We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful & relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Cortlandt Manor, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful & relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We have stayed at the bar harbor motel before and we were pleasantly surprised by recent renovations to our room. We love the location- it is outside of town but a walkable distance & we also like that the property has easy access to the carriage trails.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We did do some renovations over the winter and are glad you enjoyed them. We plan on continuing to do more this coming winter, including some indoor painting and new carpeting. Hopefully, when we see you next year you'll be pleasantly surprised again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    326
    45
    8
    0
See reviews for
445
297
17
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We booked a 2 bedroom family room for 2 nights. Our first impression on entering was the musty odour that permeated the rooms but this soon cleared on opening all windows which were equipped with integral insect screens for no bug entry inside. Room and bathroom were very clean. The complimentary coffee machine and fridge with freezer compartment was a nice touch too. The price included continental breakfast which we all enjoyed the following morning. The bus stop outside the main entrance is very handy for free trips to and from the village green of Bar Harbor - otherwise the walk is about 25 minutes which we never had to try, just catch the last bus before 10 pm!

Room Tip: Higher room numbers are located towards the forest away from the reception/breakfast area but also t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Even if you miss the last bus at 10pm there are several cab companies in town that will bring you back here for about $5. Or, if you're really in a bind you can walk from town safely on a sidewalk in about 20 minutes. Thanks for the review. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribou, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The rooms were fine, the help was very courious, the breakfast options exceeded expetations but the wifi was terrible. The first night I spent an hour trying to send a small pdf to a client at 9:30 in the evening. Out of frustration I took my laptop and drove down and parked infront of the lobby and it was sent in a few seconds. I had the same type of poor connection issues the next evening and when I called the lobby for assitance they said that when they were booked full this situation was common and that if I needed to do something "important" I should come down to the Lobby. Very furstrating.

Room Tip: Get a room as close as possible to the lobby for usable wifi or you will pull your hair out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
It's frustrating for us too. We have been struggling with these issues for a while now. The IT team we've hired has tried several different fixes over the course of the summer each to no avail. Just this week they have tried something else which seems to be producing better results. More testing is needed but everyone is hopeful and early returns suggest it may be solved. We apologize that our "fix" of coming down to the lobby was not suitable for you, but it was the only one we had available to us at the time. On a side note, it appears that the room, service and breakfast all met or exceeded your expectations, so thank you for relating that here in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Bar Harbor Motel is a great place to stay while visiting Bar Harbor and Acadia National park. The staff is friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of the area. We booked a family room with two bedrooms and it was clean and comfortable. Other great features included a nice pool, generous continental breakfast and direct hiking trail access to Acadia. Hope to return again!

Room Tip: Rooms located in rear of property are quiet and near hiking trail, but are a bit of a walk to the br...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We hope you return again as well! Glad you had a good experience. Thanks for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Bar Harbor Motel is my go to place to stay when visiting Acadia National Park. I have stayed here every year...sometimes more than once... for the last 20 years. Always clean, always quiet and always the best in customer service.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you very much. Not only for the nice review but for returning every year. Our business would falter without returning guests and each one is precious to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The location is great. Right on the free bus stop into Bar Harbor. Actually close enough to walk. Very clean, rooms and bathrooms have been updated. Price considering the popularity of Bar Harbor lodging in the summer, was great. Nice breakfast included. Nice grounds and pool. All this and you get to park just outside your door. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
There have been a lot of mentions recently about the free shuttle that stops right in front of our mote, so we thought we'd take a moment to discuss it further. The bus system here is all free and goes to all the major towns on the island plus many parts of Acadia National Park. Service starts in late June and runs until mid-October. During the summer months it picks up in front of our motel every 1/2 hour until 3pm and then every 15 minutes until 10pm. As the season stretches into the fall it stops every 1/2 hour. Our bus goes into the downtown area of Bar Harbor at the Shuttle Hub (the Village Green) where you can pick up any of the other buses that travel to the other parts of the island and the national park. As many guests have noted here on Trip Advisor it really is a terrific opportunity to leave your car behind and not have to worry about finding parking either in Bar Harbor proper or in the park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Our family had wonderful, spacious rooms. Well cared for and very clean. Easily accessible to Acadia. Beautiful grounds, clean pool. Excellent for families !!! Excellent service and housekeeping staff.

Room Tip: Book early in January for summer travel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHM_Manager, General Manager at Bar Harbor Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Much appreciated review. All those "Excellents" have us smiling. We're glad you had a good time and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Address: 100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#10 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King, 2 Queens or 2 Double beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;