We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main Street but the quiet side” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cromwell Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Cromwell Harbor Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Fishkill, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Main Street but the quiet side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

So we stayed here ten nights I think while in Bar Harbor. Our tenth time here in Bar Harbor and we have stayed in cottages, B&B's, campground, however this is a first for us staying in a motel. My wife researched this very well as we don't like surprises. This place had a lot going for it. In two words, Imm- maculate. One of the cleanest places we have ever stayed. Great job! The room was enormous like almost 25 X 15. It had a nice little balcony for sitting, a refrigerator, a very comfortable king bed, Wifi, flat screen TV, a table to have breakfast and a nice shower. We stayed on the second floor, end room, so no one could walk on our heads. The motel is located on Main Street on the quiet end but it is only a short 10 minute leisurely walk to the center of everything in Bar Harbor. Also close to one of Acadia's entrances. What can I say to maybe improve this great motel? New towels would be nice and although the women we encountered were pleasant the man was not. My wife said he ignored her a few times and I unsuccessfully tried to make eye contact one morning. I mean come on we were there 10 nights you could have said, "Hi" or nodded hello. In spite of this guy we would come back for all the reasons mentioned. Hope this good review puts a smile on your face mister Cromwell.

Room Tip: Just a matter or preference, we don't like first floor rooms cause sometimes you got heavy walke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    35
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
22
56
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sanford, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were looking for a location that was near to town to walk, as parking in town can be hard to come by. We needed something that would fit our budget over Labor Day weekend (we just completed paying for a wedding)... We found this in the Cromwell Harbor Motel... location was minutes from town, property was set back from main road. Rooms were clean and quite large. Shower/tub could have been slightly wider, but it worked...The first night we were tired and ate at Poor Boys excellent excellent!!! Will be going back to Cromwell and Bar Harbor....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara NY
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We visited in August so naturally Bar Harbor was busy. If you don't mind a short 1/4 mile walk to town the Cromwell Harbor is the place to stay. We found the staff/owners to be very friendly. The grounds are kept beautiful, the pool clean and our King room was very clean. The King room was very large and had a nice balcony to sit out and relax. The room has nice windows for a cross ventilation so we rarely used the air conditioner. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return to Bar Harbor sooner than later. When we do we plan to stay at the Cromwell Harbor.

Room Tip: Second floor King rooms with the balcony are the rooms for couples. You only have a little traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was my first time staying at this motel and I will be back. I had a king size bed, large room and a small balcony. The room also had a small fridge and microwave. The room smelled clean almost new. while I didn't use the pool it did look rather inviting. you can easily walk in to Bar Harbor in 10mins or so depending on how fast you walk. I left my car at the motel and walked to town then took the free shuttles around. The room also has a/c and free wifi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently. It's a good location and decent price but the man who checked us in was very rude and condescending, and he may have been drunk. The friend I was with said the lady who also works the front desk was much better. The room smelled pretty bad, like a heavy air freshener. The grounds were nice, pretty gardens. There was no elevator to the second floor and we had to lug all our luggage upstairs without help. Most likely will not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Searching on the net, I found this gem just by luck. I wanted to be close enough to walk into town but could not justify outrageous prices for some B and B's that would be in that category. When I called to make reservation, I just had a great feel as this was Family owned place and they were very friendly on the phone. We were not disappointed when we arrived to find that the location was minutes from town which meant we could walk. The room was very large with a small fridge and microwave. It was also the cleanest motel I have ever been in. From the well maintained grounds to the immaculate accommodations, it was evident that there was a great deal of family pride in ths establishment.
If I had to look for anything to improve, it would be towels that were a bit larger and fluffier....not a game changer, I would recommend this motel to anyone and stay there again.

Room Tip: The second floor has a little balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

It was our first visit to Bar Harbor. My sister and I enjoyed our stay in the motel. Very clean and so quiet. We had a double room with two huge comfortable beds.

After asking about local restaurants at the reception, the owner gave us the name of a nice place to eat lobster. As I had never eaten lobster she went into her kitchen and brought out one of her ready cooked lobsters and showed us how to break it open to eat it. She was so nice!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Address: 359 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.