor room, the patio area along these rooms are always fun to watch the working harbor! We are always happy to read about our valued guests experiences while at the Harborside, so I would like thank you again for the kind review!

We hope that if you return to the Bar Harbor area, the Harborside Hotel and Marina will be your lodging facility of choice!

With Hospitality,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon. The rooms were nice, the staff was friendly and it was what I expected for the price.

Please note that everyone has to pay a $25 club fee per day. It seems a lot of people are surprised by this, but it is clearly stated on the website. We put it to good use playing tennis at the Bar Harbor Club next door.

The hotel has excellent access to the sand bar leading to Bar Island and is close to just about anything you could want in downtown Bar Harbor. Some of my favorite views in the world can be found within a few feet of the front entrance.

It was exactly what we expected for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Kenneth B,

On behalf of all the staff at the Harborside, it is my pleasure to say congratulations! I am pleased that you chose to spend this very special moment with us! All of our guests have access to many amenities, including the tennis courts at the Bar Harbor Club, I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy playing a few rounds. We are grateful for all of your kind words regarding your stay; I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your honeymoon experience at the Harborside!

We hope in years to come, you will return to the Bar Harbor area and the Harborside Hotel and Marina.

Congratulations again!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Harborside. Our room was clean and spacious. The grounds were lovely, the pool and jacuzzi clean and inviting. The staff we interacted with were attentive and courteous. The location simply can't be beat--within walking distance to the many restaurants and shops in Bar Harbor and just a short drive to Acadia. My only reason for not giving it 5 stars is we felt it was pricey for a room that overlooked the parking area. Next visit, I will be more proactive with asking for the various room locations within the same price category. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris torrey t, General Manager at Harborside Hotel & Marina, responded to this review, October 12, 2014
Dear Packyourbag5,

Your review was a pleasure to read, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your August stay with other travelers. We value our guest’s feedback, such as yours as this helps contribute to our continued success. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay while in Bar Harbor using many of our amenities on property and enjoying our very convenient location. Your comments regarding the price of your room will be shared with our management team as constructive thoughts going forward in our 2015 season.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to the Harborside Hotel and Marina!

Warm Regards,
Chris Torrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#11 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.