We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Repeat Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Repeat Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We travel with our 2 Labrador Retrievers and lucky for us they have a few rooms that are dog friendly. The staff is always friendly and helpful...and they love dogs as much as we do. The rooms are clean and spacious and offer a wonderful water view from the private balconies. They have done some great updates to the place over the last few years - the new heated pool is beautiful. It is very quiet and you can easily ride the free shuttle bus into town (picks up right outside the hotel office and allows well-behaved dogs!) or walk into town via a sidewalk. There are windows on 2 sides of each room so you can get a glorious cross-breeze. Can't say enough good things. We are picky about where we stay, and we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hello! Well, thank you so much for staying with us again. You are right, we adore dogs, most of us are pet owners and are delighted when happy canines (and their owners!) show up eager to explore the island as well as take walks around our property. We've been saying it right along, there is nothing like a repeat guest who notices all the improvements we've been doing each year over the past years. We are very proud of the strides we have made. Thank you for the accolades and we hope you have a fabulous rest of the summer and come back to Bar Harbor and The Eyrie in the future. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    111
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
122
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We chose this place because it was reasonably priced and we're so glad we did. It was not downtown, but within comfortable walking distance from downtown and that worked well for us. We felt a part of the excitement of Bar Harbor but also just enough set apart to experience the quiet that is NOT a part of the downtown area of Bar Harbor. The service was really good, the continental breakfast was adequate. The view is spectacular. Though we were on the ground floor, the back part of the building grounds sloped down so we still had a great view of the water, the sunrise and even a fox that showed up one morning. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Good morning! Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a review. We always appreciate our individual guests thoughts on our service, hotel and grounds. Happy to hear you had a nice view but more especially that you appreciated our barely out of the center of town location. It really does make for a quieter stay and with the shuttle it's easy to catch a ride into town and not deal with the limited parking. I am surprised you didn't see our resident deer, on the grass outside of your room but the fox and his antics make for an amusing site. I hope you have a wonderful summer and if you come back this way again, please consider staying with us once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Donato Milanese, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spacious rooms with frig, micro and coffee maker, beautiful view, great desk staff, heated pool, excellent wifi reception in rooms and at pool, location near enough city center but quiet for sleeping, deer and woodchuck roaming garden- all great. Breakfast..continental, good selection of carbos but nothing gluten free, and for the price I feel they could and should offer more.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello,
We are happy you enjoyed your room and the grounds. I have mentioned to the manager your request for more gluten free selections. Hopefully if you return we will have included these in our menu. If you get a chance would you mind emailing me what you might like to see? That is always helpful as so many travelers have eliminated gluten for health reasons. stay@atlantcieyrielodge.com and just put it to the attention of Bruce and Joanne, please. That would great if you have the time. Thank you so much. ~Joanne PS Enjoy your summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelman04101
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We have been coming to this hotel for the past 18 years and for the past 5 or 6 years it just get better and better. The staff is amazing the manager is always around to help. We just left the Lodge a couple of days ago and once again a perfect stay. From the new pool new entrance and parking lot you couldn't ask for anything more, I read a recent review saying the staff was rude and all I can say is I find that hard to believe. This women would have to have been rude and nasty before an employee . The manager has always been more then fair when we have had to cancel and change our reservations this women has never stayed so know not what she is writing about

Room Tip: Stay here you will love it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Thank you so much for that review. It means a lot from a treasured, repeat guest who has seen all the improvements over the years and has dealt with out staff time and time again as well as first hand knowledge about cancelling at our hotel to be so supportive and positive. We take such pride in our being respectful and accommodating to our guests and potential guests but as you know sometimes events happen that are difficult to explain or difficult to make everyone happy in a situation. We are so lucky to have guests that book year after year and enjoy their stays so we do know our endeavors to be the best we can be are successful. Thank you so much for acknowledging this, it took the sting out of the other review. We take constructive criticism, praise and comments very seriously and to heart and a lot of our renovations, upgrades, and ideas are because of these comments. We like to know when we are doing well and when we can improve! Again, thank you and enjoy your summer! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This is a special place from the spectacular views to the very nice and helpful staff. The room was spacious and the breakfasts were tasty. I'm sure there are other very nice lodging options but I would only stay here if we return. I do want to thank the staff for going out of the way to make us feel so welcome.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 15, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for your review, I'm so happy our staff made you feel at home and it sounds like they might have done a little more. I hope you had lots of time to explore our beautiful island and a few of the other towns. It is so gratifying to read that you would stay with us again, that is a huge compliment. Thanks again and I hope you have a wonderful summer! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

A friend recommended that we book early to get into this fantastic lodge. It wasn't packed out, but it was fabulous! You are a short ride or longish walk into town, but up on a mountain with a view that includes the "ride on" sandbar, Frenchman's Bay and the cruise ships etc. Most rooms have comfortable balconies, a perfect place to kick back. It is also a short distance to Acadia Park. The included breakfast includes a wide variety of items and delicious muffins and fruit. There is fresh coffee available 24 hrs a day. The rooms are clean and beds most comfortable. The staff is both efficient and friendly. What a gem!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, online marketing at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello,
Thank you very much for the lovely review. It's so rewarding to hear that another guest has recommended us to a new guest. It sounds like you enjoyed your stay at "The Eyrie" I'm thinking I need to get some of the delicious muffins and a cup of coffee, it must be the afternoon slump! I hope you had a chance to explore the town as well as the island. There are so many wonderful areas here to see. Have a wonderful summer and we sincerely appreciate the kind review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peabody, Massachusetts
1 review
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the lodge on our honeymoon two years ago over Memorial Day weekend. We only booked a few months in advance and found this place reviewed online. While walking to the door of our fourth floor room (I believe the best room in the place!), I was momentarily disappointed to think that it did not have an ocean view. I could not believe my eyes when we opened the door and saw the spectacular view of Frenchman Bay through the slider. The room was spacious with a king bed, tables and an excellent balcony. The included breakfast was good, the staff was excellent and everything was clean. The location is excellent; very close to downtown and Acadia National Park. We were not able to come back last year, but just returned today from a five day stay celebrating our 2nd anniversary. When I booked the room, I asked if we could have the same room as we stayed in two years ago and they accommodated our request. We enjoyed this stay just as much and were impressed with all the upgrades and work that have been done around the property. This place is truly the best value in Bar Harbor, with a million dollar view.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Good afternoon and Happy belated anniversary! What a wonderful review to start our season, thank you very much. It is so nice to hear from a happy guest but more importantly a repeat guest who has seen the many improvements we've been doing. We are so excited to start another summer here in Bar Harbor and having all these major renovations is such a bonus. I'm glad you were able to stay in the same room for your stay. My family likes to do that as well when we go back to vacation spots. Have a great summer (hopefully warm) and thanks again for the lovely, positive review. Hope to "see" you again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.