We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Save Saved
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel 3 years ago and enjoyed it that much we went back. On both occaisions the staff were friendly, helpful and obliging. The returant was lovely, great food - breakfast exceptional value and the lounge was an added bonus. The position and views are great - especially sea facing rooms. We have no hesitation reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    170
    69
    63
    47
See reviews for
154
303
5
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at the Harborside Hotel in October 2012. I can only imagine that in the heat of summer this must be "the place to be"! It was great for us though. We stayed with our 3 kids in one room, they provided us with an air mattress which is better described as an airbed. The mattress inflates to a height the same as a bed. So we had the air mattress, a pull out sofa and a queen size bed, Although it was tight quarters it fit our needs perfectly. I loved the location of this hotel. I had never been to Bar Harbor again, but would love to go back during the summer to stay here again. Although chances are I wouldnt be able to afford during peak season. But if you are looking for a place where you will certainly be comfortable, this place fits the bill. We did not get a chance to eat in the restaurant but it looked warm and cozy. They were very nice when we went in there to ask for some Honey Mustard for food we bought elsewhere.

Overall I would certainly recommend the hotel and look forward to spending more time here when I am able.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with my family over this past summer. Our room was advertised as "garden view". Walked in and approached the Front desk. The staff was not friendly. I felt like I was inconviencing them. Very short on words and no smile at all. Got the key for the room and was pointed in the direction of where to go. First impression walking into the room was how dim it was. Had 1 window with blinds closed. I opened the blinds and my apalling vacation began. The light shined in and the stains on the carpet were very visable. A corner floor lamp was removed from the room. Indent from it still in the floor. An obvious attemp not to shine light on the filthy floors. Looked like a combination of food and coffee stains. It looked like someone took a slice of pizza and smeared it accross the floor. Oh well, maybe the "garden view" will redeem the otherwise nasty room. Look out the window and what do I see? A window flower box with a bunch of weeds in it. Wonderful! The 2nd night was no better. A giant ant the size of a jelly bean was crawling across the floor! Should have viewed the other reviews before booking at this hotel. The only redeeming quality was the outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Stay away from this one.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

First we were at the hotel as they were closing for the winter we were there the last day they were open. However our stay there was absolutely wonderful we had a room that overlooked the pool and the ocean it was a wonderful view, we could also see the cruise ships off shore of Bar Harbor. This is a must stay location the staff was wonderful we would return again. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable which is very important to us. We had a balcony just outside our room with a wooden deck that over looked the pool and the Ocean it was a great view. If you go to Bar Harbor this is your place to stay. Stay there because Capt. Jim said so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the ocean or pool both are great. Our room was on the first flood not fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland,OH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, easy parking, and the wood burning fireplace in the lobby were the top features of the Harborside. Only negative was that I thought the room we were in was a little run down - carpets were stained and the bathroom light was burnt out. However service was great - they fixed the light when we told the front desk. Also breakfast in the Italian restaurant was excellent! Be sure to also check out the sand bar nearby that goes to Bar Island - very cool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We Would Love to come back earlier in the season! Our visit was late october, and the town was just about done for the season! This hotel is an Excellent location, JUST SO close to the main area of down town and right on the water! Truly within walking distance from the main areas! I really loved this hotel! My only wish was to have upgraded from our pool level floor. Seemed like we were in the basement. The hotel room was very nice. Excellent bedding, very comfortable and the decor was very nice. Kureg in the room and also a fridge - nice. No mini bar, but we brought our own items and put them in the fridge. Pool and outdoor hot tub were very nice. Fitness center was clean and bright. I would highly recommend, but my lower level located room was not the best for $150 per night. again, wish we would have upgraded. I would definately stay here any time in Bar Harbor!! Our savings were great by going with the no view room. and the fact the tourists were at a minimum was just fantastic!!!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was great!!! The room, the view, and the staff were far above expectations... you can not beat the location. Everything is close by- shopping and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: deluxe suites are well worth the extra money. more like an apartment than hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel Marina
Harborside Hotel And Marina
Harborside Hotel
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.