We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is the saving grace” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Save Saved
You added ANCHORAGE MOTEL to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
51 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
metro NYC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Location is the saving grace”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was my second stay here and I'm not sure I would come back.

Pros: great location, walking distance to just about everything in Bar Harbor. Reasonably priced for the area and pet friendly.

Cons: decor is very dated but that's not a deal killer. However, the mattresses are hard and the foam pillows have to be 10 years old; they're completely flat. Sleeping was tough. The beds don't have fitted sheets so the bottom sheet pulls out all the time. The bathroom is tiny.

There were 4 of us staying in the room for 3 nights and not once was the single bar of soap replaced. We had to ask the front desk for an extra roll of toilet paper since housekeeping didn't always provide one. We were also told that we were allowed 1 bath towel per person, period. The wi-fi is also rather weak.

I stayed here last year and it seemed better. I don't know if there's been a change in management but the place seems to have gone downhill.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    18
    32
    14
    24
See reviews for
19
43
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was hoping the negative reviews weren't true but sadly they are. I didn't mind the vintage style of the decor but the smell.....was horrific. The mildew was so strong my throat swelled up and I started getting flu like symptoms. My clothes reeked like it when we left, In addition, we were on the first floor and could hear every foot step upstairs the sound was magnified times 1000. Room service was obviously a joke, they made one bed and left the other bed a complete mess. How do you forget to make one bed but make the other? Harassed by people staying at motel in lawn chairs in parking lot drinking bud light and smoking cigarettes in your face. You can't make this stuff up! If you're going to beautiful Bar Harbor, don't ruin the experience by staying at this motel!

Room Tip: Do not waste your hard earned money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Traveling with my 3 teenage boys and didn't want to spend a lot on accommodations, as i would be breaking the bank on feeding the beasts. This place was clean, the staff was very accommodating and the parking was great. We were only in the room to sleep and shower. The best feature of the anchorage motel was its convenience to everything. You can walk into the little town center in minutes, and you can drive to Cadillac Mountain/Arcadia in minutes. If you are not planning on spending a lot of time in your room, this is a fabulous option.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The room was comfortable and clean. The decor was dated but the motel was well maintained. Tea and coffee was available in the morning. Its a pity that tea and coffee wasn't available in the room. The location was excellent with lots of parking. The free WiFi was very poor.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moose Mountain
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Probably the worst motel experience I have had. The staff's rudeness is surpassed only by their stupidity. Made the mistake of making reservations on line and requested a WC accessible room which they do not have but do not tell you that. Way over priced for a smelly room.

Room Tip: DO yourself a favor and stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Paid 180 for a night at this place...was scary. Slept in our clothes. Should have slept in the car. furniture seemed like it was from my grandmother's basement and smelled accordingly. The TV was from the 80s and the place smelled of mildew. Location is great, however. Very close to downtown with a lot of parking.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

good location, very close to main town. plenty of parking.

Room is old and tired, dark wooden panelling and furniture to match. TV and hairdryer in room. Not the cleanest but this may be because of the fabric of the building.

price and location make it an "ok" choice

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ANCHORAGE MOTEL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ANCHORAGE MOTEL

Address: 51 Mount Desert Street, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your ANCHORAGE MOTEL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchorage Motel Hotel Bar Harbor
ANCHORAGE MOTEL Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ANCHORAGE MOTEL, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.