We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Midcoast Maine
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Each May, before the rates and visitors go up, we come to Bar Harbor to hike Acadia and enjoy the town. We have stayed at several places, but the Atlantic Eyrie is by far the best. It looks brand new, though it isn't. It appeared that no one had ever stayed in our room before, so spotless was it. For $64/night we had a spacious first floor room - even the first floor commands a wonderful view of Frenchman's Bay, across to Schoodic. Excellent free breakfast, also overlooking the bay. Nice people, quiet place: perfect.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    111
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
122
165
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bar Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is a great place. The staff is very friendly and can totally meet your needs. I am from the area so I known of this hotel for a long time, but I totally wouldn't choose another place to stay in Bar Harbor. There is nice flowers and plants that make the place look so beautiful. They have a really nice pool that on a grass hill. The pool is heated by solar panels, so it can be on the cooler side if it's been cloudy for a few days. The Island Explorer shuttle that stops at the hotel every 15-30mins (Depending on time) is a great way to get downtown or to Acadia National Park places (Runs for June to September) The rooms are a decent size and are totally worth every penny!

Update: This year they now have a couple Pet Friendly rooms according to their website. They also have new doors with cards instead of those old keys and door with the windows in them. There is also some new stuff in the rooms and their has been lots of other work done to the place over the past winter according to staff.

I can wait to see the place this year. I totally recommend this place because they have great rates and almost all the rooms are ocean view.

Liked:
Ocean view rooms, nice air smell, friendly & helpful staff. Also the shuttle service is great and helpful.

Disliked:
No Jaccuzzi, Wifi is kinda slow at times, but was always working for me, & lots of stair to pool but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowe, Vermont
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

The Atlantic Eyrie is a great value. Excellent location within walking distance of downtown bar Harbor (bit of a hill on the way back). Shuttle stop for the Island Express at the front door. We rarely moved our car the entire stay Fantastic views - we were on the 4th floor. The decor is a little dated but very clean. Unless you spend most of your time in your room this is ideal. Best prices we found on-line. The pool is great for the kids.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2008

Our recent stay at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge was a pleasure. We stayed in one of their few suites with a full kitchen and a huge balcony on the second floor which overlooked the bay from a distance. The location is off the road between Acadia NP and Bar Harbor, close to both. It was clean and comfortable with plenty of room to relax and enjoy the view. The bed was comfortable and the shower fine. There is plenty of parking in front, and it appears that all of the rooms have a view. The grounds in the rear are lovely, and the outdoor pool looked very clean. It's too large to be very personal, but the mangers in the front office were helpful in giving us tips about the area. The continental breakfast was adequate with plenty of room to eat. Our only complaint was the low wattage bulbs by the bed that made reading a challenge, but we did not ask for replacements. i would definitely return to the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge again.

  • Liked — great view
  • Disliked — low wattage reading bulbs and absence of a no sugar cereal
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

We were on a limited budget, but wanted to stay near the town of Bar Harbor so we choose this hotel.
We arrived early only hoping to drop off our luggage (we travel on motocycles) and the front desk actually had the staff get our rooms ready early so that we could bring everything into the rooms. We were very appreciative of that.
The room was very clean and the view from the room was just beautiful. We woke up to the rising sun over the ocean.
They have a shuttle that will take you into town every half hour. We walked back after dinner and it took less than 20 minutes. The continental breakfast in the morning was typical of most, just right for us.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

We spent a couple of nights at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge. It is just outside of Bar Harbor, but they do run a shuttle into town, or you can walk it in about 15 minutes. The hotel is off the main road into town, so is relatively quiet. The rooms are decent, clean, and about what you would expect in the price range. However, what makes this hotel worth the visit is the view. Pay the extra $20 for an oceanside room on a high floor. All front side rooms have balconies. Spectacular views of the harbor, islands and ocean. Great sea air. They also have a nice outdoor pool. Good value for the price.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — breakfast
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2008

After reading through the reviews here we decided to book the Atlantic Eyrie for our 3 day stay in Bar harbor. We weren't disappointed. Sure you can stay at more fancier resorts right in town on the water if you're willing to pay 2 to 3 times the price. But you're also paying the price for resort amenities which you probably won't end up using during a short stay.

Some observations:

Free continental breakfast was as good as you'll get at those name brand franchises. Maybe people don't remember when a continental breakfast was cofee or juice with a packaged danish.

The view from the top 2 floors is as advertised. For the few dollars more make sure to stay in the upper floors.

It is only about a mile into town but is a pretty good "uphill" climb coming back. Use the free Island bus, which makes frequent stops right at the lodge, or if you're not visiting during high season the parking in town is plentiful so drive if you wish.

They work hard to keep the lodge clean and looking good. Flowers adorn the outside, and we noticed that they already had some heartier plants & flowers ready for fall planting.

Bottom line - it is a little outdated but they work hard to keep it looking good inside and out. For a little over $100 (with AARP or AAA discount), in an area that thrives on tourists, it's a real good deal.

  • Liked — View and cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.