We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place to stay at Bar Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emery's Cottages on the Shore

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emery's Cottages on the Shore
Save
You added Emery's Cottages on the Shore to your Saves list
181 Sand Point Road, PO Box 172, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Moncton, NB
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible place to stay at Bar Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2009

My wife and I stayed for a week at Cottage #1. We found the cottages to be ultra-clean, Wally & Carole are extremely friendly and helpful. It's the best retreat to life I've had in the longest time. Also the sunsets are simply incredible at Emery's Cottages. We found to enjoy the sunsets at the cottage better than even on top of Cadillac Mtn or on the Bar Harbor wharf. We hope to return sooner than later.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    14
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Portland, ME
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We have been staying at Emery's Cottages for 9yrs. Have never been disappointed! Wally & Carol are excellent hosts. We enjoy the relaxing atmosphere. After a day of hiking in Acadia, there is nothing like coming back "home" to the comfort of our cottage. The sunsets are spectacular and the view over Frenchman's Bay on days spent on lawnchairs with a book is like nothing else. The location is terrific - off the beaten path, yet close enough to get to anything we want to do. The environment enables us to be as active or relaxed as we want to be. Highly recommend Emery's.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2008

We spent 3 nights at Emery's and loved the location. Our cottage was very clean and well maintained. We were a bit disappointed our cottage did not have any real sitting area. We had a table and wooden chairs and a bed. Would have been nice to have a sitting area for morning coffee or to unwind before bed. The owners were very nice and helpful. All the guests we meet were very happy to be staying at Emery's.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Furniture
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

The location is fantastic, on the water with rocky shore and seagulls. Other cabins we saw were right on the loud, busy road and not near water. This one definitely has the best location to be found in this area. The furnishings inside our cabin were old. It felt like grandma's house, which is a little bit charming, perhaps. However, we were not happy with the cleanliness of the floor. We had to keep shoes on at all times to avoid black socks or feet. I went barefoot for only a few minutes and washed tons of black dirt off my feet - yuck! The bed, bathroom, & kitchenette were cleaned well and we were happy. I would just recommend that they update the furnishings and get some new carpet or tile ASAP.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Great location on the water. Can see limited sunrise views and excellent sunsets. Our cottage was small but clean and all that we needed. The owners of the units were very nice and helpful. Excellent value close to bar harbor but away from all the noise and congestion of the town.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We stayed at Emery's Cottages in the Patio Apartment the week of August 3-10, 2008. The Apartment was quite a lot larger than any of the cottages, which worked out well for us since we wanted a full kitchen and we had 2 adults and our 10-year-old son. The apartment was very clean, the beds were comfortable, and the kitchen was spacious and modern.

The weather wasn't great the week we were there - it rained several days and it was chilly, but the sunsets were beautiful, and we had a great week in spite of the weather.

We had to ask for some extra help from Wally & Carol (the owners) on the day we left, as our car broke down! They couldn't have been more helpful - they suggested another motel to spend the extra night while waited for our car to be repaired, and Wally gave us a ride to the motel. We really appreciated their kindness!

We would highly recommend Emery's Cottages to our friends, and hope to go back someday.

  • Liked — Quiet, relaxing atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

We absolutely love and look forward to our weekly vacation at Emery's Cottages in August. We have been back at least 10 times or more since the early '90's. It is a beautiful location on Frenchman's Bay with fabulous sunsets, very relaxing, clean cottages, wonderful hosts (Wally and Carol Gray). It is off the beaten path in a woodsy, rustic environment. Charming pebble beach, air is great and so many stars in the sky. It is definitely the place to stay in the Bar Harbor area- close to the town and Acadia National Park. Lots of information available along with coffee and tea in the morning. Kitchen is available for use by the guests stocked with dishes and utensils. We enjoy making tea and having breakfast out on the porch (equipped with chairs). You can keep some food in the refrigerator (even if you have a cottage without a kitchen). Don't need air conditioning- temps are usually quite cool in August. Emery's is a "gem" not to be missed (you will keep coming back time and time again!!

  • Liked — clean cottages, beautiful view of Frenchman's Bay (sunsets), great hosts
  • Disliked — storage space
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emery's Cottages on the Shore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emery's Cottages on the Shore

Address: 181 Sand Point Road, PO Box 172, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Emery`s Cottages On The Shore Hotel Bar Harbor
Emery's Cottages On The Shore Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emery's Cottages on the Shore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.