We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aurora Inn

Save Saved
You added Aurora Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Aurora Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

we stayed in the inn for three nights on the vaction package which included a fantstic meal at the Bar Harbor Inn and a trip on the Margaret Todd schooner. The real star of staying here is Jerry the general manager, he is most welcoming,efficient and ever so helpful ! on our arrival we discovered that he had swapped us over to a three night package for Labor Day weekend rather that the two day one with an extra night at full price that we had originally booked, thus saving us some money and giving us an extra breakfast ! The inn itself is very pleasent, clean, well equipped and in a nice quiet location but is only a very pleasant 10 minute walk from Bar Harbor itself and just 5 minutes from the village green where you pick up all the free shuttle buses into Acadia NP.

Room Tip: We would highly recommend the vacation package, the meal at Bar Harbor Inn is just superb and we too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    25
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
43
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here September 9-10 2012. It was a last minute decision to stay at bar harbor and we had no reservations. We enjoy staying at locally owned hotels that are not chains and this one fit the bill. It's a lot nicer on the inside than it appears. We were only going to stay one night but the owner was so kind and the room were so clean and neat we decided to stay another night. My only complaint was the outside lighting. It was so bright even though they had thick shades on the windows the lights came up and over them. We easily fixed that by laying the extra quilt across the top. All in all i would suggest this place to anyone!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Ok first I must admit we normally stay in hotels or B&B's at the higher end of the market so this review is biased by that fact. Due to booking at the last minute we had very little choise in accommodations and I booked the Auroa inn and motel after reviewing Trip Advisor. Jerry the owner is very welcoming and helpful, you could not ask for a better host and his staff are also good. The setting is lovely with loads of trees and grass. It is also very close to town and the restaurants. It has opening windows so you are not reliant on air conditioning. It is very clean with good showers and reasonable beds. We ended up staying in the motel section which is over the road from the Inn. The motel is non smoking which is important to me as I am allergic to tabacco and it's smoke......this is where our problem starts. Unfortunealtly the room next to us had two couples staying in the same room...always a problem when there are two queen beds per room and you have people trying to do it on the cheap. All four of them smoked
heavily. They sat outside their room to smoke ( on the first night until 2am :-( )) but then their smoke poured into our room via our bathroom window so our non smoking room reeked of their cigerette. We were forced to keep our windows and door shut because of this. Management were very sympathetic but their was nothing that could be done. They were good enough to offer us another room and I do appreciate that but we couldn't be bothered packing up so it was our choise to stay and deal with it. The piles have also gone in the motel so when you or others walk in their rooms they vibrate and are noisey. The rooms are however spacious with plenty of storage space and they have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker.The rooms are not flash but they are clean and tidy and perfectly acceptable. Bar Harbour accommodation is pricey but I would suggest that if you are used to more luxery just spend the $20-40+more a night however if you are a family on a budget this place is a good bet. They have access to the heated pool of one of the lager hotelsjust a few minutes walk up the road.

Room Tip: The motel has two queen beds, the inn has one queen bed. If you are just a couple I would suggest bo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the motel with the inn around the corner Nice location and close to town. It was quite at night. The service and people there were really friendly. We walked into town in about 5 minutes so we walk everywhere. We would recommend this place

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I can't say enough of the Aurora Inn. It was a perfect selection, the room was clean, comfortable and perfectly located to walk to town and restaurants. But, I must commend the manager, Jerry, above all. He is a wonderful person to have, helpful, knowledgable, experienced, and personable. He was accommodating, even bringing us extra towels himself 10 minutes after we asked.
And the two day special with breakfasts, dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn, and tour of Acadia made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: Stay At the Holland Ave rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delran
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Aurora Inn the last week of July. We purchased a two day package that included a dinner at the Bar Harbor Inn Reading Room, (what a great experience and good food.), breakfast for two for the two days at the Arcadia Resturant, (great food with a great selection) and service. We also went on a Nature Cruise which took us all around the harbor. We stayed three nights. The room was clean and the service was excellent.
Jerry and Nancy were the best host.

The Daes

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My husband and I travelled from Ontario/Nova Scotia for our first visit to Bar Harbor, we came upon the Aurora Motel/Inn and liked that it was a 5 minute walk to downtown. We stayed in the Inn section as opposed to the motel side but would have been interested in that side as well if there was a non-smoking room available. We were quite pleased with our room and the grounds were lovely. Having a fridge and microwave in the room was very handy. We ended up staying another night and booked one of the nature cruises through the inn to take advantage of the discount, unfortunately we were directed to the wrong cruise and did not benefit from the discount, however when we got back to the inn and I explained to the Manager (he was in the office that evening) I was very impressed by how he handled the situation, he gave me my refund for the discounted cruise ticket and a voucher for a free breakfast at the Acadia for the next morning, he apologized profusely and was sincerely sorry for our inconvenience. I would definately stay there again and recommend it to family and friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Aurora Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Inn

Address: 68 Mt. Desert Street (Route 3), Rte 3 & Holland Ave, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aurora Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional small Inn and Motel with accommodations in 3 separate buildings:Inn (1 Queen or 1 King Bed) Motel (2 Double Beds) or Cafe (2 Queen Beds), all in the historic district of Bar Harbor, walking distance from downtown. All rooms have complimentary wifi, 32" flat screen TV and private baths. Inn & Motel rooms also feature microwaves and refrigerators. All rooms have access to nearby outdoor pool and hot tub. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Aurora Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Hotel Bar Harbor
Aurora Motel Bar Harbor
Aurora Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aurora Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.