We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Atlantic Eyrie!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Loved Atlantic Eyrie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We loved everything about this resort; the staff, location, view and rooms were all exceptional. The staff was very friendly and offered excellent suggestions for dining in the area. I would highly recommend it and would stay there again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2014
Hello, Thank you for staying with us this summer. We appreciate your taking the time to leave that positive review and especially for mentioning that our staff was helpful, especially with the restaurant recommendations. Now that fall is here, we have a little more time to try the local cuisine and will be ready for next season's recommendations! Have a great rest of autumn. The leaves are gorgeous here already! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    111
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
122
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge based on the recommendations on TripAdvisor and were happy with our choice. The location is very close to Acadia National Park and a short drive into central Bar Harbor. The view from the room is amazing; it looks east over Frenchman Bay. So, overall the view is five-star and the location is four star. There is a free Bar Harbor/Acadia circulator bus that stops at the hotel, which is very convenient (parking in Bar Harbor can be a pain although we didn't have too much trouble). The rooms are clean but the actual room, breakfast and feel of the hotel are a solid three-star, which is why my rating averaged out to a 4 out of 5. The room wasn't super modern or updated, so if you're used to a Westin, Hyatt, etc. then the room will feel more like a Motel 8. Ours had a little smell to it - my wife said it was almost like a pet smell that had been covered up with cinnamon-smelling cleanser. The breakfast is purely continental - meaning muffins & other breads, cereal (no 'junk' cereal for the kids, though) and some fruit that didn't seem very fresh. Hotel staff was nice, too. Overall, good experience for the price.

Room Tip: The rooms on level 100 are ground level in the rear of the hotel but still have an amazing view, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review. We are glad you enjoyed the view and also that you were satisfied with the room, etc. I'm sorry about the odor, and will definitely tell the manager to investigate. Hope you have a fabulous autumn and if you are back this way someday, I hope you will consider staying with us again. Take care and thanks again. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Wow, what a great hotel! We spent 3 nights and were sorry when we had to leave. We had a beautiful view of the bay. The room had a balcony that we were able to sit out on and enjoy the view. The pool was very nice and well maintained. The continental breakfast hit the spot. It was nice to have use of the free shuttle that had a stop at the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly. I booked this hotel based on trip advisor reviews and they were spot on. The only concern we had was the sporadic wi fi in the room. Other than that A+ for the Atlantic Eyrie!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,
Your review is going to help others decide to vacation with us, just like your experience in finding us through trip advisor. It really is a great tool. Most of us affiliated with the Eyrie use Trip Advisor as well as Flipkey for our own vacations and comb through the reviews! Thank you very much for your positive review. We are lucky to have great staff both in the breakfast room and the front desk but more importantly our unsung heroes are those that make your guest room spotless from the laundry to the house keeping staff. Thank you also for noting the cleanliness of the pool, again, more unsung heroes of our staff - the maintenance crew. Hopefully, we will get the wifi improved over the winter, definitely will pass on the comments. Take care and happy autumn! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Eyrie is high on a hill, overlooking the bay, far enough from the madding crowds of Bar Harbor. The pool is large and the fearless local white tailed deer can come right up to the fence and peer in at the swimmers! Is there a hotel pool with a better vista anywhere?

The sfaff members are friendly. Our third floor guest room was incredibly quiet. Kudos to the carpenters who built the Eyrie, as we heard no noise from either side or above, and that is virtually unheard of in most hotels. We did feel some rising heat from the hotel laundry's dryers, three floors below.

The second sink outside the bathroom is a bonus, and the complimentary continental breakfast is ok. If only the same could be said for the WiFi, which is fine in the lobby, but very erratic and unreliable in the guest rooms. I could not get on my company VPN in our guest room, despite trying over a dozen times over three days. Some of us do need to check our work email even when on family vacation!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking time to post a review, it is much appreciated, especially when the review is specific, it helps potential guests. Yes, we have been trying many things with the wifi, part of the problem is those walls which are a mixed blessing - great for sleep not so great for wifi. Even having various hotspots in the hotel still is not ideal, I am sorry about that. It is better than it was but still not ideal for each room. Glad you enjoyed our local deer as well as the pool. Have a great autumn and hope to see you again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here and we will return. Old world, clean, comfortable & charming with a refreshing swimming pool. The staff are all friendly and go out of their way to help you with just about anything - ASAP! They were amazing. This hotel is on the route of the free "Island Explorer bus" to downtown and Acadia (you catch a 2nd bus to go to Acadia.)

The rooms with the balconies have a magnificent view of the bay and the property is well kept. A previous reviewer indicated that the carpeting on the outside stairs was worn - it looks like they are in the process of fixing that (not something I cared about anyway.) The included continental breakfast is adequate and held us over until lunch time. I was very happy that they had yogurt! (There is breakfast - but no restaurant on premises.) The only negative was that the coffee in the room is horrible. In the lobby they offer coffee 24/7 which is nice but that wasn't much better. The "breakfast room" coffee is a little bit better - but still not good. I recommend that management upgrade the coffee - LOL :) Minor points I know - just an observation. I DO recommend this hotel for cleanliness, great staff and great views. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the terrific review. I noticed that you have 20 hotel reviews on Trip Advisor which makes us feel very good that you rated up so highly: " I DO recommend this hotel for cleanliness, great staff and great views". Even though the only issue you had was with the coffee, we do take note of this and will be contacting the manager to see if there are ways to improve on the inroom coffee as well as our hotel area coffee. There is nothing more satisfying than a good cup of coffee! That being said, I am going to pass on the high marks you gave our staff which is something we have always prided ourselves on - from the desk staff as well as housekeeping and maintenance. We feel fortunate that we have such reliable, great staff and love it when a guest makes note of this. Thanks again and I hope you enjoy your summer.
~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the hotel while touring Arcadia National Park and other special places..
The rooms were clean and comfortable,we really enjoyed having breakfast on the balcony.What we have done many times on our trips in Austria and Germany.The view was exceptional ,the service very good.We will come back and stay there again on our next trip to Maine. Hilde K

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Hilde,
Thank you for the lovely review that you posted. I forget that balconies aren't just for sitting and looking at the view! Breakfast on the balcony sounds wonderful. The best compliment is stating that when you come back to Maine you will stay with us again! I hope you enjoy the rest of the season. Thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Stayed three nights at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge while touring Bar Harbor, Acadia National Park and Mount Desert Island. Our third floor room was exceptionally spacious, clean, comfortable and offered an excellent view from the balcony of Frenchman Bay. Of the many hotels we have stayed in this was one of the best views we have enjoyed. The property is well maintained. Front desk staff and house staff were most courteous and helpful. Spacious area for continental breakfast which was adequate. The free shuttle that comes to the front door beginning at 7:00 a.m until 10:00 p.m. makes a convenient way to visit downtown Bar Harbor without the hassle of finding parking.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors offer a better view of Frenchman Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Hello,
We are always happy to read a satisfied guest review. Thank you very much for taking time out of your day to post that positive review. It sounds like your three days were a nice experience from the staff to our spacious rooms with "an excellent view". We have been most fortunate with our summer weather, not too hot and usually a nice breeze. I hope you were able to go into Acadia and enjoy all that is offered there. Have a great rest of the summer (I can't believe it is August already) and we hope you come back again to stay with us. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.