We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Harborside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harborside Hotel & Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Harborside Hotel & Marina to your Saves list
Harborside Hotel & Marina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Cleveland,OH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great stay at the Harborside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great location, easy parking, and the wood burning fireplace in the lobby were the top features of the Harborside. Only negative was that I thought the room we were in was a little run down - carpets were stained and the bathroom light was burnt out. However service was great - they fixed the light when we told the front desk. Also breakfast in the Italian restaurant was excellent! Be sure to also check out the sand bar nearby that goes to Bar Island - very cool!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    209
    81
    71
    49
See reviews for
200
367
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Overland Park, Kansas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We Would Love to come back earlier in the season! Our visit was late october, and the town was just about done for the season! This hotel is an Excellent location, JUST SO close to the main area of down town and right on the water! Truly within walking distance from the main areas! I really loved this hotel! My only wish was to have upgraded from our pool level floor. Seemed like we were in the basement. The hotel room was very nice. Excellent bedding, very comfortable and the decor was very nice. Kureg in the room and also a fridge - nice. No mini bar, but we brought our own items and put them in the fridge. Pool and outdoor hot tub were very nice. Fitness center was clean and bright. I would highly recommend, but my lower level located room was not the best for $150 per night. again, wish we would have upgraded. I would definately stay here any time in Bar Harbor!! Our savings were great by going with the no view room. and the fact the tourists were at a minimum was just fantastic!!!

Room Tip: choose a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was great!!! The room, the view, and the staff were far above expectations... you can not beat the location. Everything is close by- shopping and restaurants. We will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: deluxe suites are well worth the extra money. more like an apartment than hotel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabot, Arkansas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is a nice resort. We had a nice room with a little balcony and a great view but to have that nice room we had to walk very long halls to get the front of the resort or even an outside door. Room was clean and well maintained. It is in a perfect location for walking around Bar Harbor and that was its best advantage. The staff was very nice and helpful. But I think it is overall overrated and alittle high priced for the value. The spa is a good walk and not anything special. We were happy with everything just nothing special but the location and view.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed at the Harborside Hotel week of October 15th. The hotel is in a perfect location; close to restaurants, shops, pier, tour boats, Acadia, etc. We were impressed with the hotel, the staff, the restaurant, and the location. Most upscale hotels charge for internet and parking, but not Harborside. When we return to Bar Harbor, we will definitely book a room at Harborside Hotel again.

Room Tip: Harbor View rooms look out over the harbor and face east while island view rooms look out over the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This is our second visit to the Harborside Hotel and Marina. Our room overlooked Frenchmans' Bay and the Bar (at low tide) that gives Bar Harbor it's name. We really like the location of this Hotel because we can walk to the main street of town. The hotel is very clean, spacious rooms, nicely decorated, friendly staff, and has a restaurant. We only ate breakfast there but it was excellant. We have a lot of favorite restaurants since we have been coming to Acadia National Park for over 30 years.

Room Tip: We like the second floor overlooking Frenchmans Bay and seeing the "Bar" at low tide. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a four night stay at the Harborsie Hotel and Marina. We were pleased with this hotel and would probably stay there again. The location cannot be beat if you want to be close to the shopping and restaurants. Several evenings we walked through the town shopping and finding great places to eat.
We had booked an ocean front king suite. When we got to our room we found it to be very spacious with a separate living area and a large bedroom. The living area had a gas fireplace which was a nice feature. I was a little disappointed with the location (ground floor, and far back from the harbor - yet still had a harbor view), and I felt the room was not as luxurious as I thought it would have been for the price. I went back to the front desk to ask them if we could have a room on a higher floor and further out over the bay. The gentleman was very accomodating ( I wish I would have gotten his name) and even took me to see the room. We settled for a smaller room with a King bed and living area (not separated from the bedroom) with a balcony that had a hot tub on it and a beautiful view looking over the bay. I still think the price was somewhat high for the quality of the room and the time of year. I would think this would have been peak prices. The rooms however are very clean. The furniture is starting to look slightly dated. A flat screen on the wall would do wonders. A free complimentary breakfast would have been appreciated as well. I would love to see this place in the summer. The pool was large and is probably very refreshing when it is hot. The hot tub on the balcony was a bonus, however the balcony is only semi-private.

Room Tip: Higher rooms out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Harborside Hotel & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harborside Hotel & Marina

Address: 55 West St., Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#21 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harborside Hotel & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in downtown Bar Harbor at the ocean's edge; near Acadia National Park; breathtaking view of Frenchman's Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and HotelsClick so you can book your Harborside Hotel & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harborside Hotel & Marina Bar Harbor, Maine
Harborside Hotel And Marina

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborside Hotel & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.