We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we'd planned to visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History

George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History
105 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207-288-5395
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 25 attractions in Bar Harbor
Type: Natural History Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The George B. Dorr Museum features dioramas of coastal Maine wildlife and a tide pool tank that houses a variety of live sea stars, hermit crabs, snails and other marine creatures for visitors to touch and observe. Our exhibits showcase work by College of the Atlantic students and are fun and educational for all ages. Our Mission Statement: The George B. Dorr Museum promotes student learning in natural history and its role in human ecological study at College of the Atlantic. The Museum fosters student work in collections, educational programming, and exhibitions in order to deepen public understanding of the relationships among the natural, social, and built environments.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wish we'd planned to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent about 10 minutes in this museum before the Diver Ed cruise. I wish we'd realized it was there - we would have planned more time. It was actually closed when we went, but they allow you to congregate there before the cruise. There is a touch tank and beautiful displays of mounted animals in action. They seemed to be well done and I think my kids would have liked more time. This would be great for an off-weather day.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorrMuseum, Manager at George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of the Dorr Museum, your insight is extremely valuable! It is great to collaborate with Diver Ed to have passengers meet here at the Dorr Museum before they head out on their ocean adventure, and if future visitors have not checked out Diver Ed yet be sure to do so on your next visit. While we are a great venue for all ages, the interactive nature of the Dorr Museum is perfect for children and offers an enjoyable experience on a rainy day. Exhibits are the work of students from College of the Atlantic, and each one features excellent attention to detail that effectively capture the essence of the animals. We hope that you get to visit Bar Harbor again, and enjoy more time at the Dorr Museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    6
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lewiston, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice little museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Nice litle museum with several displays and a touch tank with creatures in it for children to touch. Lots of information available if you really look for it. Staff didnt appear too interested unless you were purchasing something. (they were eating lunch at the counter while we were there). Good for a rainy day hour.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DorrMuseum, Manager at George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time during your vacation to visit the Dorr Museum of Natural History! We strive to find the balance between offering an educational experience while ensuring that visitors of all ages are able to have fun, and we appreciate your mention of making this a rainy day destination. Since we are a small museum we have a limited amount of staff, but we are always available to answer questions and provide information. A majority of the visitors to the Dorr Museum enjoy a self-directed experience, but museum staff love to talk with visitors and are happy to offer tours upon request. We hope you will visit us again on your next visit to Bar Harbor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC metro area
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Excellent small museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Just visited this museum a couple of days ago - what a great and inexpensive find in Bar Harbor. Lots of animal displays to touch, as well as a saltwater tank full of sea cucumbers, starfish, etc. for gentle touching. Many other displays of live action mounted animals (local to the area) and a listening booth for exploring different animal sounds. A great and informative way to spend an hour with your kids.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great little museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is a great way to spend an hour with young children. It is a small museum full of animal displays, many of which you can touch. It has a ocean display that you can touch live sea creatures and pick some up. It is cheap as it is by donation. We have 4 small children from 4-9 and they loved it. It is only two rooms so easy to wander around. Perfect spot for an hour or so.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George B. Dorr Museum of Natural History, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.