We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable & friendly hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
Save
You added Bass Cottage Inn to your Saves list
14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geelong
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Hospitable & friendly hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Made very welcome by Terri & Geoff, even though we checked in rather early. The Inn is quiet & peaceful & less than 100 meters from the main street. There was a large, very comfortable bed & the room was spacious & tastefully furnished.
Great advice was given for our travels around the island & breakfast was very good.
Only minus was a ventilation system that came on at cyclone level at 3am!
WE asked for this to be moderated & it was less the next night, still noisy however.
Perhaps this had something to do with us being on the top floor & the lack of flue for the gas heaters?

Room Tip: perhaps avoid level 3?
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    21
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
28
385
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There isn't much to say that hasn't been said. The staff will make you feel most welcome and offer as little or much info as you want. The accommodations are very good, excellent bed and breakfasts were outstanding. It is convenient to local shopping and restaurants as you can walk there as opposed to driving in the congested area. Very close to water and a nice walk. They do it right at Bass Cottage Inn.

Room Tip: Room #2 was lovely and private from other rooms. While the bathroom wasn't spacious the room mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolfeboro, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in late August for two nights while we explored Acadia National Park. After looking at the website for many hotels in the area, we were a little nervous about any hotel in the Bar Harbor area being of the caliber we're used to. We finally decided on the Bass Cottage Inn and boy were we happy when we arrived. They've done such a remarkable job restoring this old building. We both tremendously enjoyed our stay here. The home-cooked food they served for breakfast was fantastic! But the most memorable thing about our hole experience there has to be Terri, Jeff and the staff in general. Everyone was so pleasant, friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the area; a big help to both my wife and me. We tend to stay at 5-star hotels wherever we go, and if you care about the decor of the place you're staying in, the food you eat and the service you receive, then save yourself some time on the internet looking around at other places and just stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay at the Bass Cottage Inn was nothing less than spectacular. The beautiful historical home was meticulously restored to absolute perfection. The bedrooms had fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, and the softest bedding I've ever experienced. The living areas had fireplaces and were perfect for socializing with the other guests or just reading a good book. I particularly loved the sun porch whether the sun was shining or raining. The location of the Inn was great because we were just blocks away from the Bar Harbor Shops, restaurants, and the Ocean. We were blessed to have stayed at the Inn for 7 nights with my sister and brother-in-law. It was so relaxing and Jeff and Teri (the owners) and their staff took exceptional care of us. The breakfast each morning was to die for. I highly recommend taking the Lighthouse Tour. We left the Bass Cottage Inn refreshed with great memories that we made, not only of the time we spent in this beautiful part of New England, but with our new friends, Jeff and Teri. Lord willing, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: The Corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were going to stay at another B&B but they did not have a room for a second night and referred us here. We were so glad they did. After staying in many B&B's all over, we can say they truly thought of everything. From the decor, the rooms, the service, the sitting rooms with fireplaces, and especially the breakfasts...it was all exceptional and very tasteful. Terry and Jeff are gracious hosts. Everyday they have a treat waiting in the coffee room that is homemade. Our first breakfast was blueberry belgian waffles. The second day we had creme brulee french toast (so yummy) and a crustless quiche that was amazing. Bar Harbor shops and restaurants are all within walking distance and so convenient. It is worth the trip back just to stay here.

Room Tip: The house has three floors and no elevator. Would recommend staying on the bottom if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Bass Cottage Inn last week for 3 days. This B&B represents the absolute top of the hill when compared to other properties. The rooms are comfortable, Teri and Jeff, the owners, are engaging and extremely helpful. The central meeting areas are open and enjoyable and afford one the opportunity to meet up with other guests and compare notes. The food is quite good and the amenities first rate. The location is right in the middle of town so one can walk to most restaurants. I can't praise this Inn highly enough. Just go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Better book far in advance to get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Bass Cottage Inn is a beautifully restored heritage home offering the complete package of modern convenience with old world charm. My room on the top floor had a spacious, new washroom and plenty of area beautifully decorated in a manner to suit the ambience of the inn. The bed was tucked into the dormer and definitely offered the softest and most welcoming mattress I have ever experienced - just like a giant hug. Everything was spotless.
The Bass Cottage Inn has several sitting areas each with a fireplace, and one of the most pleasant parts of our trip to Bar Harbour was cozying up in front of one of these after we returned from supper at Cafe This Way (which I would also recommend) to chat and savour a homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookie, which was offered in the Pantry to all guests.
I think "warmth" is the one-word descriptor I would use for this inn - from the room itself to the fireplaces to the personalities of the inn-keepers, Terri and Jeff. We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast and when I was torn between the delicious offerings, Terri suggested I might like to sample the blueberry waffles at the end of my meal as a breakfast "dessert". Terri and Jeff are the perfect hosts with the genuine warmth and interest in their guests that is so NOT present in a Marriott or Sofitel. There is a pride of ownership apparent in all the little extras and the attention to detail that I think one only gets staying in a personal residence with friends or family - maybe that's the final word on the Bass Cottage Inn: it felt like I was staying with people who really cared about me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#9 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 951 reviews
1.2 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
Hampton Inn Bar Harbor
#2 of 42 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#13 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
0.0 mi away
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
Yellow House Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 34 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.