We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a Hotel, B and B, or an Inn, it is a Motel !” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ANCHORAGE MOTEL to your Saves list
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
51 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Massapequa, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This is not a Hotel, B and B, or an Inn, it is a Motel !”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We could not get reservations anywhere in town (Bar Harbor), so we chose to stay at the Anchorage Motel. The place has dated decor (wood paneling, etc.), but I must say that our room was spotlessly clean, enough towels and wash cloths, etc. Plenty of ice in the ice machine and ice buckets. We were on the first floor and the air-conditioning, etc. worked perfectly. The bathroom was clean, no sign mold or dirt. We brought extra pillows from home (as recommended by a previous reviewer) and that made our bed and sleep more comfortable. The Motel is in a great location, within walking distance of Cafe This Way (and any other place in town) where we had an excellent breakfast the first morning visiting the area. The motel is recommended for it's price and local.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    36
    15
    24
See reviews for
21
48
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

We had carpentar ants, called management. We were told there was nothing they could do tonight. The next morning we were told that we made more of a big deal out of this than it was. Tried to get out of second night or some type of compensation nothing was done. Would not recommend this place and it wasnt cheap

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

The only nice thing I can say about this place is that it is very convenient - just a block or two from the heart of the village. The compliments end there. If you are on a budget, want an in-town location, aren't fussy about cleanliness or comfort, don't mind waking up to the sounds of the guests in the rooms next to and above you, and don't plan to be at the motel much, this may be the place for you. Otherwise, you'd be better off staying slightly outside of town at a cleaner & more comfortable place & taking the shuttle in - or skip the motel altogether & stay at a campground instead.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

We booked our stay over the Internet last minute,even though trip advisor ratings where not flattering we where limited due to availibity. The Desk person was pleasant and helpful,he gave us directions to a dinner spot and shopping. The room was dated but clean but we where shocked to have no hot water in the morning,we stayed later and finally the hot water came back long enough to have our showers.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

This hotel is basic and clean, just what we wanted. If you're looking at prices in the area you see they are very high. This hotel is inexpensive compared to others in the area. The staff is super nice and helpful. The location is superb. If you want basic, clean, and to save a few bucks this is the perfect motel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The room was not clean. There was mould on the faucet and on the curtin of the bathroom. Discosting pillow and very dated furniture.
Great location but for the price you can get a much more better place to stay.
I will never come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The mattresses were hard and very uncomfortable, and the pillows were awful. There was no coffee in the room AND NO WIFI, even though WIFI was advertised. When I called to tell the manager I was unable to get on line, he was very short with me. We would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Address: 51 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANCHORAGE MOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.