We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative delecious options” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Side Street Cafe

Side Street Cafe
49 Rodick Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 801-2591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 120 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Creative delecious options”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fun atmosphere. Delicious mac and cheese make your own options. Excellent clam chowder and lobster roll.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    663
    342
    102
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
519 reviews 519 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
524 helpful votes 524 helpful votes
“Not as good as first time but great service and drinks!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Second time around and it was okay, not as good as the first time. Although the Apple Cider Margarita hit the spot. However the lobster mac and cheese was topped with the most putrid smelling parmesan it made me gag. I mean it smelled like a combination 1 week old socks and dirty laundry combined and I consider myself a cheese lover. I ate the mac and cheese around this nasty smelling cheese but it really turned me off to the whole meal. Still service here is friendly and the place is nice but call ahead on Saturdays since there is like an hour and half wait. Prices are always reasonable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeni2jena, Owner at Side Street Cafe, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Thanks for visiting us again and for your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you loved the Apple Cider Margarita (a personal favorite,) but am sorry to read about your experience with the parmesan cheese. We take all of our reviews seriously and have discussed this with our General/Kitchen Manager. While many customers have commented on enjoying that cheese, I can see how it could be too strong for others. If you join us again for our Mac and Cheese please request that we don't put that cheese on for you. In addition, if you EVER have a problem at Side Street Cafe we would love to be able to address it, and as you mentioned we are friendly, so we would gladly fix any problem on the spot. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simple with quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The menu of Side Street Café consists of simple not to difficult dishes, like stir fry, lobster, sandwiches and burgers, but the quality is amazing. Our stir fry with chicken and BLAT with chicken were very well prepared and tasteful. As dessert we had the blueberry pie and coffee, nice strong coffee as we like it and although the pie was not served warm as we requested it was tasty. Side Street Café is a relaxing place serving simple comfort food of high quality.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun, relax, and good food and drinks. Best bloody marys ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We really enjoyed side street cafe after a long day of hiking in Acadia. Good food and wonderful cocktails. Husband said the bloody marys were the best he's ever had. The bartender Justin (I think I remembered that correctly) was great. Margeritas are yummy along with a plate of nachos. The whole staff is friendly and service with a smile. We actually returned the next day for lunch before heading out of town. Burgers were awesome.

Give side street cafe a visit and enjoy!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saugus MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent cocktails and martinis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The drinks are very well made with some different choices. The apps and dinners were good size but run of the mill. Service was very good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Side Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.