We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Value and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yankee Lady Inn

The Yankee Lady Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yankee Lady Inn
18 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Terrific Value and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Yankee Lady is in a great location for Bar Harbor -- right in town and only a block or two walk from eateries, the buses and waterfront. If the primary reason for your trip to Bar Harbor is to visit Acadia National Park, the Yankee Lady Inn is a great choice. June, our hostess, was gracious and informative -- a quintessential "Maine-ian." Her breakfasts sent us off ready for each day. We had blueberry pancakes the first morning and eggs the second. Both breakfasts included tea, toast and juice. She also has a water cooler where you can refill your bottle. Since we were out most of the day, the Green Room was economical and sufficient -- absolutely nothing to complain about. We were very happy with it. The Inn has a common area downstairs which we didn't use, but other guests did to watch TV. There are only a couple of rooms so breakfast chats were nice and intimate. We also got great tips from our fellow lodgers: 1) Use the bus system in the park -- good tip! We didn't have to fuss with parking in the park and the buses came by quite often. We would however, drive to the Visitor's Center and park next time so we could head into town more quickly when we finished. (June has parking for her guests in her driveway and in front of the B&B). 2) Do the hike from Sand Beach to Otter Point and bring your lunch. There's a great cafe near the Yankee Lady Inn called Morning Glory where we got our sandwiches. 3) Get up early and watch the sunrise from Cadillac Mountain. We got up at about 4:45 am (note that the stairs creak!) and drove to the summit of Cadillac. (Many others were on the road, too, so don't be surprised if parking might be difficult when you get to the top.) Needless to say, it was gorgeous. In spite of the number of people, there seemed to be an understanding in keeping the serenity of the morning -- no loud talking, bursts of laughter or intrusions into quiet moments. We also really enjoyed our hike to Acadia Mountain (closer to Southwest Harbor).

In the evening, we walked around Bar Harbor and despite the very touristy feel, it maintains a quaint atmosphere. We decided to go to the movie theater one evening and were surprised to learn that we could save seats by placing a paper plate in front, leave the theater to go home and change, and come back knowing our seats were still there! The theater served pizza and wine and beer so it was more of a dinner theater experience. They even had an intermission! We really loved Bar Harbor and can't wait to come back again. The Yankee Lady was a great place for our stay. Thanks, June!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

The Yankee Lady Inn is located within easy walking distance to downtown and lots of restaurants. The rooms are very clean and comfy. The breakfasts were great with something different every morning. Hostess is very informative and can answer almost any question about the area. Visiting with the other guests at breakfast is always a treat.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2010

My sister and I took a week long trip to explore the coast of Maine (hit Portland, Boothbay, Camden, Bar Harbor and Bangor). Yankee Lady Inn is a great location in Bar Harbor. It took 5 minutes to walk to main streeet (where all the restaurants, shops and water is), yet the street was quiet at night. The street is lined with other B&Bs and private residences. The owner (a local from Bar Harbor) was very knowledgeable and was able to give us maps to the area. She takes pride in her little B&B. Fresh flowers from her garden in your room. Pictures of her son's wedding hanging in the room. You truly feel you are a guest in her home. It has only 6 rooms so it was very quiet. She does not do internet booking (you call her to make the reservation with your cc and she mails you the confirmation and receipt). Rooms were clean and comfortable, No TV (which was fine by us). Breakfast was fabulous. Ask her about her son and wife and kids living in the Cranberry islands (population 50). She also has a great collection of rocks, gems, stones (local and international) and is knowledgeable about them. We truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uufrisbee7
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This was one of the best B&Bs I have ever stayed in. The room was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the linens were crisp and fresh. The innkeeper is a wealth of information about the area, as well as other topics that were very interesting. The breakfast was simple but hot and wonderful. The inn is within easy walking distance of the village. We will definitely be returning to this inn in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2009

My husband and I recently stayed here for a weekend. My main criteria was that we be conveniently located to town, and we were. We were on a quiet side street but able to walk to absolutely everything, and only 1 mile from the park entrance, so we could rent a bike and cycle into the park, leaving our vehicles behind. The inn was very cozy and homey, with a lot of local charm. The inkeeper was a local lady who had an great personality and was a wonderful storyteller! We learned a lot about the history of the island from her.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Yankee Lady Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Lady Inn

Address: 18 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Also Known As:
The Yankee Lady Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yankee Lady Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Yankee Lady Inn to your Saves list