We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL service, above & beyond!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
Aurora Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WONDERFUL service, above & beyond!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here during a recent trip to Bar Harbor, and really enjoyed the stay. The room was one of the lowest-priced in the town, but it was very nice. We were surprised at how much room we had (more than we expected), and were amazed by the level of service. The owner/manager bent over backwards to provide us with the best stay possible. While it's not your 5-star resort-type room, you'll get clean room, comfortable furniture, and great service. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always nice to know when someone enjoys their stay and we do appreciate the time you took to let others know about us. The cleaning staff do a great job and our desk staff are very helpful and knowledgeable about the area. We look forward to your next visit with us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    11
    4
    8
See reviews for
16
55
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton Bay, New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The motel is simple and dated, but clean and well-run. The staff were extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. The location was perfect...leave the car and walk to the shops/restaurants in Bar Harbor or hop the buses at the Village Green. We had a great stay and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry T, General Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time with us. As you noted our location is our best known secret...close to the downtown things and close enough to jump the shuttle busses into Acadia. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
349 reviews 349 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We loved our time staying here (1 week) and would have rated it 5 except for WiFi.
The sleep quality is marvelous and rooms are large and very clean. Location can't be beat and parking is easy.
Our host, Jerry, was a wealth of hiking and local knowledge and charming.
The room amenities are just what you need - micro, fridge and coffee maker and there is good water pressure in the shower.
WiFi is the only let down. Most guests sit outside for any access and it drops out a bit. Fix this and the place would be perfect.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger Aurora Motel section and thought it was best due to nice garden aspect.. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy-Manager, Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and your stay with us. We were sorry to hear that you experienced WIFI issues while you were here. Maybe since you saw several people on deck using their equipment we simply didn't have enough strength for all those in use. We will look into increasing that for those busy times. In the meantime I think the people using machines on the deck is due to a great stretch of weather that we had while you were here. The gardens you also mentioned have truly come to life with the sunshine and warm weather that has finally arrived. We hope to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pietro in Casale, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We have been at Aurora MOTEL. Yes, it is clean and nice too. Nice rooms, porch, bath... Location is perfect, a short walk to downtown restaurants. A few minutes from Cadillac Mountain, so the right stop to visit the park. Keep in mind that Bar Harbor is quite expensive: this Motel was not so highly priced. A good value for your money and, yes again, nice and pretty. Room was large, really laaaarge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of the Aurora Inn & Motel. It was great to hear that the housekeepers did such a great job. Maureen and Georgia are fantastic at what they do and we are lucky to have them on our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My best friend and I had a great time while staying here. So close to all the resturants and stores. We walked everywhere! It is clean and the staff is great! Planning to stay here again when we return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHI-GM, Manager at Aurora Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let others know about the hotel. It was such a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to your next visit. Many times we meet so many new people that become our family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April and it was our first trip to Maine. We called ahead and let them know that we wouldnt get there till around 8. He said no problem and that he would wait up for us. When we arrived the woman ( I assume it was the wife) checked us in and made sure we had everything we needed for the night. She was able to tell us where to get some dinner that late and was very welcoming. The room it self was simple but very spacious and very clean. This couple really take pride in their Inn and you can tell. The bed was comfortable, the towels were clean, and the bathroom was spotless (as well as the room). The next morning we had decided to stay for a second night and they even gave us the discounted rate again of the coupon we had from one of those little hotel/motel coupon books you see in rest areas!
Such warm and inviting people. Great little inn right in town and we could walk to everything in the Harbor. I would for sure say here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Loved this little inn. Very clean and centered in Bar Harbor, 5 min. to the entrance to Cadillac Mountain (where we went to watch the sunrise and the sunset) Perfect timing for Autumn pictures!! Only minutes to downtown where all the shops and food was. Very quiet street. The manager was very nice, had a very good stay there. no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional small Inn and Motel with accommodations in 3 separate buildings:Inn (1 Queen or 1 King Bed) Motel (2 Double Beds) or Cafe (2 Queen Beds), all in the historic district of Bar Harbor, walking distance from downtown. All rooms have complimentary wifi, 32" flat screen TV and private baths. Inn & Motel rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms have access to nearby outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Bar Harbor
Aurora Motel Bar Harbor
Aurora Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.