We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice even for a motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bar Harbor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice even for a motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Bar Harbor has limited options and the Bar Harbor Motel was a very, very pleasant surprise. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean and well appropriated. You will want to be out and about in Acadia anyway so having a clean room with a comfortable bed and warm shower was all I needed and they exceeded my expectations. Would stay again and recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
"Exceed expectations" is a phrase the owner is constantly telling us. It is becoming our mantra and when a guest feels this way (as you did) we know we have done our job. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    577
    318
    45
    8
    0
See reviews for
441
286
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mill Valley, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family of 5 had a great stay in the Bar Harbor Motel, using the motel as a great base from which to visit the town, see Accadia and see the area. Their breakfast was good with variety and well-stocked. The employees at the front desk were very accommodating and helpful. The rooms were clean and spacious.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you. We're pleased that you and your family were pleased. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very clean motel. We used laundry, which was pretty good. Convenient shuttle bus to downtown Bar Harbor (we used it both nights) raised it to very good. And reasonably priced. Pool area is very nice. Staff was helpful and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack S, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We agree. The Acadia Shuttle is a very useful tool for getting into and out of Bar Harbor and for traveling to other parts of the island and the national park, and it regularly stops right in front of out motel. Thanks for the gracious review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoneham, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed four nights and were very happy with the location and how helpful the staff were and the great breakfast. We have been going to Bar Harbor for more then ten years and this is for us the best place we have found all things considered.

Room Tip: Staying close to the office makes going to breakfast easier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing us again on your holiday. We feel very fortunate that you continue to stay with us despite the myriad of choices available here in Bar Harbor. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location, convenient to downtown Bar Harbor and Acadia Park. Free bus service to and from these areas made it very convenient. Complimentary breakfast was decent. The rooms were clean but very basic. The bathroom sink and vanity were open to the bedroom which did not allow for privacy. The pool was great. All in all I would recommend this motel, especially to families as it was very affordable.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room where the bathroom sink is not part of the bedroom, for privacy. There are al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for your review. As a note to other readers, some of our bathrooms have the sink outside the shower area, most do not. If it is important to you to have the sink in the bathroom please ask when you make your reservation and we will accommodate that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was great value in the price versus quality of room, hotel location etc. Aaron at the front desk was very knowledgeable about the hotel and area. This was one of 6 locations service by the free, frequent bus service to city center.

Room Tip: Top of the hill has minimal hotel traffic, access to carriage roads
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Value again! Two reviews in a row. Thank you for the generous review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights in Aug 2014 in a large two room unit. The beds were comfortable and rooms were cleaned. Staff was VERY friendly. They had tea, coffee or lemonade in the lobby at all times. Breakfast was nice and fresh: hardboiled eggs, yougart, blueberry muffins, bagels (blueberry), toast, english muffins, cereal, coffee, tea, juice. Location was nice and quite but a little too far too walk to town, we took the car and always found parking in town.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
It's all about value. You're title "Worth the Money" is the best review we can ever get. When a guest feels they received value for their dollar spent then we have done our job. Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King, 2 Queens or 2 Double beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.