We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
Aurora Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
A TripAdvisor Member
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We stayed in the Inn with a queen bed. The outside of the building is dingy and old but once you step in to room it was very clean and well kept I was impressed. Breakfast was nice. It was within walking distance of downtown. We loved our stay in Bar Harbor!

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had a room over the cafe, very clean, it just needs a little refining, i.e. the walls are old and painted over and I don't recall seeing any pictures on the wall, plain but clean. I was a little disappointed of the price we paid for this simple room, $90 - $100 a night would have been a little more acceptable. No courtyard, it is just a building sitting on a paved lot. We were able to use the pool across the street at the Quality Inn if we had wanted too. The breakfast was great, I love egg muffin sandwiches. Great location though, within walking distance to downtown, all the shops and eateries and a short drive to the entrance of Acadia National Park. I would stay there again, hopefully the price might drop.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The rooms were clean and very quite given how close they are to one of the two main roads leading into Bar Harbor. The breakfast was nice and the staff in the Cafe very friendly and quick to refill empty trays and fix the waffle makers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I had a booklet I had picked up at the Welcome Center coming in to Maine. The picture in the book looked cozy. Got stuck in a room on top of the café for $139.00. The air conditioner did not work and it was dark. Went back to the office and told the man working there that the air was not working. He asked me "do you want me to fix it?" Pretty stupid question. I DID not want to go back to that room. The room was more like a $29.99 room. I ask him if he had any more available where the check in area was. They looked like a Mom&Pop motel from the 50's. He said they had a room for ANOTHER $20.00! We looked at it. The air worked and the bathroom was clean. The bedspreads looked like they were 30 years old. Our bill to sleep one night in the room was $171.72. Unbelievable. I felt like we were taken advantage of and we weren't the only ones. When I made the reservation I was told breakfast was included. He informed us that we couldn't have breakfast because we had a motel coupon. What the heck would it have cost had I not had the coupon? I would "NEVER" stay at this place again!

Room Tip: Always look at a room before you make that reservation. Pictures can be very deceiving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford upon Avon
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Don't stay there. The site had good reviews, but It was confusing where we were going to stay. The Inn or the Motel and we ended staying at the Cafe. While having the essentials and was a short walk into town, it was a dark upstairs entrance and dark rooms, which was like staying in a card boad box with the smell of the breakfast from below consantly filled the room.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the motel on Mt Desert St. The building is old and very out of date and in need of renovation. The room had cob webs all around the ceiling, the curtain on the back window was falling off, the carpet was filthy, peeling paint, the room had such a bad odor of mold and mildew we bought some Lysol and sprayed the room. Nice location but I will not stay here again. The complimentary breakfast has changed and was not very good so we went out for breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When we arrived in Bar Harbor we went back and forth between the Aurora Inn and Aurora Motel before we figured out it was the same owner. The clerk that checked us in was very nice but she was training someone new. The new person was quite overwhelmed and was not able to answer any questions the following day when she was there alone. We thought it was odd that we had to walk 2 blocks for breakfast but it was delicious and worth the walk (even on the day it rained). This motel is very basic and pricey for what you get. It's it walking distance downtown so we knew location is what we were really paying for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional small Inn and Motel with accommodations in 3 separate buildings:Inn (1 Queen or 1 King Bed) Motel (2 Double Beds) or Cafe (2 Queen Beds), all in the historic district of Bar Harbor, walking distance from downtown. All rooms have complimentary wifi, 32" flat screen TV and private baths. Inn & Motel rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms have access to nearby outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Bar Harbor
Aurora Motel Bar Harbor
Aurora Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.