We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, quiet, beautiful views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayview

Save Saved
You added The Bayview to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bayview
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Scarborough, Maine
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great service, quiet, beautiful views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Bayview in October for my birthday. It was a milestone birthday, and when we were led to our room, I opened the door to find a bottle of bubbly chilling, a birthday cake, and a vase full of red roses. My husband (who never does our travel planning) had arranged it all with the help of the staff at the Bayview. And I have to say, the cake was the best I've ever had, so the staff certainly knows the local bakers well!

You simply have to ask at the Bayview and you shall receive. From plates and silverware for our cake, to the on-demand shuttle into town (which works very well and makes it easy to go in and out of town), everything is taken care of. The room decor is very simple, so don't expect something super luxurious. It's the private balcony with its views, the quiet atmosphere, and the service (you don't have to worry about a thing because they've taken care of it all) that makes this place special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is a great for us to know that people do appreciate the extra touches we try to give and understand how important your vacation is to us. Perhaps we have a mutual admiration society going on here because we were all very impressed with your husband's advance planning too! I think you described us perfectly and we are all pleased that your milestone birthday was such a success! Please come back again when you want to celebrate, a happy occasion is always fun AND we would love to see what your husband comes up with next time! Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    456
    59
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
150
269
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The free shuttle was great as were the breakfasts. Our suite was well-appointed and (almost) bigger than our house...it's located on a busy street, so walking into town isn't so easy (see the free shuttle), but that also means it's quiet and restful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you! As a local I think the location is great too! I live downtown and really appreciate the peacefulness of being here on the water. The shuttle is always a hit, and I think our drivers are all so helpful and friendly. As for the food, I agree with you. I have always heard that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and we know we start our guests out right! I think you must have stayed in a townhouse and they are very large. I like the fact that everyone can stay together but there is always a spot you can go to and get away! Thank you again and please come back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zionsville, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had a terrific experience staying at the Bayview. The townhouse was perfect for my family with 2 young kids. We enjoyed all of the extra room and having a washer and dryer and full kitchen was quite handy. The shuttle was a great plus! We always had someone willing and ready to drive us to downtown. Al even drove me to the starting line of the MDI marathon at 7AM, which allowed my family to sleep in and catch up with me at the finish line.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you! We give you the credit for running in the Marathon, driving you down was a pleasure for Al. He and I had intended to do the half marathon but obviously that didn't happen! I totally agree with you about the town homes, they are great for families traveling that need the extra space and convenience of a home away from home . We all hope you return next year and run the marathon again too. It is a wonderful event at the perfect time of year. We really appreciate the lovely review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for a couple of nights in Sept 2012. We had a king room which was spacious, well fiurnished and had good sea views. Hotel is about a 25 minute walk from the centre of Bar Harbor, so a pleasant walk, or alternatively the hotel runs an on demand shuttle to & from town. Staff are very friendly and helpful and breakfasts are good. We would certainly stay here again if in Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for your great review. I am so pleased you said it was an enjoyable walk into town. I think it is a beautiful walk, not crowded and a pleasant interlude between our peace and quiet and the hustle and bustle of downtown. Regarding our friendly and helpful staff; I can honestly say we all enjoy what we do, even the Chef (I personally do not enjoy cooking so that always amazes me) likes what she does! Please come stay again, we would welcome you back any day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for a night in October and I was very sad that it was only for a night! Such a lovely hotel! The views are amazing and really cannot be beat and the rooms are simply charming! I loved the touch of the flowers in the bathrooms, so sweet!

When enjoying the balcony when getting to the room I even got treated to watching a family of deer frolic about 5 feet in front of our room, while we do have deer at home, nature is always beautiful, no matter the location. However on the oceanfront is even better ;) It was such a great way to welcome us to our stay!

Breakfast was another amazing treat, I was amazed by the delicious spread and felt the need to try a taste of everything and was sad when I got too full to try more! Delicious!

The location is perfect and just a hop from Bar Harbor.

The only downside was no elevators (that we knew of?) so we had to drag our suitcases down the stairs and back up. Not a big deal at all and I'm sure there was a bellhop that could have done for us but oh well!

I hope to visit again someday!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you! It's funny you talked about the deer. I pulled in this morning and there were three of them standing in the driveway! It is nice in the early morning to see them strolling the grounds. I am pleased you had such a nice time and wish you could have stayed more than one night too! I will pass along the kudos to the chef on breakfast . You are right, we have no elevator but we have bellmen and I wish we had helped you. That is one thing we want all of our guests to know, if you need anything just ask! Thank you again and please do come back !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

In late July my BF and I spent several nights at the Bayview.

Room: We had a king size bed in a large room. The room was very clean and had a WONDERFUL balcony overlooking the bay. We spent hours sitting on the balcony relaxing after a good hike.

Location: the Bayview is just outside of the center of Bar Harbor. It is easy to find and the hotel provides a free shuttle so you can avoid parking in downtown Bar Harbor. Parking in Bar Harbor can be hard to find in July & August.

Customer Service: the staff is incredible at the Bayview. Friendly and professional the staff provided so much information and assistance that I frequently went to them for questions. NOTE: I'm not usually that type of traveler - I usually find all the information I need about a place online and via guide books; I combined my research with the staff recommendations and the staff was spot on. Examples of great customer service: Bayview provided the car service immediately upon request for dinner as well as activities (we booked a sunset kayak trip). Bayview staff staff provided multiple dinner recommendations that were very good, including recommendations for late dinners. Bayview cleaning staff did an excellent job cleaning our room AND were VERY accommodating when we did our afternoon siestas (after hiking we wanted to shower and relax before the next excursion).

Breakfast: Breakfast had its high points and low points. Overall the food is average. There are many options for breakfast, but it was inconsistent. One day the food would be amazing, the next just so-so. The choices for breakfast are good: everyday there were hot items such as bacon, sausage, eggs, quiche; cold items such as creme with berries; and baked good such as home made Maine blue berry muffins, corn muffins, etc. Plenty of juices, teas, and coffee (I don't drink coffee). Get there early to have more choices and sit out on the balcony overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you very much for the great review. I love the balconies too! We added them on almost 20 years after the hotel was built and what a difference they make! So close to the water, so peaceful and quiet, so relaxing! It is great that with all your activities you were still able to find the time and relax! I also appreciate your comments on the staff. We try to treat our guests the way we would want to be treated and realize that being helpful and pleasant makes a great vacation and work environment for everyone! A true win/win situation. I also appreciate your feedback on the breakfast. We know the importance of consistency and I have no doubt that the staff will make it happen! Thank you for staying with us and we hope you will come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

*****Our four (4) day stay at "The Bayview" was a definite five (5) star***** experience. The entire staff was very friendly, attentive, helpful and outgoing. The breakfast was awesome and the head Chef and her staff were extremely friendly and accomodating. The front desk staff and hotel drivers were also very friendly further contributing to our awesome expirience at the "Bayview Hotel" during our visit to Bar Harbour Maine. The room was very clean, comfortable and the view of the Bay was a plus. We will definitely be visiting Maine again and our lodging will be at "The Bayview", in that, it was worth every penny*****

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you very much for the lovely review! It certainly speaks volumes about your experience and each one of our staff will be very pleased when they read it. I find that the more years I do this, the more difficult it can be to please everyone. We all know that is a daunting, if not impossible,task for all! We feel very lucky to have the staff that we do and even luckier to have guests that appreciate it and take the time to write about it! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.