We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bar Harbor Villager Motel to your Saves list
Bar Harbor Villager Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   207 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Saco, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location and breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great location, clean room, newer bathroom, and awesome continental breakfast. Would recommend. Did not use pool as there was not enough time. Quiet location. If looking for luxury it is not for you but recommend for people that are looking for a good room while exploring Acadia and Bar Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    150
    25
    5
    3
See reviews for
102
136
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Warren, NJ
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We decided to drive up from boston and spend a few days without going overboard or too fancy. This fit the bill perfectly. The drive up was very nice, and got to stop in some great spots for lobster roll. Arrived in Bar Harbor in the afternoon, and found the Motel right away; Nothing especially fancy, but we got a very nice 1st floor room to haul in our "stuff'. The desk clerk was wonderful and friendly. Spoke to us about some of the restaurants we looked up, as well as the "sights" and he added terrific insight. The location was outstanding. One block to the city square and three to the wharf, we avoided any need to fuss with parking. The room was clean and well lit, the internet was free, and the walk in all directions was more than pleasant. On our last night,(we were planning to leave early in the morning) the town experienced a power outage, only a very few restaurants had generators, and the lines were indescribable. A very short discussion with the Desk Clerk (another very friendly and helpful soul), and he arranged for us to transfer to their sister Motel (Comfort Inn) in Ellsworth, so we left and were very well received in Ellsworth. We applaud their helpfulness. Appreciated the location and would return again if we were to visit Bar Harbor.

Room Tip: We prefer 1st floor for motoring trips as it facilitates loading and unloading, ease of access to ca...
See more room tips
Green Features: Well above average: usual towel policy, but recycling containers easily accessed
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Positive : Very close to centre of the village and the shore / clean room and comfortable king size bed / Practically no noise from the street

Negative : Freshener product applied on the carpet with a greasy sensation for the feet / Motorcycle noise from the parking / Price a bit high (well, it's Bar Harbor in summertime...)

Satisfied overall

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It was close to everything and we could walk everywhere which was exactly why we chose this motel. The rooms were big enough and clean, breakfast was simple but sufficient and overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansburg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great place to stay, location is great. Although not a luxury hotel, it has no frills, it is an excellent place to stay rooms are very clean, bed comfortable. The desk staff was friendly and receptive The continental breakfast included was great and perfect start for the day included hot beverage, choices of bagel, muffin, and english muffin. Breakfast room was very clean and well attended. Also, choice of juice, yogurt, boiled egg, and cold or hot cereal. Liked the digital control toaster. Well located just on the edge of downtown BH where many shops, restaurants, and attraction are located. Staff responded quickly to a minor issue with the sink drain lever, handy man was very friendly. Will definitely book there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stayed for two days in July 2014. Hotel conveniently located in town with adequate parking. The parking in Bar Harbor is difficult at any time of day. You can park your car at the Motel and walk to most locations. Prices during the summer are very high and this tended to be somewhat reasonable in the $160 range.

The room was clean and a decent size, The maid service was adequate. They provided a free continental breakfast but free is the key word. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Price was our decision in staying at this motel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clean, basic hotel room (nothing fancy) with a great location. Breakfast included. Pool on site. You can walk or bike everywhere from this hotel! We walked to the bike shop and then biked into the park. I'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bar Harbor Villager Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Villager Motel

Address: 207 Main Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bar Harbor Villager Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly, affordable lodging with modern amenities conveniently located in the heart of downtown Bar Harbor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bar Harbor Villager Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Villager Motel Bar Harbor
Villager Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Villager Motel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bar Harbor Villager Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.