We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
Save
You added Hanscom's Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 40 Hotels in Bar Harbor
NH
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went there for three night with our daughter who is 3 years old. We were going to take our dog, so was looking for a pet friendly place. We didn't end up taking our dog. We stayed at Rm #9. Had a queen size bed, and pull out. The place was nice and clean except they forgot to empty out the trashcan before we got there. Otherwise it WAS clean. The rooms didn't not smell like dogs which I heard can be issues with places that allows pets. Didn't actually meet the owners since they were not at the office, may be due to being off season. But actually never rellay needed them. The room was adequate, big enough for all three of us. Love the fact that I had little kitchenette in the room, so made breakfast every morning. I love the free internet which we had no issues with it. Flat screen TV was nice also. Walked to their 'private beach' which is about 10 min walk. It is rocky so you do need a sturdy pair of shoes but really didn't have too much issue for me (I am 8month pregnant) and my 3 year old daughter. Place is a bit of drive from everything, meaning not walking distance to the town or the park, but I liked the fact that I wasn't in the middle of everything. I will probably return back to this plae again when I visit Bar Harbor again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank mjczoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I found Hanscom's while searching for a pet-friendly place to stay in the greater Bar Harbor area this spring. My husband & I were accompanying our son (and his pup) as he was looking for housing before he moves up to his next USCG assignment in a few months. We rented two motel units and were very pleased with the rooms. The kitchenettes are obviously new; they include an electric cooktop, microwave, small refrigerator, a small sink w/plenty of counter space & cupboards, and a small table with stools - all separate from the sleeping area. Hanscom's is a rare find these days - clean, very accommodating regarding pets, and their rates aren't unreasonable for many of us who usually find it prohibitive to travel and stay somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RVRSWMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When we booked it they didn't have a cottage available and they offer us a unit. We really like it, it was very cozy and clean.
The only negative part was that the bathroom didn't have a heater and it was a little bit cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We rented two "cabins" side by side for our family. It worked out nicely. Having the kitchens was great. The cabins are smallish, but don't feel like they are. They use the space really well. We enjoyed our stay. Don't expect a fancy place, but a comfortable practicle nice CLEAN place. Best price we found in Bar Harbor! We would recommend this place to our friends and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MaineMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just got home from a great stay in Bar Harbor and have to write a review for (our first one!) the quaint motel we stayed at. We booked the room at Hanscom's because of the price and figured at $72.00 per night we could dealwith less amenities then the larger and more expensive year round accomadations might offer. We were taken back when we opened the door to our unit. The room looked like it was built yesterday, not in the 50's as it states on their web site. Very clean, modern, and a great floor plan. We settled in and then went to a great little pub/restuarant at Jake Russells and had a great steak/seafood dinner. When we got back to our motel we noticed a fire pit next door that was glowing with vibrant embers. We took a chance and asked if we could enjoy the fire for a bit. It turned out that the fire tenders were the owners of Hancom's and welcomed us to join the wonderful night of clear skies, crackling fire, and incredible stars. We can't thank Marc and Mary Deane enough for sharing their experience of living on this beautiful island and the local knowledge that helped us plan our next few days exploring a great location with not too many places open this time of year. Mary made our room shine each time we returned from our days adventure. Not sure when we'll get back to Bar Harbor, but when we do we will definately return to Hanscoms motel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
117 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Stayed 1 night in Oct. Great location, service is great, very friendly on the phone and in person. Rooms are clean, a little dated but very satisfactory . There's a real icemaker on the premises. I would recommend the motel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark6771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffern
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Cabin 10 with our Jack Russell, Brookie and we were pleasantly surprised that the cabin was modern and clean but a bit small.
The girl in the office was very accomodating when I asked for a toaster.
I could not find the private beach,though(only an area which was not accessible)
We really liked Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park and were impressed how dog friendly the whole area is.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher numbered cabins. They are away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rxrx46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
BEST WESTERN Acadia Park Inn
#9 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 952 reviews
2.9 mi away
Belle Isle Motel
Belle Isle Motel
#26 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#2 of 40 in Bar Harbor
5.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
3.8 mi away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#11 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 1,348 reviews
3.6 mi away
Quimby House Inn
Quimby House Inn
#24 of 40 in Bar Harbor
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing