We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cromwell Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cromwell Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cromwell Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Cromwell Harbor Motel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   359 Main Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Cromwell Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I spent six nights here during the first week of October. The exterior is very clean and attractive with flowers and window boxes and plenty of parking. I had a very quiet second floor end unit with a large porch and a couple of chairs. It is on the outskirts of Bar Harbor and about a 20-min walk to the center of town. It's also very conveniently located for exploring Acadia.

The room was quite large with plenty of closet space and additional storage in a dresser. It's nice to have a fridge and microwave so you can keep a few things in the room and not have to eat out all the time. A small table, flat screen TV, and ceiling fan round out the room. My only complaint is with the mattress which was extremely firm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    39
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
64
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed in late Sept early Oct. The room was very, VERY nice, large, ceiling fan, large flat panel TV and a frig and microwave. My building was behind the main building The sliding glass doors seem like a cool thing, but you hear them every time anyone in the building comes and goes. If it's early in the morning, you'll be woke up. Be aware of the towel rack between the shower and the sink. I nearly knocked my head into it, so I put a towel on it to remind me it was there. The wifi works, but I had to stay close to the door. The bed is very comfortable and you don't hear any traffic. I had a car to drive, but it you're walking from town it's quite a walk.

Room Tip: I'd recommend staying in a building without the sliding glass doors. They're loud - you hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have stayed at the Cromwell Harbor Motel for 30 years, and would not consider any other place to spend our week long vacations in Maine. It has a quiet ambiance, though close to town center, that we appreciate. The very well-appointed and maintained rooms, the extremely tidy grounds, and the glorious flowers present a haven that we highly recommend.

Room Tip: the excellent management can advise to satisfy your needs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Cromwell Harbor was a delightful motel. The room was very large, clean, and in excellent repair.. The king size bed was especially comfortable. The Motel was very convenient to "downtown" Bar Harbor - within walking distance of shops, restaurants, and the waterfront. Bar Harbor is one of the nicest, most pleasant places we have ever visited.

Room Tip: King room on 2nd floor was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our first time staying at the Cromwell Harbor Motel and we were pleasantly surprised at how nice it is. The room was huge --much bigger than they typical motel room. It was exceptionally clean --which is very important to me. The staff was friendly and helpful. The romm we stayed in was on the second floor --which involved lots of stair climbing to get your luggage in---but once that was done the room was very nice. It had a refridgerator, microwave, and coffee machine. Even the coffee they provided was pretty good. The room had a small balcony that faces the road --but the road is fairly far from the room -- there is a parking lot and lawn area, and some trees before the road comes into view. Plus, the motel is out of the busy area of town --so there is very little noise at night--or even during the day. The room had a table and 2 chairs and also an upolstered chair. The bathroom was bright and clean with modern fixtures--nothing really fancy ---- but nothing to complain about for sure. Since it was September , the rates were off-season and fairly reasonable. In all, I would reccomend this motel. I would like to see the suites with full kitchen---I could see being comfortable there for a longer stay. The wifi worked perfectly, too. Very nice motel in a beautiful town --and the Acadia National Park is a real gem --reason enough to visit and stay a while.

Room Tip: Remember --the top floor has no one above to stomp on the ceiling --but there are lots of steps to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglassville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Room was more like a bedroom than a hotel room. Large, roomy, great TV, and very clean. with a closet, desk, and a dresser. King size bed and COMFORTABLE! The grounds are well groomed and maintained. We walked into town every day. A couple of blocks from downtown Bar Harbor. About a mile from the hotel to the harbor. No worries about parking in town! We thought it was great. We were able to get in our daily walk and still sight see and play tourist. We were on a 2 week tour of New England and this was our favorite place to stay by far!

Room Tip: comfortable, clean, close to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
263 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 5 nights here and loved it. Great service, beautiful,spacious rooms,and convenient location. The pool area is delightful, as are the grounds. Refrigerator and coffee maker in the room are plusses and wi-fi works really well. We'll definitely be back for another visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
1.6 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 836 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 954 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
1.3 mi away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#4 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cromwell Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cromwell Harbor Motel

Address: 359 Main Street, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#18 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Cromwell Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cromwell Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cromwell Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Cromwell Harbor Bar
Cromwell Harbor Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromwell Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.