We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with Diver Ed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater

Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater
105 Eden Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
800-979-3370
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 60 Activities in Bar Harbor
Attraction details
Tampa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great time with Diver Ed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Went on the Diver Ed trip this past week and it was very good. We have three small children and the show was perfect for them. Ed and vrew are very entertaining and there's plenty to keep the kids interested. I would highly recommend it for families, etc.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    6
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
McAllen, Texas
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This is not your 'normal' siteseeing boat trip at a vacation destination. It is also not a simple sightseeing boat trip with someone pulling up some 'sea life' to pass around for educational purposes. We have been on a whale watching boat, dolphin tours, and also 'Eco Tours' that included a demonstration of sea life.... but Diver Ed and his team have created something special and truly unique. He is an amazing guy that creates an experience that you and your kids will love. The 'undersea portion' where he utilizes high-definition video and his unique presentation style... is a fun learning experience and then the top-side activities are also very educational and LOTS of fun. The combination of the two is the perfect blend.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A "Must Do" While In Maine!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Wow, did we LOVE Diver Ed, Captain Evil and their canine cohorts! We were delighted, entertained, and educated by the remarkable crew of the Starfish Enterprise, and will without a doubt do it all over again next visit. Our family of 5 included our 19 year old daughter and our two sons, ages 7 and 9. All of us were entranced with the beauty of the water, the wonderful sea creatures we got to encounter, and the absolute ENTERTAINMENT VALUE in Diver Ed... it was one of the highlights of a week-long adventure for our family. I cannot recommend this highly enough!!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

It was so fun, we didn't have any little kids and it was still very entertaining. Diver Ed and Danger were a blast to spend a few hours with. We will definetly go back and take freinds.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“'Don't miss' event in Bar Harbor for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

This cruise was awesome. Our only word of warning is to be sure to arrive early because the College of the Atlantic (where you leave from) is poorly labeled. We were running later than we intended and arrived at the wrong place and subsequently missed the cruise. Thankfully, there was a cruise the next day that was not full and we were graciously allowed to transfer our tickets (this is not always possible!). Diver Ed and his wife, Captain Evil, were fantastic. As stated by others, they obviously love what they do. Diver Ed is wonderful with the children - he has everyone wear name tags so he interacts with the kids by name and looks them in the eyes and gets down to their level. The boat is very well maintained and clean. Many others have described the details of the cruise, so I won't repeat them. The camera is a high def camera, so the underwater footage is incredible. Diver Ed is a terrific educator and he and his wife have an entertaining and very educational dialogue. My husband and I both Scuba dive. If you are an experienced diver, this would likely not be terribly exciting (since doing it yourself is obviously more fun), but watching through my kids' eyes (5 and 2.5) was great. Touching all of the underwater life was fun for all of us - Diver Ed encourages all of the kids to kiss the creatures - even the mouth end (but not the butt) of the sea cucumber (good luck figuring out which is which!!). I agree with others that the canopy helps protect from the elements and that it doesn't matter where you sit on the boat. The TV screen is huge and Diver Ed brings all of the kids to the front for the interactive portion. They are very good about getting the small kids up in front and making sure that both sides of the boat can see anything that they drive by. If we go back to Bar Harbor, we would do this again. Time will tell if this sticks as a memory for the kids, but I am sure it will for my husband and me!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diver Ed's Dive-In Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.