We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and restful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayview

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Bayview
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Quiet and restful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent Friday to Monday here for our 31st anniversary. I forgot my camera charger and they pulled out a box of electronic stuff that guests had left and one of them worked perfectly with my camera! The staff really went out of their way to help with any thing we needed from recommendations to reservations. Nice view of the bay from our room. Small hotel with personal attention given.The breakfast that was included was outstanding every day! They have a free shuttle that will take you downtown so you don't have to worry about parking. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for the very nice review. You pointed out the personal attention you received while you were here and that is what we are all about. We may seem outdated to some, too far to walk or not lively enough for others but I don't think anyone has ever said we didn't try our best. We just want our guests to relax and enjoy the view. It sounds to me like your anniversary was just right. 31 years of wedded bliss and a great vacation to boot! Life is good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

487 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    422
    54
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
243
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Bayview recently while visiting Bar Harbor and were at the hotel just a day or two before they closed up for the season.

You might think the service would slip with things closing down? Not a chance.

The staff was superb. Reception was timely, efficient and pleasant. Al helped take our bags up to our room, Russ the bartender gave us lots of good advice and
shuttled us to dinner and back and the morning breakfast was scrumptous with many choices.

Our room was immaculate with a beautiful view of the bay, firm and comfortable bed, hdtv, nice bath and plenty of space.

Stay at the Bayview and you too will vote it #1!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
That was a great review! We all tend to think as the season winds down that we could start winding down too. Then we remember that the last guest to leave is just as important as the first guest to arrive and we make sure all of our guests feel special!! I hope you come back again some day. I like ending our season on a high note with guests that make it a pleasure to be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Loved our room what a beautiful view of water and harbor. Get location a few miles from Bar Harbor. Great to go to Acadia National Park entrance just down the road. Breakfast was always good had cookies at front desk in afternoon. Very helpful front desk. Would love to go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Great guests too! Thank you for the lovely review. It has been a wonderful fall, and we have had terrific guests all season. We would love to have you come back again. Happy guests like you make for a very pleasant work environment and that keeps everyone happy! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Maine's wondrous fall colors, bright, crisp days and bounteous lobsters by themselves are worth the trip "down east", but add to that a stay at The Bayview, and you will want for nothing. What a welcoming, cosy, well-appointed property! A tasteful, homey decor and the most attentive staff you can imagine will make you reluctant to leave, but anxious to return. Large, comfy rooms with ocean-view decks, perfectly maintained; a lavish buffet breakfast in what could be your own dining room at home. Coffee and tea available throughout the day and evening, with baked goods in the afternoon. Shuttle service whenever you need it both ways to area restaurants so you may leave your car at the hotel and not have to fret over a parking space. Special packages are available during the season, so look no further. You won't get better value than The Bayview.

Room Tip: No elevators in this three story building, so if you have walking difficulties, specify a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you! I could hire you to do our PR work, you said it all! I especially like the fact that you are anxious to return and expect to see you here again. It has been a beautiful fall, the colors have been spectacular and even the wind and rain didn't ruin it! Now we are at the end of our season, it will be very quiet around here but we all look forward to next spring. Please do come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

To Celebrate our 51st. Ann. a one night treat after attending a cfo. retreat at South West Harbor.
I f I had to pick one outstanding Joy it would be the breakfast. Never have I seen such a beautifully presented and Delicious assortment. Not to Mention Fresh baked Unusual cookies available at 4. This baker must be German.(:)
Our view was extraordinary ,My only regret is that we could only stay One Night.
The staff was extremely friendly.This Is a place I would send anyone .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I think you said it all! So many times when I respond to our reviews I actually remember the guest that wrote it. You came in with a smile and that could be because it was your 51st anniversary and you had just come from a lovely retreat. You left with a smile and a recipe. Pretty good recipe until you realized she forgot to tell you about the flour! It was a good laugh for all of us. Thank you and we really appreciate your kind words! Perhaps we will see you again for your 52nd anniversary!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I were passing through Bar Harbor and we were lucky enough to get a room at Bayview. Staff was very helpful and extremely nice from the moment we arrived. The location is the best and the view is awesome. The room was extremely well kept and very roomy. The breakfast was outstanding and they even drove my wife and I downtown to eat and came back to pick us up. Everyone was very professional couldn't ask for a better place to rest and relax. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I love responding to reviews like yours! You were very matter of fact and detailed, just telling it like it is. So, we feel lucky that we welcomed you as our guests! Please come back again and we will aim for a repeat performance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A cut above the rest of the lodging in Bar Harbor which is mostly motels. Here the room is spacious, a balcony looked out on the water and you are walking distance from downtown (although the way back is uphill and there's always the hotel shuttle).
Staff is helpful and friendly, probably the greatest asset of The Bayview. There is not much in the way of grounds other than the parking lot and no fitness room, none needed as most likely you will be hiking in Acadia National Park, boating or biking.
The dining room is breakfast only but what an excellent breakfast. A couple of hot covered dishes changed every day, French toast one time and a very good egg scramble with sliced sausage another. However the highlight is the baking, from the homemade doughnuts for breakfast to the cookies that show up at the reception desk every afternoon: chocolate chip with dates, strawberry strudel, lemony shortbread with those tasty tiny Maine blueberries. They should market these and sell them all over the country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I agree with everything you said and thank you! It is our staff that is our greatest asset but good food, spectacular views and clean, comfortable surroundings don't hurt either! You are so right about the fitness room. We figure the walk up to our pool combined with the trails of Acadia provide plenty of exercise! We are proud of what we offer and are pleased you found it a "cut above"! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Hotel
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine
Address: 111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Bayview to your Saves list