We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as B&B gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
nashville
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“As good as B&B gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at Bass Cottage Inn last week for 3 days. This B&B represents the absolute top of the hill when compared to other properties. The rooms are comfortable, Teri and Jeff, the owners, are engaging and extremely helpful. The central meeting areas are open and enjoyable and afford one the opportunity to meet up with other guests and compare notes. The food is quite good and the amenities first rate. The location is right in the middle of town so one can walk to most restaurants. I can't praise this Inn highly enough. Just go and enjoy.

Room Tip: Better book far in advance to get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
323
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

The Bass Cottage Inn is a beautifully restored heritage home offering the complete package of modern convenience with old world charm. My room on the top floor had a spacious, new washroom and plenty of area beautifully decorated in a manner to suit the ambience of the inn. The bed was tucked into the dormer and definitely offered the softest and most welcoming mattress I have ever experienced - just like a giant hug. Everything was spotless.
The Bass Cottage Inn has several sitting areas each with a fireplace, and one of the most pleasant parts of our trip to Bar Harbour was cozying up in front of one of these after we returned from supper at Cafe This Way (which I would also recommend) to chat and savour a homemade oatmeal chocolate chip cookie, which was offered in the Pantry to all guests.
I think "warmth" is the one-word descriptor I would use for this inn - from the room itself to the fireplaces to the personalities of the inn-keepers, Terri and Jeff. We enjoyed a gourmet breakfast and when I was torn between the delicious offerings, Terri suggested I might like to sample the blueberry waffles at the end of my meal as a breakfast "dessert". Terri and Jeff are the perfect hosts with the genuine warmth and interest in their guests that is so NOT present in a Marriott or Sofitel. There is a pride of ownership apparent in all the little extras and the attention to detail that I think one only gets staying in a personal residence with friends or family - maybe that's the final word on the Bass Cottage Inn: it felt like I was staying with people who really cared about me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at this wonderful inn. Everything was perfect.
Our room was beautiful, spotless and comfortable. The inn keepers
and their staff were incredibly helpful in every way. There are many
different common areas so you can sit and read comfortably downstairs
if you so desire. The "pantry" is stocked with complimentary sodas,
ice tea, coffee and tea along with fruit and the best cookies ever.
So, this is the place to stay in Bar Harbor. Oh, and I forgot to
mention the breakfast...oh my...each day different and absolutely
the best breakfasts we have ever had. The pastries are incredible.
And, all this in a very, very convenient location right in downtown....
yet it was quiet. Thank you to the inn keepers for creating this
very special experience for us.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed two nights in this beautiful old summer mansion. The hosts are friendly and professional and very helpful with suggestions for dinner, etc. The breakfast were delicious! lt rained the two days we were there but the common areas provide plenty of comfortable places to read and relax and the "pantry" always had hot and cold drinks and cookies to make life better. One can walk to all of the downtown areas in Bar Harbor from here. The rooms are well equipped and the beds so comfortable!

Room Tip: Room # 7 is the smallest of the rooms...very small. However it is very comfortablely arranged and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les-Loges-en-Josas, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Little more I can add to the glowing reviews of this place. It is an elegant, calm heaven in a prime location. The place is immaculate, the owners, Terri & Jeff, friendly and attentive. The breakfast was delicious, with the cinnamon and toffee scones being a big hit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a fairly critical person, there is really no room to complain here. The Inn has been lovingly restored saving its original splendor. The owners care about serving their guests and do a fine job. Not only a critical traveler, but a cleanliness freak, we could truly eat off the floor: it was spotless. Hurray to the staff!! The breakfast offers 3 choices each day and you can not go wrong with any of them. They are all ambrosia. The Inn is just a block off the main drag in Bar Harbor, and a short walk anywhere. Suan is there in the afternoon and evening, and is a wealth of local knowledge, and so refreshing to talk with also. She can answer about any question you may have. So, you may sacrifice the harbor view for an awesome Inn. I would caution a tall person, as we had Room 7, and bonked our heads a couple of times on the dormers. This room is their coziest, I think, and was the only one available in our time frame. Next time, I will take a room on floor 1 or 2 !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came here because of the Trip Advisor rating and we were not disappointed. The Inn is close enough to the village center to do all exploring, shopping, dining within an easy footwalks distance, yet it is remote enough to be quiet and secluded. We liked that each room is styled and equipped differently. The breakfast was inventive, but not rich, and to us a bit too much on the "healthy" side. Service was excellent, staff very helpful.

Room Tip: if stairs do not bother you go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bass Cottage Inn to your Saves list