We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views with amazingly clean rooms!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Selden, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful views with amazingly clean rooms!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I had booked Acadia Days Inn and what a mess that was....you can see my review on that one!!!! We could not stay at Days Inn whatsoever and since we had no help from Days Inn to find another hotel we actually drove around ourselves to each hotel until we found the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge....they were booked but we got lucky because of a cancellation!! We got a room facing the water with such spectacular views!! The rooms were so clean and beds had crisp new sheets! Extremely helpful staff which showed us where to go visit and where to eat!! Breakfast was delicious and fresh and a variety of bagels, muffins, cereals, eggs, etc!!! Most definitely will stay here if I ever come back!!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you! I think because most of us do travel a little bit we have come to appreciate a clean room. Believe it or not, it is one of the most frequent guest comments we receive. We are so lucky to have a great housekeeping staff (as well as all our other staff!) and reviews like yours are a great pat on the back for them and I will pass on your kind words to our manager, Bruce. Happy for you we had a cancellation and you were able to stay with us. Take care and hope to see you again! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    111
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
122
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We picked this hotel mainly on the price and the reviews from Tripadvisor and what a great decision that turned out to be.

Unfortunately we arrived in the dark and missed the first turn -in but somehow managed to come at the hotel from the wrong direction but on the right road and effectively found it out of pure luck!!! Even in daylight it's not the easiest hotel to find but they are on the shuttle bus route which runs every 30minutes into town and other hotels and is free.

Initially the hotel looks a bit 'Eyrie' and is more of a motel style with external corridors. The rooms are very spacious which is ideal when you travel with plenty of suitcases and bags!!! The room offered all the standard amenities - fridge, microwave, tea & coffee machine, iron & ironing board and even an additional sink area outside of the bathroom. There were also plenty of towels in the bathroom.

The main reason to stay here of course is the fabulous view that is offered from all the rooms - a view of Frenchman's Harbor. The floor to ceiling patio doors made for a fabulous view inside your room and the spacious balcony was wonderful for admiring the view outside and the local wildlife - we saw a deer in the garden area. This is a very peaceful hotel as it is off the main road and up a hill.

This hotel also had a decent size swimming pool, seating areas outside and also offered hot and cold breakfast - cereals, breads, eggs, etc...

The lady on the reception desk when we arrived was very friendly and helpful. She offered us a local map and gave advice on restaurants and directions of how to get there from the hotel. This hotel is also not far from Acadia National Park.

The only negatives I have are that there is about a 2 inch drop from the elevator floor to the external corridor which makes pulling the luggage carrier hard work especially when you are trying to go up the ledge! Also the décor is a bit dark and dull but is in good condition and is clean.

Overall this is a lovely hotel with great views and service. Would definitely stay here again if ever in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it was very informative for potential guests as well as helpful for our staff. Your photos were great and we are happy to say we have changed the exterior carpeting over the winter and also have redone the parking lot among other changes. I will mention to Bruce the manager about the lip getting off the elevator. I'm not sure if that is something fixable or not but if it is I am sure he will take care of it. Have a great spring and thank you again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Wonderful folk, wonderful place, pet friendliest! Gorgeous view, right down the hill from the village. Great wide open area for dogs to play. Pool very nice. next to back roads as alternative ways to get out of town without going through traffic. great biking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,
Hope you had a wonderful winter in Sarasota! I'd like to pretend our winter and spring so far have been wonderful but that would be a white lie! We so appreciate your review and the fact you mentioned the pet friendly aspect as well as the wide open spaces here. Hopefully you saw some of our resident wildlife, especially the deer. Have a wonderful spring (and 2014!) and hope to see you again. Thank you again for taking the time to post a review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful location overlooking Frenchmen's Bay salt water pool, lovely grounds, very good breakfast , hot and cold, shuttle service to town, lovely accommodations , staff friendly , pillows heavenly.looking forward to staying again next spring, nearby Arcadia National Park

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
I'm sorry for the late response to your very nice review. I am especially happy you are returning this spring and will get a chance to see the improvements we have made over the winter. We've been trying in the off season for several years to tackle some major improvements. See you soon and thanks again for the terrific review. P.S. I'm sure Bruce would be more than happy to find where you can purchase the pillows!! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willimantic, Connecticut
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for two nights with our miniature dachshund. There was a lovely view of the water off of our private balcony and we were on the first floor. The free breakfast was quite nice and there was a large selection of pastries, fruit, and cold choices. Usually one hot item such as French toast was offered daily. Our room was impeccably clean. The room was very spacious and had some nice little extras like a fridge, microwave, hair dryer, and toiletries. The free Wi-Fi connection was quite good. There was a lot of green space around the property which was great since we traveled with our dog. The location is a very quick drive to downtown or a modest walk. The only two things, in my opinion, that could use a little improvement are an update to the décor/furnishings and the heating system. All in all, this mom and pop style property is well cared for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Hello,
A very late thank you for your kind review. I wish I had been around to greet you and your sweet dog. I'm guessing Bruce, our manager was lucky enough to enjoy your canine family member. Spring is slowly arriving here on the island and if you happen to come back for another visit we have made many improvements over the off season. Have a great spring! Thanks again for the informative review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, It was our not first choice, however, it was an excellent hotel. I booked late so there were only couple rooms left, the only one above the first floor was a suite. We booked the suite; the balcony’s overlooked Frenchmen’s Bay, which as it turned out was an excellent choice. From the moment we arrived the staff was friendly, welcoming, and helpful with tips on places to visit and restaurants also a map of the area and the town. The room included a full kitchen, large living room with floor to ceiling windows, a great view of the bay and free internet. There was a large king bed in the bedroom which was quite comfortable. The continental breakfast included cereal, yogurt, oatmeal, toast, french toast, fruit, eggs (hard boiled), muffins and pastries. Since I am primarily a cereal and muffin man the breakfast was good for me, my wife also enjoy the breakfast. We saw deer in the morning as they were eating the apples. The bus stopped at the lodge every half hour.

MJ

Room Tip: Higher floors for best views, suites are larger good for four people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
We are happy that we could provide accommodations for you and your wife and it sounds like you enjoyed the view, suite and breakfast. Thank you for the "excellent" compliment. That is a very high compliment, indeed! We have been busy all winter doing improvements to the grounds, parking and exterior hallways. It's a much quieter place this time of year as you would expect. The snow and cold have been abundant! It makes for some amazing views of the mountains. Hope you are having a wonderful winter as well. Thank you for taking the time to post the very nice review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a fourth floor room overlooking the Bay. A large, very comfortable clean room, great view, friendly staff, and a location within five minutes of town all made for a wonderful visit. They are closed from the third week of October until sometime in Spring. Only a short drive to the Acadia National Park entrance.

Room Tip: Third and fourth floors have a better view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hello,
Thank you for the review and thank you for mentioning our staff. We think we have a very knowledgeable and friendly staff who are quite happy to have a winter break after our busy season. I sincerely hope you stay with us if you visit the area again. Have a good winter. Thanks again, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.