We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish could have stayed longer!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wish could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

So when we travel with our kids we normally hit the chains and find a deal with free breakfast. But there is no such thing in Bar Harbor, Maine. So we used the rank the hotels at tripadvisor and looked for the one that rates high but priced reasonable ( $150/nt). BINGO Bar Harbor Motel! DOUBLE BONUS : They offer a continental breakfast. This method never fails! We called and talked to Amanda and Kate to reassure that they were kid friendly and they provided the lay of the land and proximity to the entrance to Acadia ( less then a mile up the road and also entrance in the back of the property). Our kids loved the friendly folks at the front desk. First impression of the room was 1970 Holiday Inn. When you walk into the bathroom you are in a trendy boutique hotel. They had the best soaps and lotions of any hotel we stayed at on a 12 day trip. They even had a black hand towel for make up removal ! They had a heat lamp a fan and a night light in the bathroom. Amazing. We did laundry and only place we went that all the machines were working whole trip! Only complaint was the only place you can get wifi was sitting right up against the front windows of the room.

Room Tip: Pool is in front of complex and rooms near there are very close to pool and park and breakfast hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Great idea for finding the place you want at the price you want. Glad you chose us and that we were able to exceed most of your expectations and by the sounds of it even did a little better in some aspects than the chain hotels you stayed on during your trip. We appreciate the kind words and hopefully will see you and your family again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    344
    47
    8
    0
See reviews for
456
339
21
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Fast check-in, I stayed in the back so the room was so quiet. That was wonderful for me.
Front desk was very helpful and told us a lot of information. It was very close to Acadia National Park. We got up early to say the first sun rise in USA.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Glad you and your family had a pleasant stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We rented 2 family rooms at this Motel and were very please with our experience. While the price is a bit high (as you can expect for any place in Bar Harbor), the rooms are kept clean and the customer service is very nice. We will definitely consider this place again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the property to get some quiet time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for the kind words. Please consider us again in the future if you and your family come back to Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We've stayed at this place twice before and we will probably stay here again, but I will definitely asked to be booked in a different section of the motel. This time we were on units that had carpeting over cement and it smelled very musty and caused my allergies to act up. Overall this place is good -- a great location, friendly and courteous staff, good amenities, etc., but this stay wasn't as pleasant as previous ones. To be fair, when I told someone about the smell, they did send someone right away to spray and to run a dehumidifier, but it didn't get rid of all of the mustiness.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We do know about this problem (see previous review and response) and we are aware that some people are more sensitive to it than others. But let us say that even though two people back to back have mentioned this same issue it really does not occur as often as this grouping would suggest. If you are reading this and you're worried about it, please contact us and we will do our utmost to put you into a location that never experiences these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked a 2 room suite- front room with king bed, back room with 2 fulls. They gave us a rollaway so perfect for family of 5 and kids did not have to share beds. We moved an end table so the roll-away could fit. My only complaint was that the room had an odor. We got used to it but would notice every time entering. To be fair we did not complain about this so can't comment on hotel response. The breakfast area had coffee, hot choc, juice and fruit available all day- a feature my kids loved. The walk to downtown was a bit far for my kids but parking in bar harbor was not a problem and the free shuttle does stop there- makes a few other stops on the way though.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Because all of our buildings are made from concrete we've found that some of the rooms hold moisture. This moisture can at times create a "damp" smell. It happens rarely and our response is always the same. We would have immediately moved you to another room or if you chose not to move put in a dehumidifier for the remainder of your stay. In hindsight, we wished you had said something so that we could have rectified the situation. Anyone reading this review and this response please note that we are extremely responsive to guest problems and would never let something that was bothering a guest linger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortlandt Manor, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have stayed at the bar harbor motel before and we were pleasantly surprised by recent renovations to our room. We love the location- it is outside of town but a walkable distance & we also like that the property has easy access to the carriage trails.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We did do some renovations over the winter and are glad you enjoyed them. We plan on continuing to do more this coming winter, including some indoor painting and new carpeting. Hopefully, when we see you next year you'll be pleasantly surprised again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom family room for 2 nights. Our first impression on entering was the musty odour that permeated the rooms but this soon cleared on opening all windows which were equipped with integral insect screens for no bug entry inside. Room and bathroom were very clean. The complimentary coffee machine and fridge with freezer compartment was a nice touch too. The price included continental breakfast which we all enjoyed the following morning. The bus stop outside the main entrance is very handy for free trips to and from the village green of Bar Harbor - otherwise the walk is about 25 minutes which we never had to try, just catch the last bus before 10 pm!

Room Tip: Higher room numbers are located towards the forest away from the reception/breakfast area but also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Even if you miss the last bus at 10pm there are several cab companies in town that will bring you back here for about $5. Or, if you're really in a bind you can walk from town safely on a sidewalk in about 20 minutes. Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#6 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
84 Ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King or 2 Queen beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free continental breakfast. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.