We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dont know why people gave this a poor rating” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay to your Saves list
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Newfield, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dont know why people gave this a poor rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

room was clean, comfortable great ocean view had breakfsy great staff! no problems at all. my daughter and i stayed here 2 nights we enjoyed ourselves close to everything booked 1 night and decided to stay 2. bar harbor is a great vacation spot!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    34
    72
    53
    53
See reviews for
79
101
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I suppose since we had a dog, we were put all the way at the end of the hotel near the employee service area. Our view was of the carts that were piled with dirty linens, then Route 3, then an abandoned parking lot and building, and THEN the ocean peeking through in spots. I thought the linen carts would be gone after the first day, but no, they were there the entire three days we stayed. Bonus - the linen trucks would park us in periodically so escape was limited. We only stayed because we were not able to find anything else available.

The rooms are tiny and though there was room to sleep for four of us with our pet, it was difficult to move around.

The air conditioner struggled to keep the room cool even when left on high for days. Since there was no vent in the bathroom shortly after we had all showered the room was humid and hot again.

The facilities and furniture are very outdated, but I can live with that. What made me wince were stains on the carpet and towels and the holes in the curtains. Then, I was utterly repulsed when packing up and we looked under the beds for belongings, only to find garbage (a mangled Styrofoam plate presumably from the lobby) that we determined definitely wasn't ours.

This hotel claims "pet friendly," but beware if you are looking for anything beyond allowing your pet in the room. To walk our dog we had to walk down the shoulder of busy Route 3 about 200 feet to an abandoned lot where garbage was strewn. I was concerned my pooch would step on something sharp and get injured. Also, since he is a larger dog, he was not allowed in the lobby where we had breakfast.

For Bar Harbor, I expected a little better.

Room Tip: Do not bring a pet, have a maximum of two people in a room, and request the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bouckville, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Booked room for 2 nights over the Fourth holiday. Room had a ocean view- however our upstairs room was blocked by a tree. Room was clean, bed comfortable, however room was old/tired- stains on the ceiling, shower pipe made a horrible noise when shutting off- no exhaust fan- only option bathroom window. Breakfast was a nice variety options-

Power went out just after 7 am on 7/5/14- came back on just after 9 am- no generator- staff offered us glow sticks- not impressed- won't be staying at this location again

pool across the street

Room Tip: upstairs room for better ocean view- avoid room 245- view blocked by a tree
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a nice place to stay. The rooms are nice-sized with attractive furniture, good lighting, adequate electrical outlets for phones, laptops, tablets, etc. The bed was very comfortable and we slept well and later than we expected. The motel faces the ocean - each room has an ocean view. Chairs outside each room are perfect for sitting in to relax and just enjoy the moment. We were on the bottom floor and our view was fine. Upstairs ... better view. Staff is friendly and attentive to guests' needs. Breakfast is more than expected at Days Inn including both regular and decaf coffee, yogurt, fresh fruit, bagels, cream cheese, oatmeal and more; one of the nicer breakfasts we've had on our trip. We come to Maine once a year and now know this is a great place for us to stay for a night or two.

Room Tip: Pick the top floor for a better ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room was worn down and there were ants in the bathroom. The location was very close to town which was nice. I would not stay here for a family trip but for just a friends weekend, it did the trick. Don't spend too much on a room here. My room was about $70/night and that is about the most I would pay to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay

Address: 120 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Bar Harbor
Days Inn Frenchmans Bay
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.