We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/great inkeeper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Yankee Lady Inn

The Yankee Lady Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yankee Lady Inn
Save
You added The Yankee Lady Inn to your Saves list
18 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 33 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Boston
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“great location/great inkeeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

this inn is centrally located, you can walk to the downtown which is very convienient. there is a small lot where you can leave your car.
the inn is not anything fancy but it is very homey, charming, and clean. there are modest rooms all with small private bathrooms. you can't beat the price.
June the inkeeper is a delight and a wonderful storeyteller. her breakfasts were simple but delicious. you feel like you are staying with family. dont miss the cottage street bakery right at the end of the street for lunch. it has a great lobster roll and yummy potato salad.
bar harbor was a quaint little town, much less crowded than cape cod. and acadia national park was awesome, breathtaking views and lots of hiking trails. the jordan pond house was worth the wait, best popovers and jam ever! we'll be back to bar harbor for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    8
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weston, Connecticut
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Quaint bed and breakfast on a quiet street close to town. We stayed two nights in "The Rose Room" on the 2nd floor. The room and bathroom very clean, although the shower is very small (both my husband and I are very thin), June, the owner, was very pleasant and knowledgeable of the area. We had strawberry pancakes for breakfast one morning, and the other was scrambled eggs and breakfast sausage...both very good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

This was our first stay at a Bed and Breakfast, so take that in to account here.

We stayed in "The Rose Room" the week of Oct. 9 for our honeymoon. It was a quaint little room that my wife said reminder her of her grandmother's house. We found it to be very clean and comfortable, but if you are looking for amenities, look elsewhere. You get a bed to sleep in and a private bathroom, though as at least one other reviewer noted, the shower is extremely tight, and even as skinny people we had trouble maneuvering in it. There are no T.V.s in the rooms, and only a small one in the small living room on the downstairs level. Of course, we weren't there to watch T.V. and we knew the rooms had none.

As others have noted, June, the owner, is extremely pleasant and knowledgeable about the area, and is quite happy to share her knowledge of geology in particular. She serves three different breakfasts during the week, and all were very good, but don't expect all-you-can-eat. The strawberry pancakes were especially good.

The location is about as good as you could get. Easy walk to town, but far enough away that it was very quiet at night.

My one complaint, and it's probably inherent in all B and B's, is that you don't feel the same sense of anonymity as you do in a hotel, and with the walls not muffling sound very well, one might feel a bit hesitant to engage in certain honeymoon-like behaviors. I also would have liked breakfast to be served a bit later in the morning (stop time was 0930) so we could have felt there was more time to simply lie in bed and enjoy the morning.

But all in all, I'd recommend "The Yankee Lady Inn," though I'd probably consider other lodging as well should we return to the area (which is gorgeous in early October).

Room Tip: The "Green Room" looked to be quite spaceous. Might try that one next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Our room had hairs in the shower when we arrived. That is just nasty. If you are staying in the rose room, the shower is extremely tight. You couldn't hardly move in it without banging some part of your body on the wall. The room is worn and outdated. The host was nice, and the breakfast was just o.k. The location is good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at the Yankee Lady Inn and found the host to be a wonderfully friendly lady. She prepared a nice simple breakfast each morning with a two hour eating window. This was good if you didn't want to be down at 7am you could come up until 9am.

The room we stayed in was a decent size with a nice queen size bed. The bed was made and the towels changed daily for us. There were lots of windows which was great because you could catch a nice breeze.

The complaints we had were that the air conditioner shut off if there was a little bit of rain or the temperature changed. Once it shut off it was pretty much off until the next day. It was kind of a drag because if it went off in the middle of the night you'd wake up sweating and would have to go open a window.

The bathroom also was not very clean. When I say clean I mean there were many hairs left around the sink and in the shower and on the shower curtain. I understand that sometimes one or two may be overlooked but we found probably close to 6 or 7. That is pretty gross when you think about it.

All in all it was alright as the location was great...5 minute walk to town and good food. If the room was a bit cleaner I would have no reservations about recommending it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, NJ
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Our group of 5 friends stayed 4 nights and had a wonderful experience at the Yankee Lady. June is an excellent, friendly hostess and her rooms are comfortable and extremely clean. This is a non-pretentious, well located B&B...breakfasts are simple but scrumptious. We would definiely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Yankee Lady is in a great location for Bar Harbor -- right in town and only a block or two walk from eateries, the buses and waterfront. If the primary reason for your trip to Bar Harbor is to visit Acadia National Park, the Yankee Lady Inn is a great choice. June, our hostess, was gracious and informative -- a quintessential "Maine-ian." Her breakfasts sent us off ready for each day. We had blueberry pancakes the first morning and eggs the second. Both breakfasts included tea, toast and juice. She also has a water cooler where you can refill your bottle. Since we were out most of the day, the Green Room was economical and sufficient -- absolutely nothing to complain about. We were very happy with it. The Inn has a common area downstairs which we didn't use, but other guests did to watch TV. There are only a couple of rooms so breakfast chats were nice and intimate. We also got great tips from our fellow lodgers: 1) Use the bus system in the park -- good tip! We didn't have to fuss with parking in the park and the buses came by quite often. We would however, drive to the Visitor's Center and park next time so we could head into town more quickly when we finished. (June has parking for her guests in her driveway and in front of the B&B). 2) Do the hike from Sand Beach to Otter Point and bring your lunch. There's a great cafe near the Yankee Lady Inn called Morning Glory where we got our sandwiches. 3) Get up early and watch the sunrise from Cadillac Mountain. We got up at about 4:45 am (note that the stairs creak!) and drove to the summit of Cadillac. (Many others were on the road, too, so don't be surprised if parking might be difficult when you get to the top.) Needless to say, it was gorgeous. In spite of the number of people, there seemed to be an understanding in keeping the serenity of the morning -- no loud talking, bursts of laughter or intrusions into quiet moments. We also really enjoyed our hike to Acadia Mountain (closer to Southwest Harbor).

In the evening, we walked around Bar Harbor and despite the very touristy feel, it maintains a quaint atmosphere. We decided to go to the movie theater one evening and were surprised to learn that we could save seats by placing a paper plate in front, leave the theater to go home and change, and come back knowing our seats were still there! The theater served pizza and wine and beer so it was more of a dinner theater experience. They even had an intermission! We really loved Bar Harbor and can't wait to come back again. The Yankee Lady was a great place for our stay. Thanks, June!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yankee Lady Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yankee Lady Inn

Address: 18 Roberts Ave, Bar Harbor, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
The Yankee Lady Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yankee Lady Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.