We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice in Bar Harbor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bayview

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Bayview to your Saves list
The Bayview
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Good choice in Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

A cut above the rest of the lodging in Bar Harbor which is mostly motels. Here the room is spacious, a balcony looked out on the water and you are walking distance from downtown (although the way back is uphill and there's always the hotel shuttle).
Staff is helpful and friendly, probably the greatest asset of The Bayview. There is not much in the way of grounds other than the parking lot and no fitness room, none needed as most likely you will be hiking in Acadia National Park, boating or biking.
The dining room is breakfast only but what an excellent breakfast. A couple of hot covered dishes changed every day, French toast one time and a very good egg scramble with sliced sausage another. However the highlight is the baking, from the homemade doughnuts for breakfast to the cookies that show up at the reception desk every afternoon: chocolate chip with dates, strawberry strudel, lemony shortbread with those tasty tiny Maine blueberries. They should market these and sell them all over the country!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
I agree with everything you said and thank you! It is our staff that is our greatest asset but good food, spectacular views and clean, comfortable surroundings don't hurt either! You are so right about the fitness room. We figure the walk up to our pool combined with the trails of Acadia provide plenty of exercise! We are proud of what we offer and are pleased you found it a "cut above"! Please come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    63
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
165
309
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oberlin, LA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here October 12-13, 2012 while visiting Acadia National Park. The motel was beautiful and all rooms face the water. Staff were great and really helpful. The Bayview is not close to Bar Harbor, but they provide shuttle service. The morning breakfast was fantastic. Coffee was offered until 10 PM.

The rooms were expertly furnished and with nice amenities (microwave and refrig). Each room had it own balcony facing the water.

Room rate expensive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. I am really glad you had such a nice time. It is true that you pay more to be on the water, and there are many beautiful hotels in Bar Harbor that aren’t on the water. Some people only want a room with a view and that is all we have. All our hotel rooms are 75 feet from the water; our town homes are 480 feet from the water and look out over the hotel to the water. Combine that with no resort fees, no parking fee, no street view, just water and it doesn’t seem so bad! I hope you will return again and I hope you will be just as pleased with the accommodations. We will be very glad to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We are so glad that we decided to stay here, based on past Tripadvisor reviews. We were not dissappointed!! The staff really is terrific. They are the largest collection of friendly and helpful people in one hotel, that we have ever experienced. I went to a conference that was being held at the Harborside Hotel and Marina, but we decided to stay at The Bayview, based on all the great reviews.
The Bayview is only about 3 minutes from downtown Bar Harbor, but is a quiet, beautiful, and relaxing retreat. The shuttle that takes you anywhere in town and then picks you back up was so helpful. You can enjoy yourself at dinner, shopping, etc., without having to worry about trying to find a parking spot that would be a good walking distance from your destination. The drivers were always very helpful and pleasant.

The front desk staff was always helpful and nice. They will give you a map with most of the restaurants around town and many of them have their menus printed in the booklet, too. The fresh cookies and dessert snacks available every afternoon and evening were delicious! It was a nice treat after a day of hiking in Acadia or just shopping around downtown Bar Harbor.

Our room was very spacious and it was so relaxing to sit on the balcony, with the beautiful view of the ocean. We would occasionally hear and see a loon floating on the water.

Every morning we would eat at the breakfast buffet. We loved to sit and eat on the balcony. The food was always delicious. Rebecca, the chef, is a great chef and hilrarious! We enjoyed chatting and laughing with her every morning as she would bring us fresh muffins. It was a great spread of a variety of foods from scones, muffins, biscuits, cereal, fruit and yogurt parfaits, bacon, french toast, pancakes, quiche, etc. I had never tried eggs benedict before, but let me tell you, it was so good! My husband loved it so much, he had three. I also enjoyed being able to have authentic seaweed salad every morning. It was a real treat. If you really want to make Rebecca laugh or roll her eyes, just ask her what is in the seaweed salad. (Apparently some people don't know)

Room Tip: Book early as the king bed rooms get filled up quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your very detailed and positive review! It was great fun to read and I am sure Rebbeka got a real kick out of it. We are all on board with making sure our guests feel special when they are here and happy to be here! You certainly let us know that is just what you experienced. I am glad you found the time to sit on your balcony and with the colors this season so spectacular it is even better. The backdrop of the blue water with the maple on our front lawn is so pretty. We all hope you get to return someday. We will keep the shuttle running for you and maybe you will be able to come just to vacation and not work. For whatever reason you return, we hope to see you again at The Bayview!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had a wonderful time at The Bayview. The view of the bay from our balcony was beautiful. The room was huge and comfortable. Most of all, the staff was tremendous, making excellent restaurant recommendations and reservations. They have a shuttle that will take you anywhere in town and then pick you up when you call. We never waited more than 10 minutes. Highly recommend!!!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you! I honestly think our staff is our biggest asset although that ocean view is pretty popular too! I know that everyone that works here understands what the "hospitality" industry is and since so many of us have been here for so many years it all feels like family! We want our guests to feel at home, we want them to relax and most importantly we want them to have a terrific vacation. We haven't always pleased everyone but we do try! I am very glad you had such a nice time! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
129 hotel reviews
Reviews in 129 cities Reviews in 129 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Staying at this hotel is one of our best experiences. The room is huge and spotless, with gorgeous view from the balcony. The public space (both indoor and outdoor) are disproportionately big for a 26 room hotel. The breakfast was wonderful. We will come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you! As I have stated many times there are so many wonderful places to stay in the area that we are thrilled to be # 1. We also know that should that change it will only be because everyone in the area really wants to show their hospitality flair! I am so pleased that you had such a nice time. Everyone that works here does take pride in their work and when guests write reviews like yours we know that our efforts are truly appreciated! Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sacramento, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just wanted to confirm all the positive comments. Best things were the free shuttle, friendly staff, great breakfast, quiet location overlooking the bay. It doesn't hurt that that the whole island is absolutly gorgeous. Where else can you find such a stunning meeting of mountain and ocean? A world class national park surrounds charming villages with thier great restaurants and inns.
We followed Trip Advisor advice and went the third week in September, no problems with crowds, nice weather, a little fall color and everything still open. One of the best trips we have ever done!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
How right you are! It sure doesn't hurt to be located on this absolutely gorgeous island. Those of us that live here sometimes forget to actually "look around" and enjoy it. Thank you very much for your positive review too! It has been a beautiful fall and I think you did pick a wonderful window to travel in. I will tell you though that the colors this week have been spectacular and even on the rainy days driving through some of the birch groves and maple areas has been like driving in sunshine! Please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Bayview is a wonderful and welcoming place to stay. The rooms are spacious, meticulously clean and the view from our balcony was fabulous. Everyone who works there are super friendly and accommodating to your every need. They gladly make dinner reservations for you and will even drive you there. We will definitely be returning and would highly recommend this if you want a perfect stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trish04609, Manager at The Bayview, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
And we loved having you! I can't say enough how lucky I feel to have the staff we have AND how great the guests have been. We know you can't please everyone all the time but we also know that the effort to try is worth it! Please come back again. We try to make everything we do a "good habit" so our intention is the second time around will be as good, if not better, than the first! Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Bayview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bayview

Address: 111 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bayview 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Personalized friendly service, peaceful and quiet setting, spectacular views, close to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Spacious oceanfront hotel rooms with balconies, some family friendly, or larger two and three bedroom townhomes and house. Expanded continental breakfast, pool, shuttle service, fresh baked cookies, lounge and limited wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your The Bayview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
Bayview Bar Harbor
Bayview Hotel Bar Harbor
The Bayview Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bayview, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.