We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Service, Style & Comfort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bass Cottage Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bass Cottage Inn
14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Les-Loges-en-Josas, France
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Exceptional Service, Style & Comfort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Little more I can add to the glowing reviews of this place. It is an elegant, calm heaven in a prime location. The place is immaculate, the owners, Terri & Jeff, friendly and attentive. The breakfast was delicious, with the cinnamon and toffee scones being a big hit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    19
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
24
324
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
orlando
Top Contributor
292 reviews 292 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
187 helpful votes 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

As a fairly critical person, there is really no room to complain here. The Inn has been lovingly restored saving its original splendor. The owners care about serving their guests and do a fine job. Not only a critical traveler, but a cleanliness freak, we could truly eat off the floor: it was spotless. Hurray to the staff!! The breakfast offers 3 choices each day and you can not go wrong with any of them. They are all ambrosia. The Inn is just a block off the main drag in Bar Harbor, and a short walk anywhere. Suan is there in the afternoon and evening, and is a wealth of local knowledge, and so refreshing to talk with also. She can answer about any question you may have. So, you may sacrifice the harbor view for an awesome Inn. I would caution a tall person, as we had Room 7, and bonked our heads a couple of times on the dormers. This room is their coziest, I think, and was the only one available in our time frame. Next time, I will take a room on floor 1 or 2 !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We came here because of the Trip Advisor rating and we were not disappointed. The Inn is close enough to the village center to do all exploring, shopping, dining within an easy footwalks distance, yet it is remote enough to be quiet and secluded. We liked that each room is styled and equipped differently. The breakfast was inventive, but not rich, and to us a bit too much on the "healthy" side. Service was excellent, staff very helpful.

Room Tip: if stairs do not bother you go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

We just left the inn after a 4 night stay. Our 4th visit to the Bar Harbor area we booked far ahead, in January, because the combination of luxury accommodations and a water view (essential to us) are few and sell out early. Room 4, The Captain's Suite promised HARBOR VIEWS in boldface on the website. When we were shown to our room upon checking by an employee, the innkeeper not present, the view had long ago been obstructed by overgrown foliage. At breakfast the next morning, our first chance to discuss with with the innkeeper, not only did she refuse to acknowledge this false advertising, but with a sugar-sweet smile said "I don't want anyone to stay here who doesn't want to be here. Where else would you like to stay? Let me see what I can do.". We did not want to waste our vacation days in a fruitless search and her somewhat ominous tone told us we were treading on thin ice and might be asked to leave. It was like being in the Twilight Zone. we decided to again express our dissatisfaction at check out. she absolutely refused to discuss it, preferring to characterize us as rude, curt to staff and unwelcome to return at any time. Her fury was barely contained. We have traveled all over the world for more than 30 years and we just astounded at this treatment. She said she expected me to "flame her".

I trust TripAdvisor reviews and rarely post, althought I use the site extensively for research before travel. we are now enjoying our harborside room at the Grand Harbor Inn in Camden, our second visit there. We are enjoying a glorious view.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BassCottage, Owner at Bass Cottage Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
The staff and management at The Bass Cottage Inn conduct ourselves and perform our services in a respectful, joyful and grateful spirit of fellowship. This is reflected in the hundreds of positive guest experiences you’ll see described on this site. 99.99% of our visitors are happy to be on vacation, in a beautiful state and staying in a beautiful, comfortable inn.

In response to this very disappointed and unhappy guest we, too, regret the unrelenting demands, withering criticism and aggressive tone which was evidently an implicit condition of accepting this party's reservation. We went out of our way to make this guest feel welcome. When it became clear she was implacable we offered to refund her money and find her another accommodation. She refused.

It should be known that all members of our team -- from the owners to staff -- were subjected to an unreasonable level of rudeness and disrespect that was unacceptable and these guests were informed that they will be not welcome at this establishment in the future. In nine years of inn-keeping this is the only time we have taken this step and hope to never do so again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We recently returned from a week at the Bass Cottage Inn. The Inn has been restored to provide a historic, peaceful setting with modern amenities. We selected this place because it did not have the lacy victorian, heavy interior like a number of other Bar Harbor accommodations. It was amazingly quiet and intimate, while located just off of Main Street.
We were primarily visiting for a hiking vacation, and very much enjoyed the comfort the inn provided. Jeff and Terri, the owners, were wonderful hosts, knowing when to offer auggestions and when to leave you alone. They are knowledgeable about the area and can offer excellent suggestions for a strenuous hike or a wonderful day trip that is perfect for any traveler. The common rooms provide so many places to curl up with a book, fireside or without.
The food....well, this was truly the added amazing treat every day. Breakfasts are offered each morning and each day was a treat. They offer homemade granola each day, but the sweet and savory breakfasts were all excellent. From lobster souffle to french toast, and the fresh muffins -
we enjoyed every bite. The Inn pantry room is always available for fresh coffee and tea all day and night. And each evening you will find a special tasty fresh-baked treat, like cookies, etc. The staff are also wonderful, including the servers and Susan, who greets you upon check in.
The entire trip was great- we will recommend this inn to anyone, loved the whole trip.
(Although this review is about the inn, Acadia Nat Park is spectacular. Its a free shuttle away, if you walk 2 blocks from the inn to the town green. The park is remarkably accessible to visitors of all ages and physical capabilitties.)

Room Tip: Some rooms have working fireplaces- others, it is not working- just check upon booking if this is im...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a few nights in Room #5 for our honeymoon. Bass Cottage is very charming and made for a comfortable stay. The inn keepers, Teri & Jeff were wonderful and attentive to all our needs. The many staff members were extremely helpful in assisting us to find great places for our lunch and dinner needs. We certainly will go back and recommend to our friends and family, you simply must spend a night here. Let the owners and staff know you needs and they'll make your stay a relaxing one. Cheers!

Though not mentioned a lot in the many posts on here. Room #5 is small and very comfortable, glimpses of the harbor... only due to the growth of the trees around. We only wished we could have stayed longer. Also Bass Cottage is in an excellent location within walking distance of all the shops and a wonderful Shore Path. We walked nightly on the Shore Path finding it to be great to walk down Main Street and strole back along the path to return to Bass Cottage for a lovely evening.

Room Tip: We've only been in Room #5, it was nice plenty of light. No trouble opening the windows to let i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We recently visited Bar Harbor and stayed one night in an oceanfront room at the Bar Harbor Inn, and then moved to the Bass Cottage Inn for our second night. While the Bar Harbor Inn was nice, Bass Cottage Inn blew it away! The inn was a charming Victorian offering modern day amenities. The furnishings were gorgeous, and the beds were so comfortable. As others have noted, you have three choices for breakfast which is made to order. Breakfast was almost as phenomenal as the plush beds!
Save some money and stay here over the big hotels! The hospitality and amenities will make you glad you stayed here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bass Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bass Cottage Inn

Address: 14 The Field, PO Box 242, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern. Maine. Classic. Bar Harbor's finest boutique inn. Yankee Magazine "Best of New England / Editors' Choice" award winner. Member of the Diamond Collection. Bar Harbor's premier luxury inn featuring sophisticated, elegant accommodations and gourmet breakfasts. Located steps from the waterfront, shopping, restaurants and just minutes from Acadia National Park. Fireplaces, whirlpool tubs and free WiFi. Open mid-May through end of October each year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bass Cottage Hotel Bar Harbor
Bass Cottage Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bass Cottage Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bass Cottage Inn to your Saves list