We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this Hotel a Break, Reviewers!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay to your Saves list
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Concord, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Give this Hotel a Break, Reviewers!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

If I had looked at the reviews here before I chose a Bar Harbor hotel, I may not have chosen Days' Inn. Thank Goodness I Did Not See The Reviews! I will agree that Day's Inn Bar Harbor is not exactly a new hotel....but I knew that before I booked. But some of the other descriptions I have just read did not fit the hotel that I stayed in. The room was nice, well maintained, very clean, I really liked the nice older furniture---I remember commenting about it to my husband. The continential breakfast gave plenty of choices. The biggest issue I had was that the access from the main street was a little difficult....but that could be said about many of the other hotels in the area. In a tourist area that is very expensive, Frenchman's Bay Day's Inn is a more that adequate place to stay with a reasonable price. Don't expect the Ritz and you will be satisfied with your accomodations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    32
    69
    52
    53
See reviews for
76
99
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Las Pinas City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed in this Inn due to limited options for Pet Friendly hotels and it is quite near the downtown area of Bar Harbor. However, I must say STAY AWAY from this place at all cost. It is very run down -- carpet is dirty, room is dingy, bathroom is even worse (very dated with lots of cracked tiles and worn out fixtures), furniture/TV are very old and there is a musty smell in the room. We are not that comfortable using their bed either as we are not so sure if they are really clean and free of bugs, etc.. The only good thing about this property is their warm and friendly staff at the front desk. However, the ~$150 that we paid for one night is definitely not worth it! With that kind of place, it should just cost you 50 bucks or less!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This hotel was fine for us. We had a pet with us, (small dog). We were in the area for the Bar Harbor experience and didn't spend much time in the room. It was basically clean, but we had to ask for some of the regular items to be re-stocked on the second day. Location is right outside of town and easy access to the area highlights. On the second night there was alot of noise from the room above with the pipes rattling (when they used the shower at 11pm or so). That was a bummer, but it is not exactlty a new place, so it shouldn't be a big surprise.

Room Tip: Upper level if you have a choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

At first impression the hotel looked nice but a little outdated. However once we got into our (pet friendly) room and took a good look around (and unfortunately smell)- the room was very small, terrible musty odor, and was dirty. Our room's door didn't even close all the way. The carpets were filthy and probably haven't been replaced, let alone cleaned since 1970. Upon entering the bathroom, it looked as if had flooded, with watermarks on all the walls and door about 6-7inches up from the floor, the paint was peeling in that area and BLACK MOLD was growing all over the peeling sections! If you are going to pay $130+ a night, consider spending the extra $20-30 to stay at the very pet friendly Atlantic Oceanside across the street that offer 2 pools, a nice beach, and boat tours! We left the Days Inn and went there and ended up having a fantastic time (so did the dog!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire County, MA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Tiny room with broken furniture, ancient decor, stained rug and mildewed shower. Looks like it hasn't been redecorated since the 60s. No phone book, no TV channel guide. No informational binder. Smelled of industrial germicide. I was glad to leave. $150 down the drain.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

What can you expect? You get what you pay for. But the service from the head manager, Karen Flores was superb! She was extremely helpful and accommodating over and over again. We had a large group and she went out of her way to help us in whatever way she could. I give her an A+++. The hotel is fine, especially for the price, breakfast was good, and Karen and the staff were top notch!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is not the nicest hotel I have stayed at, it isn't even the nicest Days Inn I have stayed at. It does however, provide a decent balance between location, price and quality in an area that can get a bit pricey during the summer tourist season. Our room was adequate if a little musty. The "ocean view" is obstructed by the currently dormant ferry pier and there is no pool on site but guests do have access to the pool at the much nicer property across the street. Breakfast was a little more than you might expect, and juice and coffee were available in the lobby all day. The location is close enough to walk into town, which we did one day, but the sidewalk is narrow and in disrepair so not convenient to walk with a stroller. If yo can afford an extra 25 or 50 per night there are better options, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay here if you want to save a few bucks and still be relatively close to town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay

Address: 120 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman`s Bay Hotel Bar Harbor
Days Inn Frenchmans Bay
Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Bar Harbor/Frenchman's Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.