We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view & location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Atlantic Eyrie Lodge to your Saves list
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Great view & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We just stayed here this past weekend. I was very pleased with the room & location. Since this was our first trip to Bar Harbor...we couldn't have been in a better location. There is also free breakfast at the hotel. We stayed on the third floor...we able to see the boats/cruise ships coming & going out of the harbor. Just a short drive (5 minutes) you're in Bar Harbor downtown area. The front desk staff were very friendly. They gave us several maps and highlighted areas of interest. I would most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Congratulations on your first visit to our area. I hope you had plenty of time to explore the Park Loop Road, stop at Sand Beach, Thunder Hole, Cadillac Mountain, etc. Did you have a chance to explore the other towns on the island? We live on one of the most beautiful islands in the world and even we locals haven't explored all the nooks and crannies. I'm glad our staff was able to help you with some of the highlights of the area. Hope you get back this way again. Take care and thank you for the review. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    111
    16
    5
    4
See reviews for
122
165
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge is a great place stay while seeing Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park. Every room has a gorgeous view, I mean outstanding views. The breakfast was just right, and the rooms were clean and comfortable. You won't regret spending the night at the Atlantic Eyrie Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
I love seeing our hotel being termed a "great place" That just makes all the hard work so worth it. Our staff is diligent in their work and those kind of compliments on the view, breakfast and room mean a lot. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The hotel is well positioned for zipping this way and the other - it was nice to be above the hubbub of town and the park. We had a very large 3rd floor room with two comfy beds, a big flat screen TV and a nice balcony which afforded a great view of the harbor. Breakfast was adequate and there were many choices - wish the hotel would offer 'real' plates and flatware. Only real complaint is the laundry facility is outside and the machines are pretty rusty.....it seems like it'd be relatively simple to enclose the laundry area and provide comfortable chairs while waiting for cycle to finish.
Would return here and would recommend......even saw some doggums so that is a good sign!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Hello,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Glad you enjoyed the room and the review. We are hoping to do some updating on the laundry area and you are absolutely correct, a bench or something is a great idea, thanks!. Ok, I'll bite....what is a doggum? I am a dog lover (one rescue and one golden retriever) and I have no idea what that is. Google was no help! However, it did lead me to this site for custom stuffed dogs that was very cool. Have a great winter and thanks again! ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stayed here on first night in Bar Harbor. Room was clean and comfortable. The balcony provided a nice view of the harbor. Five minute drive to restaurants and Acadia. Returned for a second night after rain forced us from camping. Staff was very helpful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Guest Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I'm sorry the weather didn't cooperate with your plans to camp. In spite of that, I hope you enjoyed the view and the comfort of our rooms. It is always a bit discouraging to have lousy weather when you only have a limited time to vacation. Have a good winter. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
189 helpful votes 189 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were so glad to find this place. It had everything we wanted.

The view on the balcony outside our room was spectacular, even though it was somewhat rainy and chilly. Our room was on the 3rd floor and had a great view of Frenchman Bay. Beds were comfortable, and the room had free internet access. The office staff was very accomodating as far as printing some documents and faxing them for us. I thought the price we paid for the hotel was fair.

This is a good base to see Acadia NP and the office staff was very gracious about answering questions and giving us advice as to where to go, what to see, and how to plan our day.

This is a great choice for seeing Bar Harbor/Acadia NP.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We consider your review high praise! I noticed you have 90 reviews. That is impressive and when we receive the highest rating from a veteran review that is indeed a compliment. Thank you. We will pass on your review to our staff as mentioning the service is as important to us as the room being comfortable and the view being outstanding. I hope you have a great winter season and if you ever travel this way again we hope you will consider staying at The Eyrie. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My wife and I stayed at The Atlantic Eyrie on our second trip to Bar Harbor. I was searching for the place with the best view of Frenchman Bay and I certainly found it. The room was large and comfortable with its own balcony overlooking Frenchman Bay and Bar Harbor. The continental breakfast offered many choices of fare and was very good. Hot coffee, tea or cocoa was available in the lobby all day for our use. Atlantic Eyrie is located on the free shuttle service that will take into Bar Harbor or anywhere on Acadia which was very convenient since it can be difficult to find a parking space in town. My wife and I have decided that when we return to Bar Harbor we will be staying at Atlantic Eyrie.

Room Tip: We stayed in an end room on the top floor so we had both a side view and a balcony view of the surro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Very gratifying from our view point when we read a review like yours. I agree, I could just sit out on the balcony and enjoy the view and then I love it when towards dusk or early in the morning the deer wander onto the grass for a visit. They have been coming here for years. I guess they enjoy the peace and quiet as well! Thank you for the advice for room location for readers of trip advisor. Looking forward to your repeat visit. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Great lodge! Stayed on the top floor overlooking the bay, beautiful! Quiet, clean, and comfortable. Breakfast was good too!
Only stayed one night, a great place to base for the Acadia National Park.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the view on the top floor, worth the money for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne S, Public Relations Manager at Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Quick, concise review! Love it! Glad you enjoyed the view and you are totally correct, the top floors have some amazing views. Hope you visit again and stay longer than one night. Have a lovely winter and thank you for the comments. ~Joanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Eyrie Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Eyrie Lodge

Address: 6 Norman Road, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Atlantic Eyrie Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Eyrie Lodge sits high atop a bluff overlooking the waters of Frenchman Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Atlantic Eyrie Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Eyrie Hotel Bar Harbor
Atlantic Eyrie Motel
Atlantic Eyrie Lodge Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Eyrie Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.