We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would recommend staying here. Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Plymouth, New Hampshire, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I would recommend staying here. Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for labor day weekend and it was perfect. The room was j7st as we expected, two queen beds, small fridge, microwave, two sinks, and full bathroom. Also had a balcony overlooking the harbor and the pool. The first morning we woke up to a deer in the small field below which was pretty neat. It's a quiet hotel with everything we needed. Everything was clean and the breakfast was very good. Fruit, french toast ,coffee ,and pastries, along with cereal ,milk ,and juices. I would definitely stay here again. Also the shuttle comes right up to the hotel so no need to struggle to find parking.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review. I have to say that getting a chance to see the deer here is so wonderful. Did you know the whole of the the island is a game preserve? Hope you have a fabulous fall. Take care and thanks again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    111
    16
    4
    4
See reviews for
122
164
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had stayed in this hotel in 2008 and had a wonderful time then, so had no hesitation in staying here again. Upon arrival we found out that the hotel underwent several upgrades since we were last there.

The reason why we liked staying here last time is you do not need a car to get around. It is a stop on the island shuttle that goes down town, where you can hope on another shuttle and go just about anywhere in Acadia. Then to catch the Sunrise or Sunset on Cadillac Mountain, just ask the front desk how to get up to the mountain the back way. You avoid so much traffic.

Our room didn't disappoint, had a great view of Frenchman's Bay and Bar Island with all the going on in the bay. The bed appeared to be new and was very comfortable, the refrigerator worked great as did the microwave. The bathroom also appeared to be updated, and had no problem with the WiFi connection.

One thing about being out of downtown, is that you had a great night sky right from your balcony. Our visit coincided with the Perseid meteor shower, and we were not disappointed as we seen lots of meteors.

We saved money with their continental breakfast, but we call it an extended continental breakfast. As it has lots more then the continental breakfast we have been to. You have your standard Muffins, and cereal. But it also had fresh fruit, yogurt, French toast, boiled eggs, and your standard coffee, hot chocolate, and juices. I do know that the breakfast was included in the price of your stay, but I was disappointed with the hotel guest who ignored the tip cup for the gentleman who was doing it all, making sure everything was stocked, cleaned the tables, and was friendly as could be and was eager to please. So next time people think about just dropping a dollar or two, remember it is better to give then receive.

We also enjoyed the new pool, it was cool and refreshing after a long day hiking. I liked that there were plenty of chairs around the pool for everyone and that they had towels for the pool as you went out the door, and a place to leave them.

We will be back again in the future as we have only climbed 1/2 of what Acadia has to offer.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd or 4th floor for the best views, and the King size beds are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet Advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to post a fabulous review. I was just responding to another guest that had been with us two years in a row and it is nice to see that we impressed you enough when you were here several years ago to stay with us again. You touched on so many of our improvements, we really appreciate that. It was very thoughtful of you to mention tipping at breakfast as it is not necessary but very much appreciated. What great photos you took. Hope you have a great off season and come back again to see the improvements that are in store for the future! Sincerely, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for the second year in a row over Labor Day weekend. We would definitely recommend this place if you'er in the market to explore Acadia and or Bar Harbor. The hotel is conveniently located near both and there's a free shuttle that runs to the down own every 15 minutes. The owners are very friendly and rooms were immaculate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Two years in a row you have chosen to stay with us! Thank you so much. Repeat guests are the best review we can get! I hope you enjoyed your Labor Day break and didn't have too much traffic getting back to Massachusetts. Have a great autumn and winter and I hope you come back for a third year! Take care, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Yep, the views are great, rooms are clean, and the beds are very comfortable (really soft cotton sheets). Being 2 minutes out of town and the evening fray, it is quiet.

The rest? Meh. Average scratchy towels. Average shampoo/soap. A motel-like feel with the doors of the rooms opening onto an outdoor hallway that looks out over the parking lot. Glad we were on the 3rd floor and not on the 1st or the sound of the shuttle bus that pulls up right next to the hotel to take guests into town every 15 minutes would have been very annoying early in the morning or late at night. And the pool? Heated, salt water? If you're a penguin, it might feel heated. For a human being expecting a heated pool? Nope.

The breakfast buffet is mediocre at best. Weak coffee, a plastic vat of pink yogurt that guest dip into (kind of unsanitary, no?), a plastic vat full of hard boiled eggs, mini-muffins...you get the picture. Then again, it comes with the price of the room and breakfast in town at supposed breakfast hot-spots like Jordan's isn't much better and expensive, so choose the lessor of both evils, I suppose.

Again, the views ARE great - and if that is what matters to you, you'll love it. But this hotel isn't glam by any stretch of the imagination. Friends of ours were staying down the road at the less expensive (!!) Bar Harbor Regency (a Holiday Inn), and it felt like a palace in comparison. Flowers everywhere, a glamorous (heated) pool setting with hot tub and a full-service bar, etc. AND it had great views, too. Had we known...we'd have stayed at the Regency in a heartbeat. Next time.

NOTE: At the time this review was written (August, 2013) Construction is going on at the property right next door Monday - Friday. Pile-driving machine starts at 7 AM sharp.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hello,
First off, let me say that I am very sorry you were disappointed in our hotel. We have been making improvements and renovating quite steadily on the interior of the hotel, our grounds, etc. We are an older family owned hotel, not a newer built chain hotel like the Holiday Inn. We are constantly upgrading in the off season and feel we have worked hard to improve and are proud of what we've done. I am sorry we aren't up to your standards. I'm glad you enjoyed the view and room at least which was nice of your to mention. Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Indeed the rooms are spotless and spacious with beautiful panoramic views of the water - from the comfortable balcony of our 4th floor king room, we could see people crossing the sandbar to Bar Island at low tide, ocean bobbing with lobster trap floats, stretching to the horizon.

The room was quiet and equipped with a fridge, micro, and coffeemaker, a fresh, comfortable bed, and fat, thirsty towels. The elevator is not too slow, and there are covered stairs if you're in a hurry. The free shuttle to downtown Bar Harbor and the park stops at the hotel every 15-30 minutes, but it's an easy downhill walk of 1.5 miles into town - walking back isn't bad but there's more uphill. The complimentary breakfast is well stocked with plenty of the typical coffee-juice-breads-cereal-fruit, plus hard-boiled eggs, blueberry muffins, and french toast that when reheated in the toaster oven tasted just-made. The pool is sparkling clean; the grounds are meticulously maintained; staff is polite, helpful, and accessible but quietly in the background. Make sure to get the AAA/ AARP rate, which makes even the in-season rate a nice value.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms will not have views as spectacular, but all others will be full ocean-view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Your review of the view off your balcony made me want to kick off my shoes and grab a cup of coffee and just relax out there. In the business of the high season, we who work on the island, tend to be so busy we forget what everyone visits here for - the amazing views, beautiful vistas and unspoiled landscapes in the Park - oh yes, and all the fun things to do. I am definitely going to grab that coffee and go relax on the balcony in the near future! Thank you for noting the grounds. Our grounds crew is fabulous and they are always making sure things are picture perfect so a compliment from a guest goes a long way and will be forwarded to Bruce, our manager to pass on to them, thanks! Take care, Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Ma
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just returned from a five-day trip with our daughter and son-in-law in August 2013 and we agree with all the wonderful reviews of the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge that others have written. Not only are the rooms large and comfortable, but the fourth-floor views of Frenchman's Bay from the floor to ceiling glass sliding door in the room and from the balcony are spectacular. We could see people walking on the bar to Bar Island at low tide.

The shuttle buses are very convenient, both to Bar Harbor and to Acadia National Park. They stop at the front door of the hotel. They are also free.

The breakfast bar was more extensive than a usual continental breakfast. The breakfast room has ample indoor and outdoor seating. The staff was friendly, helpful and accommodating.

The location of the hotel was very convenient to the National Park. Acadia National Park is spectacularly beautiful. We enjoyed a Ranger-led walk on top of Cadillac Mountain, ate fabulous popovers at the Jordan Pond House and went on two boat rides, one was on a lobster boat and one was into Somes Sound. Both were highlights of our trip.

It was easy to return to the Lodge from both Bar Harbor and from the Park. The location is convenient to both and just minutes away by shuttle or by car.

Room Tip: All rooms fact the ocean; the top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Wow! What a lovely, well written review. I have to say, I don't know whether I appreciate the review more or admire the fact that you can see people on Bar Island, that is impressive vision! I love that you went to Jordan Pond House for popovers. I have been going there all my life and some of my favorite memories are when my grandmother (who is the grandmother of the owners of the Eyrie, my cousins!) took me there and I got to play grown up with tea and popovers served on the lawn. It sounds like you did some wonderful, fun things while on vacation. Thank you for the terrific review and happy autumn! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Our room on the 4th floor was large and spotless, with a superior view of Bar Island. In the back of the hotel is a large pool, as well as a balcony (and other seating areas) where you can eat your meals. The free shuttle pickup/drop off is right in front of the hotel, and Acadia National park as well as the downtown area of Bar Harbor are within a short driving distance from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanticeyrie, Internet advertising at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
To quote you, "Excellent overall" is what our entire staff strives for every day that we are working. We know that each vacationer has made special plans to visit our island and when they stay with us we try to make sure they are well taken care of. Very glad you enjoyed your room, view and vacation. Hope you have an excellent autumn and winter and if you are back in the area, we also hope you consider staying at the Eyrie again. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.