We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cafe food in a locals friendly place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Side Street Cafe

Side Street Cafe
49 Rodick Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 801-2591
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 122 Restaurants in Bar Harbor
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Windham NH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good cafe food in a locals friendly place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Even in March this was busy, mostly with locals. A fairly young crowd with some good music and great food and coffee. The steak sub and macaroni and cheese were worth the visit. Very fun and yummy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    605
    297
    87
    31
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fun, Delicious Comfort Food with a Flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I've visited Side Street Cafe more than a dozen times over the past years and it never disappoints except when I forget to make a reservation and cannot get in (height of tourist season). A favorite of locals, the Cafe is a great place for dates and families. All of the tables are covered with fun "distractions" including "games" or t.v. nostalgia to keep conversations lively.

The menu features a huge and eclectic selection of dishes ranging from Mid-Eastern, to Asian to "American" fare. Vegetarians and "carnivores" alike will be happy. You can be assured that everything is fresh and healthily prepared. If you enjoy lobster, their lobster rolls are the BESTon the island. Heaped with freshly caught lobster, the rolls are prepared in different styles (offered on the same plate). Portions are generous.

If you enjoy cocktails, you will like their imaginative concoctions with "quirky" names e.g. Darrell and Darrell (or something like this alluding to the "brothers Darrell" of Bob Newhart Show fame).

Dress casually. You can also sit on the "covered" lanai but it gets chilly. One of the best things about dining here is the parking out back - you will not have to vye for street parking which is a big plus. Make reservations. Oh... and if you are hoping for an intimate dinner for two, you will receive a lively experience instead. It does get much quieter after tourist season or after the 4th of July (when there is a slight lull before the next bout of tourists arrive). Side Street Cafe is a lovely place to dine when you just want to eat delicious and well-prepared comfort food with a flair.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“more than a refuge from a snowstorm.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

The side street cafe is a must visit due to the variety of food, the freshness and the quality of produce/presentation. We originally happened upon this small cozy place to seek refuge from a snowstorm and a long day of hiking and ended up with an unbelievable selection of beverages and food choices from appetizers, create your own to 3 star dinners...homemade hummus and tapenade with pita; hoisin chicken over mashed potato with roasted vegetables; salads with fresh roasted red peppers and feta; specials each night and happy hour for 1/2 priced wine/ale or magaritas. Our waitress , Flynn, was an added bonus in that she was attentive, gave recommendations and was friendly, but not overpowering. We ended up going back four nights in a row and had wonderful meals each time. By the time we left we felt like locals and we cannot wait to try new meals there on our next visit.....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“good place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

I was born in bar harbor and we decide to check out this rest. it was one of the best meals i have had in a very long time. I had the ribs and my wife had the rib eye and both meals was outstanding. their is only a hand full of rest in bar harbor that i eat at and this one is one of them. If you want a good meal at a fair price in bar harbor then this is one spot you want to hit when you are in bar harbor. side street cafe is a great place to take you wife and/ or family for a nice meal to talk and share time with each other. the staff was great, take it from someone born and still in bar harbor this is a to eat. if you can see the fire station you will be able to see rodick st and it right next door to pat's pizza. AAAAAAA+++++

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“THE place to eat in Bar Harbor! Suitable for families, couples, and all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I lived in Bar Harbor for a summer and out of every place I visited for dining out, this one reigns supreme! The staff is so courteous and sweet, the place is so homey (it was formally an actual home!), and the food AND drinks are out of this world. I've never been to a place that has such a blend of both quality and originality into their work. They also have great local artists for some easy listening- nothing to hippie and awkward. Absolutely amazing!

The only thing I dislike about this place is their distaste for tourists. You don't notice unless you follow their social media. That is a weird factor to point out, but as a person who doesnt permanently live BH and is considered a tourist, it's almost rude (let me just mention that if it wasnt for tourists, that whole town wouldnt be thriving as it is).

Other than that though, just basing it on it's restaurant qualities, it's on the A team. And I recommend the NOMAD BURGER and blueberry mojito. ABSOLUTELY incredible!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Side Street Cafe also viewed

Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Bar Harbor, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Side Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Side Street Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;