We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayview

Save Saved
You added The Bayview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Utica, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just started planning my daughter's first trip to Maine next summer and there was no doubt in my mind we would be staying here again!! As if the amazing view from our room wasn't enough, the staff was excellent! They covered anything we needed our entire stay from dinner reservations, to recommendations, to going and getting us dinner from a local restaurant to driving us into town. It was by far the best hotel stay I've had.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you! We really appreciate these great reviews from our wonderful guests. It makes being hospitable so easy when people let you know that they like what we do! I hope you have already booked for next year. We take reservations year round and when you book early the chances are much better for getting a specific room. Everyone seems to have their own favorite! We look forward to welcoming you AND your daughter next year and thank you again for the glowing review. We hope to provide a repeat performance!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    62
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
159
286
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC Metro
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked our stay at the Bayview based on TripAdvisor reviews and recommendations and were rewarded with a terrific stay at a very comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel staffed by extremely personable, courteous, and helpful people. The Bayview is no Ritz Carlton but you're also not paying Ritz Carlton prices. What you are getting is excellent treatment, a fantastic breakfast, housemade cookies every day at 2:00 PM and a comfortable room with a beautiful waterfront view. In addition, the always-available SUV shuttle to downtown Bar Harbor is a convenient perk.

Room Tip: Request an upstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you! I am so pleased you were happy with the results of your research on TripAdvisor. It is always a gamble trying to find just what you want when traveling to a new area. I have said it many times that we can’t please everyone but it is never for lack of trying! From the moment a customer walks through our front doors we try to make their visit a special one. We aren’t the Ritz but we are attentive, kind, clean, and a beautiful and peaceful place to vacation. The perk of the shuttle is very well received, almost like the old bus slogan of “Leave the driving to us”! Our guests have made it very clear they do not like to search for parking downtown! Thank you again and please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I stayed here and loved the location, breakfast and staff. Only a mile and a third from Bar Harbor so you can walk, a shuttle service to Bar Harbor if you prefer, and close to an entrance to Acadia National Park made this hotel perfect for us. The staff is friendly and helpful in all ways, the double queen room we had was huge, including a nice balcony with bay view. Breakfast had a huge assortment, fresh delicious baked goodies,every day in the lobby at four.

Room Tip: We had lobby level floor, which was nice because there are no stairs to go up or down, but the balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much! I am always happy when someone comments on the location and especially pleased that you liked it all, location, breakfast and staff! The extra tip about the balcony was great. Sometimes people don't realize that we are built on a hill and have three floors of rooms. Even the first floor family room balconies are raised up a bit from the lawn. I appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that we may see you again someday! Happy guests are always welcome and appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third trip to Bar Harbor. The first two times we stayed in town. We were extremely pleased that we decided to give The Bayview a try. The view was spectacular and the breakfasts were generous. We didn't have the hum of tour buses every morning in our room. The front desk staff and the chef were very friendly. And ,you are just a bit closer to the entrance to the national park than when you stay in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Great review too!! Thank you for staying with us! We are pleased that you found our location was just what you were looking for. It is much quieter here than downtown. Some people like the hum of the traffic and the easy access to everything. Others come to an island to get away from that. The hustle and bustle is only a mile away but if peace and quiet is the goal than we are worlds apart! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was my husband's and my first experience visiting Bar Harbor. We could not have been more pleased with the reception and service we received at the Bayview. We were made to feel completely at home from checkin to checkout...not just by the front desk staff, but by housekeeping and everyone else with which we came into contact during our stay.

The hotel was impeccably clean. Our room was actually expansive... a wonderful view of Frenchman's Bay, and our bed was INCREDIBLY comfortable. This is the first hotel where we heve EVER had a room chair that was a recliner! After a long day of walking, my husband really appreciated a comfortable chair to watch the ballgame :)) Believe it or not, this is incredibly rare!!!

The breakfast at the Bayview, included in the reservation, was very good. The first morning we were there we were treated to spinach and mushroom or bacon and cheese casserole (frittata). There were many other options to choose from...oatmeal, waffles, croissants, muffins, danish, bagels, english muffins, and an assortment of fresh fruits...strawberries, pineapple, and melon. Our second day included the option of eggs benedict. Yum!

One of the major perks with this hotel is the free shuttle service to town...and free pickup on request. Our driver (Friday and Saturday) was wonderful and an excellent source of local information.

The only thing that would have made this vacation better would have been if our British laborator retriever could have made the trip with us. He's 85 ils of pure laid-back, friendly personality...a living Gund. I just don't think it's fair that any dog should be excluded because of weight (which is really more about breed than weight). Our dog would have LOVED the experience of Acadia National Park and downtown Bar Harbor...which seemed to be a very dog-friendly place.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a water (Frenchman's Bay) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you very much! That is exactly what we like to hear! I think you addressed almost every facet of The Bayview and I am glad we passed muster! The housekeepers do a tremendous job and as daunting as it must seem to them, it is always done with a smile. The breakfast....enough said! It is delicious! In your review you mentioned the two nights that you were here and that identifies the bellman's name to me as Rob. Rob is also a bus driver on the Acadia National Park Tours and he knows all about the area. He probably knows more of the local history than I do and I am a native! We are very pleased and lucky to have him here working with us. I am sorry about your dog. Pets are wonderful in my opinion. We don't accept pets here because of the property size. There are so many allergies and restrictions with travelers that we just didn't want to stop anyone that has these restrictions from coming here. As you mentioned, Bar Harbor is a very dog-friendly place. It isn't that we aren't friendly we just aren't set up in a manner that would work for everyone. I hope this won't stop you from returning, we would really like to welcome you back again. Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed at The Bayview at the beginning of our trip to Maine. The townhouse was clean, neatly appointed, and had all the kitchen utensils needed. There as a great view of the bay from the back deck. It worked great for the four of us. The breakfast, which was included in the price was wonderful. The husband and wife chefs have an abundance of offerings every morning. Pastries are made daily. Local blueberries are in the scones and other delicious treats. Doughnuts are a winner for the kids. Fresh fruit, breads with jam, oatmeal, stuffed French toast or a frittata are all served buffet style. A shuttle is provided by the hotel to take you to the downtown area. Make a reservation in advance. A washer and dryer was an added plus.

Room Tip: Townhouse 315 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Thank you! I am in total agreement that the town homes are just right for families and friends that travel together. It is like all the amenities of home with daily maid service! Then there is the mention of Nora and Matt. They do such a wonderful job and we are so happy to have them here. Just about everyone here has a "favorite day" and we wait for leftovers. They really know how to make us smile too! The shuttle has always been a big hit and just makes it so much easier for our guests. It sounds like you had a wonderful time and I hope that means we will see you back here again someday! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Now my family has been here for 7 years. It has been incredible staying here and cannot have been better. Everyone is so nice and their breakfast is free and the best hotel breakfast I have ever had. We will always go there when we can and I want everyone else to.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you Nathan! This was the nicest review ever! We liked having you and your family here with us. I don't know if we are the best in Maine but I do know that having guests like you makes us feel that way! I made sure to let the breakfast staff know just how happy you were too! We all hope that you and your family will return again and we will make sure breakfast is as good as you remember and then some! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.