We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
Aurora Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Huntington Station
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

When we arrived in Bar Harbor we went back and forth between the Aurora Inn and Aurora Motel before we figured out it was the same owner. The clerk that checked us in was very nice but she was training someone new. The new person was quite overwhelmed and was not able to answer any questions the following day when she was there alone. We thought it was odd that we had to walk 2 blocks for breakfast but it was delicious and worth the walk (even on the day it rained). This motel is very basic and pricey for what you get. It's it walking distance downtown so we knew location is what we were really paying for.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Was not happy the first night of our stay. We were put in a room above a cafe that looked like it should be a room for a backpacker who just needs a place to sleep and shower for the night. It was not shown on their website. It was up a flight of stairs on the backside of a building. We went and complained that that was not what was on their website and that we wanted a room with a porch and chairs like what is shown on their website. We were able to get our next two nights in that kind of room which I enjoyed and which was what I had expected. The new room was clean, nice, and very comfortable. There was a small fridge and microwave which was nice. They do have a blow dryer. Soap and shampoo is in a dispenser like you would see in a bathroom at a public restroom, but that didn't bother us. When booking with them, make sure to specify or call them directly and state that you want a room like on their website (room with porch and window) and that you are aware of the rooms up above a cafe and you will not be put in that room.

Room Tip: call ahead and specify you want a room with porch and window like seen in their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munger
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The place was pretty nice and nothing fancy. Arrived late to find most places already booked and they have a room. Room was very old and needs updating but it was clean.

The place is close to downtown so you can park your car and walk which was really nice since traffic can be a pain. You get a free breakfast from the Quality inn just up the road as well.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I took a day trip to Bar Harbor but decided to spend the night once we got there. We found this place on Booking.com at a very reasonable price considering it was Memorial Day Weekend. This Inn was as clean if not cleaner than any major hotel chain we have ever stayed at. While it may may be an older building it is very well maintained, and exceptionally clean. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. It's about a 5 minute walk to the heart of the downtown business district, yet very quiet at night. The room had a good size refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, flat screen TV, and a very comfortable queen bed. We visit Bar Harbor a couple times a year and now we've definitely found a new place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My wife said it was the cleanest room she ever stayed in. Since the season was just kicking off, they had less than a full house. Things may have been a bit noisier if it had been full. Our stay was great, laundry mat a block down the street and the grocery store 2 blocks the same way. Enjoy the town and the park. Will stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We stayed here in October when we visited Bar Harbor for the Mount Desert Island Marathon. The motel is just a short walk from downtown and we barely needed to use our car once we arrived. I booked through Booking.com and got a great price for our two night stay. The staff was friendly and really made us feel welcome. The motel is a bit older, but it is well maintained, very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed at the Aurora Inn for 4 nights this month while visiting Acadia National Park. The Inn is across the street from the Aurora Motel, which is where the office is located. The motel was closed for the season, and we were some of the last guests in the inn. The room was clean and comfortable with a microwave and good-sized refrigerator. The owner was knowledgeable about the area and very friendly. It was an easy 5-10 minute walk to the downtown area of Bar Harbor and a very short drive to the Cadillac Mountain entrance of the park. The rooms were very quiet, and there was a mini-office in the inn building with coffee, an ice machine and information about area attractions. Breakfast was at the Quality Inn about a block away (easy walk). There were eggs and ham which were in a warmer as well as the usual toast, muffins, juice, coffee. Our only problem with the breakfast was that there was no microwave available to heat oatmeal or the eggs or ham if they were cold. This is not a criticism of the Aurora, however! The Aurora was a great place to stay, and we will definitely stay there again if we get to Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: Any room in the inn seemed like it would be quiet. All face a side street without much traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional small Inn and Motel with accommodations in 3 separate buildings:Inn (1 Queen or 1 King Bed) Motel (2 Double Beds) or Cafe (2 Queen Beds), all in the historic district of Bar Harbor, walking distance from downtown. All rooms have complimentary wifi, 32" flat screen TV and private baths. Inn & Motel rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms have access to nearby outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Bar Harbor
Aurora Motel Bar Harbor
Aurora Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.