We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages
273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 40 hotels in Bar Harbor
NH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Went there for three night with our daughter who is 3 years old. We were going to take our dog, so was looking for a pet friendly place. We didn't end up taking our dog. We stayed at Rm #9. Had a queen size bed, and pull out. The place was nice and clean except they forgot to empty out the trashcan before we got there. Otherwise it WAS clean. The rooms didn't not smell like dogs which I heard can be issues with places that allows pets. Didn't actually meet the owners since they were not at the office, may be due to being off season. But actually never rellay needed them. The room was adequate, big enough for all three of us. Love the fact that I had little kitchenette in the room, so made breakfast every morning. I love the free internet which we had no issues with it. Flat screen TV was nice also. Walked to their 'private beach' which is about 10 min walk. It is rocky so you do need a sturdy pair of shoes but really didn't have too much issue for me (I am 8month pregnant) and my 3 year old daughter. Place is a bit of drive from everything, meaning not walking distance to the town or the park, but I liked the fact that I wasn't in the middle of everything. I will probably return back to this plae again when I visit Bar Harbor again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    11
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
25
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

I found Hanscom's while searching for a pet-friendly place to stay in the greater Bar Harbor area this spring. My husband & I were accompanying our son (and his pup) as he was looking for housing before he moves up to his next USCG assignment in a few months. We rented two motel units and were very pleased with the rooms. The kitchenettes are obviously new; they include an electric cooktop, microwave, small refrigerator, a small sink w/plenty of counter space & cupboards, and a small table with stools - all separate from the sleeping area. Hanscom's is a rare find these days - clean, very accommodating regarding pets, and their rates aren't unreasonable for many of us who usually find it prohibitive to travel and stay somewhere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

When we booked it they didn't have a cottage available and they offer us a unit. We really like it, it was very cozy and clean.
The only negative part was that the bathroom didn't have a heater and it was a little bit cold.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We rented two "cabins" side by side for our family. It worked out nicely. Having the kitchens was great. The cabins are smallish, but don't feel like they are. They use the space really well. We enjoyed our stay. Don't expect a fancy place, but a comfortable practicle nice CLEAN place. Best price we found in Bar Harbor! We would recommend this place to our friends and families.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockingham, Vermont
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We just got home from a great stay in Bar Harbor and have to write a review for (our first one!) the quaint motel we stayed at. We booked the room at Hanscom's because of the price and figured at $72.00 per night we could dealwith less amenities then the larger and more expensive year round accomadations might offer. We were taken back when we opened the door to our unit. The room looked like it was built yesterday, not in the 50's as it states on their web site. Very clean, modern, and a great floor plan. We settled in and then went to a great little pub/restuarant at Jake Russells and had a great steak/seafood dinner. When we got back to our motel we noticed a fire pit next door that was glowing with vibrant embers. We took a chance and asked if we could enjoy the fire for a bit. It turned out that the fire tenders were the owners of Hancom's and welcomed us to join the wonderful night of clear skies, crackling fire, and incredible stars. We can't thank Marc and Mary Deane enough for sharing their experience of living on this beautiful island and the local knowledge that helped us plan our next few days exploring a great location with not too many places open this time of year. Mary made our room shine each time we returned from our days adventure. Not sure when we'll get back to Bar Harbor, but when we do we will definately return to Hanscoms motel.

Room Tip: Room 8 is perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011 via mobile

Stayed 1 night in Oct. Great location, service is great, very friendly on the phone and in person. Rooms are clean, a little dated but very satisfactory . There's a real icemaker on the premises. I would recommend the motel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffern
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My husband and I stayed in Cabin 10 with our Jack Russell, Brookie and we were pleasantly surprised that the cabin was modern and clean but a bit small.
The girl in the office was very accomodating when I asked for a toaster.
I could not find the private beach,though(only an area which was not accessible)
We really liked Bar Harbor and Acadia National Park and were impressed how dog friendly the whole area is.

Room Tip: Try to get the higher numbered cabins. They are away from main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hanscom's Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanscom's Motel & Cottages

Address: 273 ME-3, Bar Harbor, ME
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Bar Harbor
#22 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hanscom`s Motel And Cottages
Hanscom`s Motel & Cottages Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscoms Hotel Bar Harbor
Hanscom's Motel & Cottages Bar Harbor, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanscom's Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hanscom's Motel & Cottages to your Saves list