We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Accomodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Motel

Save Saved
You added Bar Harbor Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Bar Harbor Motel
100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Accomodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were looking for a clean hotel close to the park that wouldn't cost us an arm and a leg - the Bar Harbor Motel was great! Not too expensive but with really nice amenities - the beds were great, the room was clean. The only trouble I had in the room was the sketchy wifi service. And the only complaint I had about the hotel was the breakfast. I don't mind frozen waffles but they were so big, you had to break them up to heat them and that took too long with everyone else in line waiting for the toasters. But really, I DO recommend the motel and enjoyed chatting with the couple managing the place. I would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    423
    250
    34
    7
    0
See reviews for
317
230
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mamaroneck, New York
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We were a little nervous after reading some of the negative reviews, but we found this motel clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room (which was a king size room) was a little tight, but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. The free breakfast was a little too crowded for us. We went on the first day and then went out for breakfast for the rest of our stay--the room was much too small for all the people trying to get the free breakfast. The back of the motel lead to a nature trail which lead to one of the carriage trails in Acadia--we were very excited about that. It is a great location, convenient to the town and also to the park. We were pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My wife and I stayed here to visit Acadia National Park. We didn't spend alot of time in the room. It was adequate, decent breakfast, fridge had leftover water in it and smelled, and bathroom was tiny. But we were able to hike straight from the property into Acadia and on the way, saw a couple of deer. Grounds are nice and seemed like a nice pool although it was too cold to go outside. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really enjoy staying here. The staff is friendly and helpful. The bike shed is a great asset, we never have to worry where to leave the bikes. The room was very clean and comfortable. We would recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City West, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Spent two days in Oct 2012 and the staff was excellent. Had a car key lost in the downtown area
and turned into the police. Pat, at the hotel, drove us to the police station to retrieve the key.
There is a convenient shuttle at the entrance to the hotel that goes downtown. The one bedroom
was small, but clean and very liveable. We bought a package deal and the food was excellent
at all locations. The bus tour of Acadia National Park was very nice. We would recommend
anyone to stay at this Motel. The overall property was well kept and very beautiful. Close to
hiking trails.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed at this motel for the second time. We stayed in a smaller room (in 2008 we stayed in the two bedroom). The motel is convenient to the bus stop, now has a free breakfast and also has a nice pool area. But overall, I would say it is an average property. Good for family visits and a decent price; but, nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a very good stay at The Bar Harbor Motel and would definitely go back. We asked for a quiet room and true to their word we got a quiet unit right at the back of the property. Indeed there was no one else in our block until the weekend and even then no one was put in the room adjacent to ours at all. So the management really paid attention to our request.

Being at the back/ top of the property also meant we got to see deer wandering around which was fantastic.

We thought the room standard was very good and also felt that the cleaning of our unit was also good.

Breakfast was a bit of a scrum, with fewer tables than guests, so we tendered to walk down and take stuff back to our unit. We didn't mind the walk at all and, of course,it was our choice to do this and also be in a unit up the top.

An added bonus was the free bus into town which stops at the entrance to the property. We used this a couple of times. Also, as a guest of the motel you could also take advantage of the kids' movies being shown on the next door hotel 's lawn twice a week.

Swimming pool was good as well for small kids. So all in all we had a very  good stay and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bar Harbor Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Motel

Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Hotel
Bar Harbor Motel Maine
Address: 100 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
86 ground level rooms spaced amid 14 acres of lawn and trees. Featuring 2-Bedroom Family units for up to 6 people or rooms with 1 King, 2 Queens or 2 Double beds. All rooms feature full bath, A/C, mini refrigerators, irons, hairdryers, free in room high speed internet and all non-Smoking. Free enclosed bicycle locker. Direct Trail access to Acadia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.