We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Hanscom's Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The cabins were clean, if not the most spacious! The Hanscomes are very nice. We got the lobster bake one night & it was great.

The beach is a block or two down the road- about a 5 minute walk. You had to climb down to it, but everyone in my family (from 9yo kids to 78yo grandparents) was able to climb down.

It's only a few miles from Bar Harbor, but the main road that you take to get into town is so busy that you wouldn't want to bike on it. There might be a back way- we never asked. Traffic into Bar Harbor was a kind of a pain (we were there at a peak weekend).

We ate the majority of our meals at the picnic tables at Hanscom's. They had 2 large tables and our party of 10 had enough chairs. They had 2 grills, which we made use of. We had gorgeous weather, so this was very enjoyable.

My nephews complained that the pull out couch in cabin 9 was uncomfortable, and the Hanscoms brought out a foam topper. My nephews said it was much better after that.

The pool was nice- the beach there is not a place you can swim.

I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    13
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
30
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheektowaga, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The cottages here are simply adorable! Clean well maintained grounds. The pool is a pleasant place to relax. The grills and patio tables make a nice touch. The kitchenettes are fully stocked so all you need to do is supply your food! A short walk up the road, about 1/2 mile, takes you to the beach. The ocean is way too cold to swim here, but scenery is fantastic! The prices are extremely reasonable and it's a short drive to Mainely BBQ and Bar harbor!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

With or without a pet you will love this place!! We arrived late on a rainy Friday. this was our first visit to Hanscoms - Katie at check-in was delightful. Very clean rooms, just 3-4 miles from Bar Harbor - we will definitely stay here again!! We are new pet owners and this place was fantastic!! There is a large open, yet protected area behind the cottages where our aussie-doodle enjoyed an hour of ball fetching before her days of sightseeing or drives in the car. All of Bar Harbor is extremely pet-friendly!! We also found the other guests very friendly who gave us great tips about sightseeing in the area. This is a place where water-seeks its own level - if you're looking for a clean, comfortable room where you can relax, this is the place. The only thin g I would say is that the beach really is quite inaccessible - do not select this place because you're looking for beach access - it's actually rather treacherous to get there - I tried it; our dog is a beach dog. that said, we would still definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: To the best of our knowledge, it appeared there were 12 rooms. The higher the number, the further y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Pond, Vermont
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Very clean and basic rooms with mini kitchen, Wifi, TV. We have now been coming here for years and staying in these great little cottages. They are Super Dog friendly and so it ALL of Bar Harbor. Mary is always willing to help and so is Katie at the "Front A-Frame" desk.

Very quiet and comfortable. We will continue to return every year ! !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We decided to try a small motel for our trip to Maine. The property is located about 10 minutes from "downtown" Bar Harbor, an easy drive. Our cottage was clean and comfortable. There is a small frig.,electric range top, microwave, Keurig coffee maker, dishes and cookware. It was nice to be able to open the windows in the evening and have a cool breeze while sleeping! I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were very pleased with all aspects of our stay at Hanscom's Motel and Cottages, just minutes from the entrance to Acadia Nat'l Park. We were traveling with our dog, and these pet-friendly cottages fit our needs, and were very comfortable. I spoke personally with the owner Mary Deane when making our reservations. She was helpful in making arrangements for our one-week stay, in two of their units, as there was not one unit available for the entire week. The cottages were filled every night we were there, which says a lot about the place, I think, as other places had vacancies. Very comfortable rooms, with microwave and refrigerator for easy meals and snacks. Many restaurants within minutes, and some were also dog-friendly, which made it nice. We enjoyed the short walk to the bay during the days. Would highly recommend Hanscom's!

Room Tip: We particularly liked the spaciousness of Unit 8, although Unit 12 was also just fine for 2 people a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is such a nice place to visit on such an incredible island in Maine. This hotel is conveniently located just a few miles away from the town of Bar Harbor, and is even closer to Acadia national park (One of the nicest places I've ever visited).

Room Tip: Aim for the beginning/end of the tourist season. There may be fewer attractions open at that time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
3.3 mi away
Wonder View Inn
Wonder View Inn
#34 of 42 in Bar Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 251 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#8 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 830 reviews
2.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#24 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#30 of 42 in Bar Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
3.2 mi away
Eden Village Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.