We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   39 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
South Point, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at this Inn. We were very impressed with the staff, the accommodations, and the affordable cost. Everyone was helpful and kind. The Inn is a short walk to town, restaurants, the shore etc. The scenery was gorgeous. We spent one day just driving through Acadia National park and the local route around the shoreline. Check in was easy. They have DVD's and VHS tapes available to use. We stayed in Suite 16. It had a living room area with a fireplace, a queen size bed and a bathroom. The rooms were clean and nicely furnished. Breakfast was wonderful. I would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
175
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Because of the friendliness, cleanliness, great service and scruptious breakfasts we can't wait to get back.
Castlemaine Inn is a great place to stay while you are in Bar Harbor.
We found the two person therapeutic tub was fun way to relax and enjoy each other' company!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We visited in October for the first time. Easy to deal with over the phone, and the check in was easy. Staff very helpful, both in selection of rooms, and things to do in Bar Harbor. Rooms themselves were excellent, nice furnishings and very clean. (We stayed in 2 rooms, # 9 then #8: We preferred #8 becuase of the gas fireplace and general "coziness", but both were great). Location was in walking distance of all of downtown Bar Harbor.
Maids cleaning the rooms were also very cheerful, and helpful in showing us other rooms for the next time we go back, which we will definetly do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VERONA
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

No need to look for another place to stay in Bar Harbor as this was as good as it gets. We stayed with Dan at his Inn 3 nights 10/15-10/18 and it was like being away from home. It is a beautiful Inn, exceptional clean and the breakfast was delicious. Dan and his staff are friendly helpful and make you feel at home. The walk to the pier, shops and resturants was easy, everytime we went into town we left our car at the inn and walked. This was our 1st trip to Bar Harbor and we cannot wait to go back and spend more time, one reason is because of the stay here. We would not even look elsewhere as we are hooked on the Castlemain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forty Fort, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I just took a much needed vacation and decided on exploring Acadia National Park and enjoying Maine's fall foliage. After reviewing several bed and breakfasts, we felt that Castlemaine was the best fit for us. We chose well and most of the reviews were helpful. We stayed in Suite One and were very pleased. The room was quaint and cozy and had a wonderfully relaxing spa tub.

The inn keeper Dan was amazing with his knowledge of the island and ability to plan a remarkable day!!!! All of the staff was so pleasant and helpful. I regretfully forgot her name but we arrived late our first night and it was only a matter of moments before we were taken to our beautiful room and dinner reservations were made for us. The breakfasts in the morning were always delicious with a wonderful variety! The maid service always left our room sparkling.

The inn is situated close to the main shopping areas and only a short drive from all other locations. Parking is available on site and we always found a spot, even when we came in late at night.

We will definitely visit Castlemaine again in the future and strongly recommend that you give it a try, you won't be disappointed!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our first visit to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park in Maine. What a beautiful part of the country to visit.

Our stay at the Castlemaine Inn in Bar Harbor made our visit all that more unforgettable and wonderful. The staff were very helpful and hospitable the entire time. Dan Daigle, the innkeeper, is particularly helpful in providing very practical guidance and directions to notable places of interest in the area. Bobbi was great with providing suggestions regarding the abundant number of restaurants in Bar Harbor - we experienced some delicious meals. Bobbi even assisted us with taking our luggage to our room - an unexpected and very nice touch.

The Inn is historical, beautiful and well-maintained. Room prices for October were among the most reasonable in the area. The breakfast choices were varied and yummy! The location was perfect; an easy walk to the lovely town of Bar Harbor and only 2-3 miles from the Visitor Entrance to Acadia National Park. Who could ask for more.

We stayed in the Garden Room on the first floor; decorated very attractively and so comfortable and cozy. A guest can even view a video or DVD in the room.

We truly hated to leave and look forward to our next visit to Bar Harbor, Maine. You can be certain we will return to the Castlemaine Inn.

Guy and Sue M
From Lancaster, PA

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

i have been going to Maine since I was 8 years old. About 6 years ago, my wife and I discovered Castlemaine, the former summer residence of the Autro-Hungarian Ambassador to the US. We have been back every year since. The building is old, but well-maintained and spotlessly clean. Room prices are varied and reasonable. It is a short walk to downtown Bar Harbor and you can get to any place on the Island without having to drive through town. The real attraction for us is the Staff. Dan, the owner, and his loyal and wonderfully warm staff, Bobbi, Jill and Cecelia make us feel as if we have come home. The breakfasts include traditional blueberry pancakes, frittatas and omlets and fresh fruit as well as my favorite, Granola. We're already looking forward to next year.

Room Tip: Three stories, no elevaors. Staff will take your bags, but get a room on the first floor if you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B

Address: 39 Holland Avenue, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn Bed And Breakfast
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Castlemaine Inn B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.