We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian in Lobsterland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Eden - CLOSED

Eden
321 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
207.288.4422
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Vegan, Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Northern VA
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
246 helpful votes 246 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian in Lobsterland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Great change from main stream eateries in the area. Reasonable prices.

We had the following:
Drinks: The selection of German beers is good with many choices and flavors. There are some unique sodas to choose from also.

Appetizers:
Vegetable cakes - crispy flavorful cakes with good mustard sauce

Main Courses:
Sri Lankan Daal - mild flavored dish with a side of sauce. Recommend eating with some crackers
Singapore noodles - good noodles in flavorful sauce. Very filling

After dinner:
Dragon Lilly flowering tea - unique experience watching a lilly flower blossom in a glass tea pot on your table.

$80.00 with tip

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    54
    18
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food, a nice change of pace from touristy Bar Harbor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My wife and I dined here on our 3rd night in Bar Harbor and found it to be a great change of pace and style from the towns tourist aimed dining options. I had the Singapore Noodles and my wife had the tempeh, we both left full and satisfied. Would recommend to any vegitarian, vegan, or conscientious eater.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“why so s...alty??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Following my wife's wishes, we decided to go for dinner in Eden. While none of us is vegan, we both appreciated the interesting dishes the staff at Eden put together.
The food was served nicely, the portions are nice, the staff is polite and service was great.

Having said that, both of our dishes were wayyy too salty- so salty, that we left some of it.
The salty taste left hours later. Price is average, like most restaurants in Bar Harbor.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gourmet Vegetarian/Vegan Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This restaurant was great! We tried a tofu entree, and a pasta dish. The tofu dish was very good, much better than the pasta. The deserts are good.

This place is a little on the pricey side, but worth the trip

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Pricy and inconsistent”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My traveling partner is a vegetarian, and we picked Eden because it was one of the best options for vegetarian/food in Bar Harbor. [I'm normally someone who enjoys a good vegetarian meal despite being an inveterate carnivore]. Unfortunately, I was quite disappointed with my meal, as everything in my dish (seitan cutlets) had too much of a sour overtone for me. My traveling partner did enjoy her meal, though, so perhaps I just ordered the wrong thing.

Regardless, even if I had enjoyed my entree, I don't think that it was worth the $20+ price tag. For that price, you may as well eat as Mache, Havana, or some of the other excellent restaurants in town.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eden also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.